We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for Norway in a Nutshell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Ranked #30 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel has location on it's side and with a less than five minute walk to the train station, making the perfect base for taking the Norway in a Nutshell tour on which I have a Trip Advisor review as well. (In a nutshell - pardon the pun, it's worth it if you want to 'do' Norway and 'not have to come back' and/or are a big Nature lover. In my opinion it is not as spectacular as they bill it.) The hotel offers most of what you would expect from a brand-name hotel downtown but it's a bit pricey given the overall decor and size of the standard rooms. The breakfast buffet offers 'everything' however it offers quantity over quality. I would have preferred fewer choices and better quality myself. The security is over-the-top with your room card required for the elevators. If you do take the N in a N tour hotel will box a mediocre breakfast for you to take with.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pronetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Pronetowa,

Thank you for the review after your stay at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. We are pleased that you all in all enjoyed your stay, however you had some feedback for us to improve.
We hope to see you again soon – Welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,432 - 1,438 of 3,629 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Clean room, comfortable bed, great view, service-minded personnel. Exceptional breakfast. Close to mall and train station. Bathtubs and swimming pool. Free Internet. The walls and door are very thick, so I was not disturbed by other guests' noise. ;-). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
2  Thank 280kristenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014
Google Translation

Kjære 280kriste,

Takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss din tilbakemelding etter oppholdet hos oss. Fint å høre at du trives på Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel og at du er fornøyd med våre fasiliteter.
Håper vi snart ser deg igjen – Velkommen tilbake!

Hilsen fra,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Great service, the room was pretty big, stylish and very clean. Nice pool with great view, and the skybar should also be tried when visiting this hotel, if only for the views of Oslo. Wonderful location in the middle of downtown.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Juni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014
Google Translation

Kjære Juni B,

Takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss din tilbakemelding etter oppholdet hos oss. Fint å høre at du trives på Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel og at du er fornøyd med våre fasiliteter.
Håper vi snart ser deg igjen – Velkommen tilbake!

Hilsen fra,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for one night while on business trip to Oslo. Hotel was what you'd expect from four star big brand hotel. Everything worked as expected, only minus comes from the breakfast which was very busy with lot of people buzzling around. No possibility for a quiet start for a day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank bceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear bceylon,

Thank you for this review after your stay at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon – Welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just spent two most unpleasant nights at this hotel and were amazed at the poor standard of this four star hotel and the low quality of the training of the hotel staff.

Our problems with this hotel commenced when we checked in to our pre booked and pre paid room for two nights expecting a pleasant stay at an international four star hotel, but this was not to be.

Our first irritation was when the hotels security personnel knocked on our door at
1.50 pm on our first day to see why we were still occupying our room ?? Well because we had paid for it !! Anyway we rang reception and sorted this issue out, or so we thought. However, at 11.30 pm that night, just after we had gone to bed and were settling into sleep, a hotel security officer again banged on our door to ask, once again, why we were still in our room, Argh !! Anyway it was about midnight when I finally got off the phone with the hotel’s night manager who admitted that they had a problem with the hotel’s booking system. Of course by now I am pretty mad, wide awake and only slept for about a couple of hours on this night. This lack of sleep was even more annoying because we had an early start the next day and a full days travelling through Norway.. Must admit that I am at a loss to work out why the Night Manager would send the hotel to knock on a customer’s room at 11.30 at night. I just don’t get that one !!

The actual room was small, had no draws for the storing of clothes, had no bathmat in the bathroom, the bathroom door was scuffed from the impact of shoes and the wooden furniture in the room was chipped and had fading and peeling varnish.

We also felt that the level of staff commitment to the needs of the Hotel’s customers was poor. For example in the bathroom toiletries that we had not used were added to while shower gel which we had used was not replaced. Also, the cleaning staff just did not leave the room with that four start feel.

Breakfast is served in a large and very busy dining area and while it is possible to get a cup of coffee the African woman who pours the coffee seems to find the task below her, just another example of the poor staff training at this hotel. I personally find the breakfast fairly awful and would go for room only if that option was available.

The above is a review of our first stay at this hotel while our next stay was slightly different. Our first and last nights in Oslo were at Radison Blu. Our first night was awful but our last night was pretty good as we were upgraded to a business Class room which was hugely better than the standard room and we were also supplied with a plate of fruit as a welcome back to Radison Blu. Obviously they had noted the problems we had on our first stay which is comforting to know that they have that level of awareness of their mistakes. Mind you I thought the breakfast still pretty awful and the breakfast staff still unpleasant.

This is a hotel which is right at the bottom of the four star rating and one at which I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Greg,

So sorry to hear about your first stay here at Radisson Blu Plaza. Thank you for taking time posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sad to hear that the stay did not meet your expectations, this is not the way we want our guests to experience the hotel. We will of course use this feedback for improvement. Happy to hear that your second stay was a bit better.

Hope we will get the opportunity to see you here again- Welcome back!

'Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This has been my first experience in the Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel in Oslo, you'll see, it is one of the most expensive hotels in Oslo area, so I have never been there due to the cost, but this time (summer offer) they had an affordable price so I said: "why not check what is like to be in this hotel.
The hotel is located in a very central area, right next to the castle of the king, with some restaurants barely few meters away from the hotel (Spanish, Greek, Italian, etc.)
Once there, my first minutes (around 10) where in a cue waiting for one of the reception staff to decide to come out of the office where they just chatting and relaxing while the people was standing in front of the reception just waiting to be attended (there were some 6 or 7 people, you could see them through the window).
Going to the room I couldn't but notice that the carpets are old and discolored, the room has a standard quality compared to any of the others hotels in the area, the bathroom was clean but it looked old.
The temperature control in the shower had only cold and hot (something wrong with the regulator), so I couldn't get a comfortable temperature.
The breakfast was good, standard for hotels in the area, nothing to highlight.
And of course if you have a car, even thou the hotel is expensive, you will need to pay the parking as well.
My conclusion is that the hotel is OK, but you can get the same quality by 50% of the price in any other hotel in the area, unless you come to enjoy the swimming pool of course (which I didn't see).

Room Tip: This was my first time here, so not so much to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramdiabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Ramon D,

Thank you for taking time posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very sad to hear that the stay did not meet your expectations. We will off course use this feedback for improvement.
Hope we will get the opportunity to see you here again – Welcome back!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I normally like to stay in the same place overseas where possible. Creature of habit. However, our group was staying at the Radisson Blu which did not allow me to stay where I normally do.

You can't beat the location. You are close to the train station which makes it easy to go wherever you need to go. The breakfast buffet is awesome. They use eco efficient lighting which may make everything a bit dim. Wireless worked fine for me.

You have to remember that most hotels in Europe are spartan by US standards. However, the Radisson Blu was fine from a space perspective. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildmanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarje H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Wildman Wo,

Thank you for this great review after your stay at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon – Welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Tarje Hellebust, General Manager Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
433 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 103 in Oslo
2,309 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 103 in Oslo
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo

Address: Sonja Henies Plass 3, Oslo 0185, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Oslo
#17 Business Hotel in Oslo
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £123 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 673
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel is the largest hotel and the tallest building in Norway, featuring 673 rooms and suites. The hotel is conveniently located next to the central railway station, with easy airport access. Shopping and sightseeing is within walking distance. Guests enjoy complimentary access to the swimming pool on the 35th floor and Plaza Fitness on the 37th floor. Concierge service, valet parking and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing