We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent...and not really more expensive than standards hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exellent...and not really more expensive than standards hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have spend 2 nights in this hotel in march 2012 and had a great experience there.
We have had a promotional room, and as a result and considering the fact that Norway is an expensive country, the difference between the Radisson blu and standards hotels is not so big. Besides, with the breakfast included, the prices are comparable to "cheaper" hotels.
The room was small but comfy, clean and we had a nice view. The staff is friendly and the receptionists helpful.
Breakfast is conform to the standards of those kind of hotels, pretty wide choice of food and the quality is ok.
The pool is situated in the basement and is an appreciated bonus, as well as the fitness and the sauna, while the top roof bar offer a nice panorama on the city (and the men's toilets are...surprising (in a good way)).
We will definitely return there during our next trip to Oslo

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    776
    519
    220
    113
See reviews for
296
578
142
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

When you arrive in Oslo, you realise that none of the big hotel players are there - no Hilton, no Marriott, no Accor - except the home grown one, Raddisson. They have two big towers and some others around. Maybe it's the lack of competition, but this hotel doesn't cut it. The restaurant is amazingly expensive and, not surprisingly, empty every night we were there. And I mean empty. I had asked for a high room so was given one on the third floor. I asked for a higher room and was told that the one I had been given was 'refurbished' and I 'would not like a room that was not refurbished'. Probably true, since the refurbished room was very basic and very small. The staff though were great, just as well since they had to deal with a lot of complaints. There is a small lobby coffee shop which is good, although still very expensive. The bar on the 18th floor has a great view, but the rain was coming in (yes, I kid you not) and you cannot eat up there, only drink. I like Oslo, the new opera house is terrific, but the hotels...

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManInSeat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
393 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Arrived at the hotel around 11am and were able to check in right away. They upgraded us to the Business level which for us was the 17th floor. We had an awesome view of the port and downtown. The room came with their breakfast buffet, so we enjoyed that. The buffet was one of the best we have ever enjoyed. On demand omelets, soft boiled eggs, plenty of fresh fruit, breads and other delicacies. Decent coffee and great orange juice and cold milk! Checked out the fitness center, well organized and usable. Overall a great stay! Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

this hotel is in less desirable location and the non-renovated rooms are really to be avoided. Really poor TV choices, etc. Newer rooms are on par with the radisson plaza's rooms. The breakfast is standard fare for the major hotels. The rooms are large enough to not put off non-european travelers.. but the hotel is just less plesant for me compared to other hotels in the area.

They actually had an internet outage that lasted longer than my entire stay of 7 days!

Room Tip: ensure you get a recently renovated room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Some rooms in their hotel are recently renovated; lucky if you get one of those. The majority, however, are long overdue for a re-make. Dirty and smelly bathrooms, leaking toilets, too hot, or too cold rooms, tacky furniture, no working WiFi... An enormously big, noisy and impersonal breakfast room - and who came up with the idea that you have to get a fried egg for every two pieces of bacon you want to have with your scrambles??? Oslo hotels in general aren't that good compared to what you get in other Scandinavian cities, but this is worse than usual.

Room Tip: Some rooms are newly renovated: Get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Hi, the Raidisson Blu Scandinavia is a great hotel. It is in the heart of Oslo with all sites within walking distance. The hotel has been remoddeld and the lobby, restaurant etc. are all sparkling new. All personal is very attentive, speak perfect english and will help with everything, late checkout, umbrella, no problem at all. If you arrive at OSL gardemoen airport you can take the flybus express bus that ends in front of the hotel and takes about an hour. It leaves every 20 minutes.

Downside for us was the rooms. We had been upgraded to a higher floor room with a view of the oslo fjord (18th floor). The room was very outdated, in no way related to the pictures on the hotel website. Furnishings were old and broken. Bathroom was 1960's. The beds (altough we asked for a king we had doubles) were ok and i slept fine. It seemed they were remoddeling rooms since there was a sign at checkin that you could upgrade to a superiore redisigned room.

So if you visit the hotel and would like to have a nice room make sure you get something remoddeled. If these rooms are like the remoddeled lobby you will be fine. The old rooms are ok to sleep but nothing special!

Breakfast is ok, lots of choices and nice decor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Comfy rooms, friendly staff, good location, great choice of food buffet breakfast and excellent views over the City from the the hotels Roof Top Bar!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Grand Hotel
#16 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Address: Holbergs gate 30, Oslo 0166, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel is located in downtown Oslo, and is just a short walk from the Royal Palace and the main street Karl Johans Gate. Here you will find restaurants, bars, shops, galleries and famous sights. Easy access to Oslo Airport with the airport bus just outside the hotel entrance, or via Nasjonaltheateret station. 499 guest rooms and suites which combine timeless elegance with high comfort. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs and safes. Wireless high speed internet is included. We offer our hotel guests free access to a gym and swimming pool for a refreshing morning! The hotel restaurant, Enzo Restaurant & Bar serves an international menu based on Norwegian ingredients. From Summit Bar on the 21th floor hotel, you can experience the city's most spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing