We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite frankly the noisiest hotel I have ever slept in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Arrived here from Tromso looking forward to having a lie in... Needed after staying up late night after night because of the amazing light in the North in July and August. This is a really nice well located hotel. The room was lovely, check in staff great, rooftop bar has fantastic views. Just don't stay here if you need to sleep or are not an early riser! The cleaning trolley started rattling loudly incredibly early (7ish) Sounds like they are skateboarding down the corridors whilst chinking glasses. Finally knocked on our door at 9.30. So what's the point of offering breakfast until 11?!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wishiwasonholiday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location in the city of Oslo. It is very close to the palace so it is a nice walk through the grounds of the palace from the hotel. It is easy to catch the public transportation from the hotel too. The people working at the hotel are very quick to answer questions in English. There is a bar on the top floor which offers amazing views of the city. It is very worth having a drink for the view. The breakfast is amazing. Simply amazing. And if you have to check out before the breakfast opens there is a little area open for coffee and rolls and fruit set up from 5-7am. We have stayed here now 4 different times.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a great view of the city. Some rooms are very small but that is common in many E...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jschaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

If you are looking for a great hotel to stay in, you don't need to , Radisson Blu Scandinavia is the one.

With great location, exellent staff, breakfast to die for and nice rooms everything is settled for a wonderful stay in Oslo.

The hotel offers wimming pool, sauna and a gym.

Don't forget to visit the bar on the 21st. floor, the view is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed 3 times in the last few months (visiting Oslo for business).

The service is good and helpful whenever you have any kind of a question (and free late checkout option is useful); but the hotel needs some renovation. Various small items in the rooms are damaged/broken; water pressure in the bath isn't always good. Nothing really serious but harms overall impression.

And the size of standard double rooms isn't very impressive (for much higher price compared to Europe).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miklav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed two nights in July and thought the hotel needs a major face lift. The rooms are adequate but run down. The wall in our room had chipped paint. The breakfast was decent, the check in took a bit longer than normal and the concierge was below average. I asked for vegetarian recommendations but eventually had to turn to Trip advisor for food options. Very convenient for airport transport as the bus service stops right at the hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank pkctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed here for a few nights the first time I visited Oslo. The hotel is located in the centre of the city with walking distance to Aker Brygge, Karl Johans Gate and the central station. The property is close to all tourist attractions and business district. The National Theatre Train Station is a five-minute walk from the hotel and serves both local and regional destinations. The building is really stand-out with a fantastic view of the city if you are on high floors. Breakfast is great. Again, love the European breakfast. Love the norweign brown cheese too. Yumyumyum. However, the room is a bit wore out and quite small. Everything is a bit old and need a make-over, big time. I would recommend this hotel to people who are in Oslo for a short biz trip simply because of the unbeatable location. I would not stay here if I'm on vacation as the overall stay is a bit average.

Room Tip: higher floor with better view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my seven years old son for three nights. The check inn was ok and not too much waiting time. I have to mention that I don't like this "island setup" in the lobby, those small desks that the staff have. The elevators were efficient. The size of the room was ok but the room desperately needed a make over. Everything was old and overused. The room was badly cleaned. The best thing about the room was that it was quiet and the view was fantastic, Oslofjord, Palace etc. The breakfast was great but a bit growded. We really liked the fruit-buffet :-)
Our last night there was a continually fire alarm going on which is not trustworthy or give you a secure feeling when you are staying on the 18th. floor with a child!!!
I have to give the hotel a big like for the airport-bus. It was great to be able to take the bus directly from the hotel to the airport.
I bought this hotel in last-minute offer. Because of the price I paid it was fair.
I would consider staying there again but just because of the location :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
339 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel

Address: Holbergs gate 30, Oslo 0166, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £122 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel is located in downtown Oslo, and is just a short walk from the Royal Palace and the main street Karl Johans Gate. Here you will find restaurants, bars, shops, galleries and famous sights. Easy access to Oslo Airport with the airport bus just outside the hotel entrance, or via Nasjonaltheateret station. 499 guest rooms and suites which combine timeless elegance with high comfort. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs and safes. Wireless high speed internet is included. We offer our hotel guests free access to a gym and swimming pool for a refreshing morning! The hotel restaurant, Enzo Restaurant & Bar serves an international menu based on Norwegian ingredients. From Summit Bar on the 21th floor hotel, you can experience the city's most spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing