We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service, awful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Nice service, awful rooms”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The lobby area is very smart. I didn't eat in the hotel but the food looked good, and the service from the bars was good.

The rooms are awful. Very dated, very worn. It was quiet and I found the bed comfortable, maybe I was lucky.

I have stayed in 4 different hotels in Oslo now and each and every one is worn and dated.

This was not what I expected from radisson however.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with our service. I know that some of our rooms are a bit outdated, hence we will start renovating some of our rooms shortly. We will then be able to offer new and modern rooms to our guests.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thomas Stene,General Manager, Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    805
    531
    224
    117
See reviews for
306
594
144
775
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Just standard hotel really, came in ah dandy for my business trip could always see it standing out from wherever I was I. City, as it's one the taller buildings in Oslo, service was friendly, rooms just average bu the views from room were pleasant agai. Due to height of room and hotel has a nice bar at the top of hotel which is worth checking out, I didn't eat In restaurant but room service was good quality, felt it still on pricey side for a hotel that's just average but it is Oslo, it does the job, won't blow anybody away though unless you don't go out often...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear David,,
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you chose to stay with us when visiting Oslo. We are aware that some of our rooms are a bit outdated, hence we will start a renovation of some of our rooms this summer. We will then be able to offer new and modern rooms to our guests.

I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thomas Stene, General Manager, Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The room was dirty, old and even some elements broken (The wardrobe had no ceiling so you could see all the water pipes and A/C stuff). Certainly not what you would expect from this hotel and not for the room rate charged. Very disappointing I have to say

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mayte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Mayte,
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are aware that some of our rooms are a bit outdated, hence we will start renovation of some of our rooms this summer. We will then be able to offer new and modern rooms to our guests.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel should your travels bring you back to Oslo.

Kind regards,
Thomas Stene,General Manager, Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

København, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Radisson Scandinavia has a formidable location with good views (if directed towards the fjord and high up). The state of the hotel is good, with a good bar at the top, however the rooms are not renovated to the level expected of a business hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Richard,
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are aware that some of our rooms are a bit outdated, hence we will start a renovation of some of our rooms as from May 2014. We will then be able to offer new and modern rooms to our guests.

I hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Thomas Stene, General Manager, Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Every piece of furniture in my room was banged up. The tiles were broken in the barroom, beneath think. The hallway carpeting looked old and ratty. The wood along the hallways also banged up. Dirt encrusted on walls and desks. Breakfast room spoon had dirt on it, a film across half the spoon. I asked for an 830 am wake up call. It never came. Hotel gets two stars instead of one because reception staff early and late were cheerful, and it has a great central location. But basically, it's time for a complete makeover. Please note that colleague in top floor had similar complaints,and he never complains about anything. This hotel cannot be fixed without room by room and hallway by hallway renovation followed by deep, deep clean.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was staying a night at this hotel for a business trip. the room (722) was not worth the Radisson standard. Old bath full of hairs and dust, stinking. The bed was not comfortable and the covers of the lamps were already distroyed. I would never stay in this hotel again. It may be that there are better rooms int his hotel, but I would not take this risk again next time. At least a clean room in a so named 4star hotel has to be a must.......

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelus556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights. Came in very late. Stayed in a very bad room. Was very tired to complain. The room was more than outdated. It must have been renovated last in the 70s. More importantly the mattress was very old and worn out. The latter completely unacceptable for a Radisson. For any hotel more than 2 stars really. I was given a much better room the next day. But come on now...we have to be asking for the obvious: a decent bed? If they don't guarantee a renovated room for you, avoid at all costs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear George,
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are aware that some of our rooms are a bit outdated, so it is a pleasure to inform you that as from June onwards we will start renovating some of our rooms. We will then be able to offer new and modern rooms to our guests.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Oslo.

Kind regards,
Thomas Stene,General Manager, Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#14 of 100 in Oslo
247 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#30 of 100 in Oslo
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel
Address: Holbergs gate 30, Oslo 0166, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel is located in downtown Oslo, and is just a short walk from the Royal Palace and the main street Karl Johans Gate. Here you will find restaurants, bars, shops, galleries and famous sights. Easy access to Oslo Airport with the airport bus just outside the hotel entrance, or via Nasjonaltheateret station. 499 guest rooms and suites which combine timeless elegance with high comfort. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TVs and safes. Wireless high speed internet is included. We offer our hotel guests free access to a gym and swimming pool for a refreshing morning! The hotel restaurant, Enzo Restaurant & Bar serves an international menu based on Norwegian ingredients. From Summit Bar on the 21th floor hotel, you can experience the city's most spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Rezidor, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Oslo Hotel Oslo
Radisson Oslo
Oslo Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing