We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Byporten(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$478
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$467
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
323
134
49
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
134
49
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargrand experiencespa areathe room service menufabulous locationelegant hotelparliament buildingjunior suiteonly stayed one nightroyal castlecentral locationthe heart of the citypublic areasnice roomtop floornational theatre stationcoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So I'm clear that Norway is an expensive place to visit for Brits full stop. But there were just some things about this hotel that nearly made my eyes pop out of their sockets!

We had a simple dinner in the adjoining restaurant one evening - a main each, one glass of wine and two beers. It was over £150.

We decided to have a quiet night in one night and order room service, but that was no better. So we ended up walking around the city centre for ages to find a newsagent to buy some crisps and a sandwich! (Even this was about £20).

And we also checked out the rooftop bar whilst we were there to take in the view. This one floored me. £11 for a 330ml CAN of beer. Which is like half a pint.

I know that alcohol is very expensive everywhere in Norway, but this one topped the charts by a mile. I wouldn't have minded if it was a craft beer or something... but a can!?

The hotel itself was lovely. The rooms was gorgeous, the bed was comfortable and the staff were delightful. But like I say, you pay for the pleasure. Save up!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pricetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Pricetta,

Thank you for your review!

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

Prices on alcohol is very different in Norway than other countries due to taxes.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned from a 5 night stay and were very happy with the hotel. All of the staff were very professional and helpful. When we were unable to open our terrace door, housekeeping was there in just a few minutes to fix the door. The front desk staff was terrific with tips on places to eat and sights to go to. In particular Martine told us about a wonderful Vietnamese restaurant near the hotel and gave us lots of local information. The breakfast at the Grand Cafe was delicious with a huge selection. The hotel itself is beautifully maintained and elegant without being at all stuffy. We would return without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galdaldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear galdaldoc,

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share these comments with the rest of our staff.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tha hotel is conveniently located near the major attractions and shopping in downtown Oslo. The staff was very helpful especially for us traveling into Oslo overnight from the US. We got our rooms early, had a great night rest, and a wonderful breakfast before leaving on early morning train. Nice room and reasonable price for services offered too!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bruce E,

Thank you for your amazing review.

Your comments are essential for our standard.

We hope to welcome you at The Grand soon.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is hot (no AC) but the staff tried to give us a better/cooler room. Hotel was packed and very busy. Staff was great and loved the location! Might choose another hotel just to see something different. Think the holiday weekend impacted part of the charm.

Room Tip: Don't get a west-facing room; no A/C.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Marina,

Thank you for reviewing us!

We are happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us. This summer has been quite unusual for Oslo and Norway - it has been almost tropical in Oslo.

Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There may be more modern hotels in Oslo but we loved this hotel for its old fashioned atmosphere and its fabulous location in the heart of the city, close to a bus drop off point and a few minutes walk from the station and a few minutes from the national gallery of Art.. Breakfasts were excellent and took place in the Cafe where Ibsen used to visit at the end of his life, and the terrace cafe is perfect for light meals and people watching. Good bar. And comfortable beds with good linen.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtk, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear stcolms,

Thank you for your review.

Your review is essential for keeping up our standard.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
¨
Kind regards,

Ole K

Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews