We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located Hotel in Oslo”
Review of Scandic Oslo City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Oslo City
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Centrally located Hotel in Oslo”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We are a family of 3 persons (husband, wife & 14 year old daughter) and spent a night at this hotel on 19 July 2011. The hotel location is just great right near the Central railway Station and within walking distances from Oslo cathedral, Parliament, Opera, Royal Palace etc. Situated just about 100m from Karl Johan Shopping Street, this hotel is ideally located close to a number of shops and restaurants. Free internet connectivity is available at the roooms. The breakfast is good as also the complimentary tea-coffee. The room is standard size with basic toiletries only available.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arindam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    304
    183
    49
    11
See reviews for
118
163
81
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scandinavia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Right across from Oslo central station, perfect for train travellers. The hotel is not exactly new, but very clean. it has a certain charm, we loved the art pieces on display everywhere!
Our room was small and a bit dark looking because of the furniture, but very cozy.The breakfast was excellent, loved all the Norwegian specialities.Staff very polite and helpful.We would certainly return to the Oslo Rica.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousScandinavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Went there toghether with my family. The rooms are fairly basic, clean and not too small. However both rooms and the hotel itself coluld need an upgrade.
Breakfast was standard, nice variety, however bread was not fresh.
It is located oposite the central station, and 100 meters away from the main pedestrian street in Oslo.
Overall an average hotel, location and conveniece on the plus side, but the hotel itself could do with an upgrading.
Our room had no seperate air con, we had to do with the central heating system which meant that the room temperature was too hot, resulting in a less than average sleep quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Rica Oslo Hotel is very centrally located, just opposite the central station and with the main street Karl Johann and many other Oslo attractions just around the corner. However the short distance to the central station also means that the location attracts lots of people you probably don't want to be close to when travelling. There were organized beggars spread along Karl Johann and people were using and offering drugs very openly in public outside the hotel.

The hotel interior is a bit dated. The corridors are worn and the bathroom could need a renovation. The room otherwise was perfectly alright. Tidy and clean. The staff in the reception were helpful.

The breakfast was not the best I have come across. They did not refill the food on the hot buffet until it was empty and then it took a long time to get a refill. Too bad, since they otherwise offered quite a lot of different items on the buffet.

All in all this is an OK hotel for a couple of nights if you don't have too high expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

After staying in another downtown Oslo hotel last month I specifically asked for a quiet room away from the tram lines and got one (425) on an internal airshaft/mini courtyard. Deliciously silent but the windows were non-openable and I couldn't find any sort of temperature control.

fortunately the room was a decent temperature.

The room was pretty standard for what I've experienced in Oslo hotels- a bit old-fashioned in the decor department, a bit less clean than I'd like (someone else's shampoo bottle top in the tub, a lot of someone else's long hair on the back of one of the chairs), the swampy carpet smell in the lobby, the strange thin mattresses on the beds. I also couldn't find any evidence of the "trim room" and sauna advertised on the hotel's site.

Otherwise I was happy- the room was a decent size, absolutely noiseless, and the extra toiletries were a nice touch. My room had a big bathtub so I enjoyed the bath salts. The desk staff was cheerful and instantly replaced the burned-out bulb on my desk lamp.

The one place this hotel definitely excels is the breakfast- the best I've seen of any hotel in Oslo. Fresh squeezed pineapple-ginger-lime juice shots, interesting jams, tons of fish and coldcuts, bread & croissants of all varieties, plus hot choices for those inclined.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This Hotel is in an excellent location to all restaurants and shops plus train station. The Reception area smelt disgusting mostly of urine! They need to lift the carpet and put in tiling throughout the ground floor area as this would be more hygienic for heavy footfall. Service was good as was breakfast but evening meal was poor, they need to employ a skilled chef. Would stay again but only if a real necessity.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANTACLAUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The only thing Grand about this hotel is the name and the location (right on the main square). Other than that, it is old, outdated, lacking modern conveniences for business travelers and the staff is particularly "cold". They just don't seem to care - so no friendliness, welcoming warmth, but just the bare minimum. One staff member called me "mate" (he was around 18-20, I'm in my late 30's). I called room service 3x between 6:30-7:00 in the morning and no one picked up the phone - you would expect them to be up and running by this time.

The facilities in the room are all there but is is old and inconvenient. For example, the room had a desk and stool, rather than a chair (not great for doing work for an hour or two). There were no free electricity plugs to enable to recharge my phone&computer without unplugging either the TV or the lamp. The bathroom is old and worn-down, again with the minimum of conveniences that you come to expect in a hotel where they charge the prices that this hotel does. A redeeming feature is that wifi internet works well (better than in the Continental), but that is not enough to change my mind: I will not stay there again unless there is no other option.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAlexMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#18 of 102 in Oslo
959 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 102 in Oslo
822 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Oslo City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Oslo City

Property: Scandic Oslo City
Address: Europaraadets Plass 1 | Scandic Oslo City, Oslo 0154, Norway (Formerly Rica Oslo Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Oslo
#32 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Oslo City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay close to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. Take the tram to the park Vigelandsparken, or go for a walk along Karl Johan. Enjoy a productive workday in our modern conference centre, and enjoy a meal in the restaurant after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Oslo City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Oslo
Oslo Rica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing