We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, outdated hotel that does not return lost items”
Review of Scandic Holberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scandic Holberg
Ranked #48 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
New York City, New York
1 review
“overpriced, outdated hotel that does not return lost items”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in May. While the place seemed clean, and the staff was friendly enough, the hotel had sort of an outdated shabbiness that seemed in contrast to the sleek, Scandinavian design throughout Oslo. The rate we paid definitely seemed too high for what we were getting. When our tv was out of order, the person at reception was nice enough to move us to some kind of suite, which helped somewhat.
However, the worst part was that when we left early in the morning for the airport, I accidentally left a piece of jewelry behind on the nightstand. I have been emailing the hotel for weeks without a response. I guess I can forget about getting it back, but they can at least be courteous enough to respond and say they gave it a good look.
Between the high room rate and the lost jewelry, I definitely feel cheated from our stay at the Rica Holberg.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    208
    115
    39
    12
See reviews for
61
139
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Though an old-styled building, (a very beautiful one in fact), the hotel is very modern inside with clean and functional rooms. It is not very big and this fact together with the nice and helpful staff makes it a very cosy and relaxed hotel. Also the breakfast is nourishing and good. The location is great, five-ten minutes to Karl Johan, the main street. There is also a minimarket open 24/7 across the street and some good restaurants; try the Greek restaurant Alexandros across the street, great place, the Spanish restaurant is also nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianni1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laholm
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This i is a very nice hotel in the center of Oslo. Walking distance to the town center. Nice room and the breakfast was very good. A lot of fruit and vegetables. Best hotel I have stayed in in Oslo and will definatly stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebba-lotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostersund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This is an excellent hotel in a decent location. Quite close to Karl Johan. I stayed in a single room which is probably the same as a double. Comfortable bed and really soft linen. The breakfast was very good with a lot to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Try to get a room facing away from the street.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bussqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We found rge Rica Holberg fairly easily after getting off of the local train from the airport at the National Theatre station.

It is a relatively old hotel with no leisure facilities but it is very clean and the staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is excellent ly situatued for the waterfront and city centre (around a 10 minute walk).

Breakfast was very plentiful but the same every morning (with the odd omission here and there) eggs, bacon, omelet, fish, fruit, yoghurt, pastries and plenty of bread.

There is no evening meal but there is a deli across the road and a 7-eleven shop opposite. There are also some excellent restaurants and cafes nearby (CullinsCafe and the Italian almost next door were very good).

The bedroom was fairly small for a superior room but it was on the top floor with gabled ceilings and wooden beams - quaint but not too much space. The bathroom was a good standard with a shower but no bath.

The bar was closed when we were there - no real explanation from reception as to why - it just was!

Go into the centre along Johans Gate for some great bars - not cheap but very friendly and atmospheric (a large beer was 86Kr which works out to approx £9.50.

Oslo is a great city and the Rica Holberg is a relatively inexpensive hotel from where to explore it.

One thing I would recommend is that you get the 'local' train from the airport into Oslo - there is an Airport Express which is around 10 minutes quicker but will cost you 160Kr rather than 110Kr on the local version. They both go from the same place and arrive at the same station in Oslo.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennyskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Oslo. Right across the stop for the Airport Bus. It is an old hotel but well kept. The breakfast is really good with different things to choose from.

The room was a little dark, I had to turn on all the light just to see what was in my suitcase and rather small but it was more than enough for one person. The bathroom was well lighted and the shower was good. The only bad thing was the bed, it gave me waist and neck pain, I try to change rooms but the hotel was fully booked.

The staff was very helpful and always had a smile on their face. There is a computer by the front desk and you can use it.

There are 2 convenience stores open 24H down the block.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This hotel is fairly conveniently located--restaurants, trams and buses, Karl Johans Gate, the waterfront/harbor are all very near. However, the hotel has tram tracks on two sides, and it was very noisy. Our room (a standard) was incredibly small, by any standards, and it was also fairly dark. I would not definitely not stay here even if I was guaranteed an inner room. On the positive side, the breakfast was better than average

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CONAIRAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Solli
#29 of 102 in Oslo
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#36 of 102 in Oslo
379 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#30 of 102 in Oslo
863 reviews
Scandic Grensen
#38 of 102 in Oslo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holberg

Property: Scandic Holberg
Address: Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#27 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Holberg hotel is located in the centre of Oslo and is within walking distance of Karl Johans Gate and Aker Brygge as well as shops and museums. A hearty breakfast is served in our restaurant which also serves lunch and dinner on request. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 70 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Holberg Oslo
Hotel Rica Holberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing