We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet place with amazing breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Holberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Holberg
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
maidstone
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet place with amazing breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Although in the centre of a capital city this hotel is in a quiet location and very near a large park. There is a frequent tram service past the door to the central station. Rooms are a bit on the small side but well equipped - we were very pleased to have facilities to make tea and coffee, which we had not expected on the continent. Staff were all pleasant and helpful and most spoke excellent English. The choice at breakfast was quite amazing, and they allow you to make up your own packed lunch from the breakfast buffet for 60 Kroner, which for Norway is a bargain.
We found the double bed a bit narrow and rasther too soft - also the only bedding was rather thick duvets - something thinner is needed for July temperatures.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    191
    103
    34
    10
See reviews for
48
133
52
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

It's really a nice hotel and overall is excellent. Especially the breakfast, which is the BEST we ever ate in Europe, the staff are so helpful, friendly, and efficient as well. Room is clean and big, location is convenient too, just 5-10 mins to main street, we are highly recommended this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Your feedback is important for us. Thank your for your recommendation of Rica Holberg Hotel. We take pride in serving a good breakfast and our staff will be very placed to reed your comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it. The location is terrific -- several blocks from Karl Johans Gate. Close enough to be near the action, but far enough to provide some quiet. The rooms are cute: clean, compact, with good showers. And the breakfasts are first rate -- the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had in Europe. The staff was always pleasant and helpful, and it doesn't hurt that the bus to the airport has a stop right across the street. If we go back, we'll definitely return to the Rica Holberg.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duluthian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Your feedback is important for us. Thank your for your recommendation of Rica Holberg Hotel. We take pride in serving a good breakfast and our staff will be very placed to reed your comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay here. The location is good, although trams rattling past all hours can get a little wearing. Our room on the top floor was absolutely fine - no tea/coffee facilities however.

Very good breakfast set up. Staff worked really hard at dealing with the constant flow of guests.

If we came to Oslo again this would do fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

3 nights on a business trip and it was just fine. Good room size, cozy interior, good bathroom and in a good location. Port in walking distance, some restaurants and shops close by. Breakfast was great too! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Busses to/from the airport depart just across the little square in front of the hotel, every 20 minutes or so. Train station (National Theatre) is also walking distance.
I found the Rica Holberg a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Your feedback is important for us. Thank your for your recommendation of Rica Holberg Hotel. Our staff will be very placed to reed your comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Oslo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in May. While the place seemed clean, and the staff was friendly enough, the hotel had sort of an outdated shabbiness that seemed in contrast to the sleek, Scandinavian design throughout Oslo. The rate we paid definitely seemed too high for what we were getting. When our tv was out of order, the person at reception was nice enough to move us to some kind of suite, which helped somewhat.
However, the worst part was that when we left early in the morning for the airport, I accidentally left a piece of jewelry behind on the nightstand. I have been emailing the hotel for weeks without a response. I guess I can forget about getting it back, but they can at least be courteous enough to respond and say they gave it a good look.
Between the high room rate and the lost jewelry, I definitely feel cheated from our stay at the Rica Holberg.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Though an old-styled building, (a very beautiful one in fact), the hotel is very modern inside with clean and functional rooms. It is not very big and this fact together with the nice and helpful staff makes it a very cosy and relaxed hotel. Also the breakfast is nourishing and good. The location is great, five-ten minutes to Karl Johan, the main street. There is also a minimarket open 24/7 across the street and some good restaurants; try the Greek restaurant Alexandros across the street, great place, the Spanish restaurant is also nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianni1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Solli
#32 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#35 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holberg

Property: Scandic Holberg
Address: Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#27 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Holberg hotel is located in the centre of Oslo and is within walking distance of Karl Johans Gate and Aker Brygge as well as shops and museums. A hearty breakfast is served in our restaurant which also serves lunch and dinner on request. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 70 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Holberg Oslo
Hotel Rica Holberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing