We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost in the city centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Holberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Holberg
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Almost in the city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is one of the hotels at which the airport bus drops you parctically at the door! Useful when tired and disoriented after a long travel and when you don't want to go for the more expensive alternatives. The Rica hotel chain has reliable quality. Rooms are not very large and some may have quirky corners due to remodelling of an older structure, but you'll find what you need. Reception staff are very helpful. Downstairs is a nice pub/bar. You're only a few meters away from a selection of restaurants and fast-food places. Walking distance to the city centre (10 minutes or so).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stranats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. In our constant strive to improve ourselves feedback from our guests is most valuable.

Our team appreciates the excellent rating you gave us and are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back on your next visit to Oslo.


Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    189
    100
    33
    10
See reviews for
46
133
52
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Whenever I go to Oslo I always try to book at room at the Rica Holberg Hotel. Why? Firstly, It is a great location - 5 min walk from the high street (Carl Johan) - 5 min walk from the King's Castle - the airport coach takes you directly to the doorstep (or, strictly speaking - across the street). Most importantly: Great service. This time we stayed for 4 nights - and the great new experience was lovely Ms Alexandra showing us a good table and serving us with great cappuccinos every morning - with a great smile and friendly smalltalk. She is a great asset to this hotel (hope she stays for a while). We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: The tram runs on two sides of the hotel - so ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor, or a room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinEdenJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. In our constant strive to improve ourselves feedback from our guests is most valuable.

And what a great review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service, location and found it convenient with the airport coach stopping outside the hotel.

We are looking forward to your return!

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The strongest side of Norway is cofident that for almost expensive price you will get high quality product. This hotel is not an exeption. It was the cheapest 4* hotel in the city center, and the same time it was wanderful. Very comfortable bed, very-very well served breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remix638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. In our constant strive to improve ourselves feedback from our guests is most valuable.

Our team appreciates the excellent rating you gave us and are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I came across this gem while looking for a place to stay for a two day stop over before an expedition to the arctic... What a find!!!
I am a single female traveller and when I read the reviews regarding the room sizes I was hesitant but low and behold when I got there I was surprised to find that the room was more than warm and comfortable, the bath had heated flooring and the tv played at least 5 English speaking channels....
In a city as expensive as Oslo, to find a room that will set you back for the price of a decent meal is a miracle on its own...!!!
As for the breakfast, why rant when others have done it before me? It's all true!!! What a buffet!!!
My advice: if you are lucky to find a room then book now cause you are not going to find anything that comes even close for this price!!!
Ps don't forget to visit the summit bar at the radisson blu across the street, the most amazing Oslo views. Also bus to and from the airport literally stops at your door step.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellin_blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

Wow! Our team appreciates the excellent rating you gave us on Tripadvisor and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. In our constant strive to improve ourselves feedback from our guests is most valuable.

We hope to see you back on your next visit to Oslo.


Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent two night stay for a flying visit to Oslo. The parking garage was convenient, the room excellent and the breakfast was exceptionally good. Helpful staff made good recommnedations for our stay.
We were puzzled however why the bar was shut in July, but nearby refeshment was available, so it didn't cause a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We appreciate the excellent rating you gave us and are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Rica Holberg Hotel.

We are pleased that you describe our breakfast as exceptionally good, that you find our staff helpful and that you are telling future guests about our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rica Holberg Hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

When we arrived in the lobby we had the immediate attention of the receptionist, who greeted us welcome and gave us the key to the room with a big smile. She also told us about where and when to have breakfast. The lobby area is small and nothing special, not a place to sit very long. My room was booked by someone else and the confirmation said "superior room". In my opinion it was an ordinary hotel room, I don't know what was be the "superior" part of it.
It was ok, nothing more. A bit gloomy, not very well lit.
The bathroom was so tiny! Clean, very well illuminated, but so small it was almost useless. The shelf for your toiletries was above the WC, when you stand in front of the sink and the mirror you have to turn and stretch to reach the things you need. Very unpractical. Small shower and almost no space to get dry when you are out of the shower. I really can't understand why they have made the bathrooms so small. I stayed for two nights, if I had stayed longer it would have been very annoying.
As others here have said many times, the breakfast is very good with both warm and cold food. And the waiters greet you goodmorning, which is a very nice gesture.
My room was against the courtyard and so quiet, I could sleep with an open window without any problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Rica Holberg Hotel for you stay in Oslo. We do appreciate your nice comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important for us to achieve even better.

Next time ask for a room with a bigger bathroom.

November news: We are upgrading all windows facing the street with soundproof windows minimizing street noise.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Fabulous hotel experience. The location was good for us, central enough to see most of Oslo but not in the busy, busy streets by the train station. First, we were given a choice of view or quiet. Quiet won and our room faced the inner atrium. We had our window open all night and it really was quiet. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable-great bathroom/shower as well. All of the Front Desk staff was very helpful and friendly but special thanks to Sofie as she got us set up with the free hotel bicycles, which we used for two days and toured most of the city. The breakfast was amazing for taste and presentation. Also, our train to Stockholm left very early and we able to get our breakfast before the official opening time. Thanks again to the staff at the Front Desk and the breakfast room for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehus, General Manager at Scandic Holberg, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Susan W

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Oslo, and thank you for posting this fantastic review about Rica Holberg Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are especially glad to hear your comments about your nice quiet, spacious, clean room, the amazing breakfast and your kind words about our service team taking care of you while staying with us. Your feedback makes us want to achieve even better.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards
Kristian Fredrik Mehus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#35 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Scandic Solli
#32 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holberg

Property: Scandic Holberg
Address: Holbergs Plass 1, Oslo 0166, Norway (Formerly Rica Holberg Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#27 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Holberg hotel is located in the centre of Oslo and is within walking distance of Karl Johans Gate and Aker Brygge as well as shops and museums. A hearty breakfast is served in our restaurant which also serves lunch and dinner on request. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 70 participants. Parking is available close by for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Holberg Oslo
Hotel Rica Holberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing