We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Victoria
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$558
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$202
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveller rating
241
454
208
63
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
454
208
63
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcity hallaker bryggewalking distancecentral locationgreat breakfastnice hoteltrain stationair conditioningnational theatrekarl johans gategood sizefree wifimain attractionsbreakfast buffetthe main streetcomfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is great, Helpful staff, Clean rooms with nice bathroom.
Room view into the breakfast room is not so good, but OK.
The breakfast buffett is unbelievable, everything you can imagine. Selfmade pancakes, different kinds of salmon, etc.
For hotel guest WLAN is for free and is fast everywhere I used it.

You can reach main Oslo highlights by feet. Just a few minutes to Aker Brygge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday-Lover-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I like this hotel becouse of his good location. I think that it requires some renovation.

+ Location
+ Breakfast is nice
+ Free wifi
+ Tea in the room + kettle
+ Bathroom was clean
+ Hairdryer

- Kettle had a broken lid
- My mug was dirty with the brown streak from tea
- Bed had a hollow in the middle (it wasn't matterace - it was for 2 people, bad frame was in one peace)
- You can't turn off the light without using the Main Switch. It means that power during the night is off except for the socket on the desk

Overall I liked the hotel.
I was in the standard room.

There should be the evaluation: Terrible, Poor, Average, GOOD, Very Good, Excellent. For this hotel I would pick GOOD.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a windows to the street side. The rest of the rooms are with windows indoors. MAKE SURE that you lock the room with the magnetic card. It is not like everywhere else when you close the doors - they are locked. You need to close the doors by putting to the lock your card.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula_Januszkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews we had read, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very conveniently located just off Karl Johansgate; we were able to walk to all the main sites in Oslo center. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious for the two of us, and the bed and bath linens were clean and fluffy. The breakfast buffet was bountiful and delicious. The staff was courteous and helpful. We had reservations for three nights and the only minus was that there was a lot of street noise on our 2nd night. It turned out that university classes had just started that day, and students were out in full force late that evening celebrating their return to classes. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and the noise was troublesome. We mentioned the noise to the staff the next morning, and they happily changed our room to the 8th floor, which was an improvement. Although air conditioned, the rooms do not each have their own thermostat. So, if you want to open your windows for add'l cooler air (as we did in the summer), you might hear street noise. Ask for a room on a high floor. Overall, we liked the hotel very much.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank USNA2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Upon our arrival to the hotel, the amount of business suits should have told us they weren't going to pull out all of the stops for families. We stayed at the Rica because my husbands business put us up there, but we were also on a family vacation. The hotel overall is nice looking and the location is very conveniently located. However, the room was not very clean (dirt on floor, dust on surfaces, and even underwear in the back of the armoire). We had a broken showerhead and the water pressure was not ideal; additionally the water temperature fluctuated from very hot, to hot, then very cold. We did mention this to the hotel staff, but nothing was done to repair it. For families traveling with young children, they do have travel cots available as well as highchairs at breakfast. There is also a small fridge located in the room (for 1 or 2 bottles or a meal). The breakfast was nice, but did not suit children very well (food options included a variety of smoked meats/fish, cheese, vegetables, but also included eggs and potatoes, yogurt and muesli as well as fruit). (No hot oatmeal or many cereal selections). My husband enjoyed the breakfast very much, but I found it to be over-cooked/salted. There is a room service available (contracted out) that delivered us some very tasty Chinese food during dinner time. As for the room options, do not get a room facing the dining area (no outside view) if you are a light sleeper. During breakfast hours (beginning at 0630) and dinner hours (on weekends until 11) it is noisy and filters into the room (even up to the 5th floor). Overall, we would not enthusiastically recommend this hotel to friends traveling with children, however, if the price is right and they ensured the room had a thorough clean, valued a free breakfast, and wanted a short walk to city centre this hotel would be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandBenHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

When I read information and reviews of this hotel, I supposed to have nice, clean, light and comfortable room with wooden floors. So it was very bad disappointment when we opened the door and entered the room:

Ok, the general view was nice. Furnishing was modern and simple. But then we switched the lights on and saw that very, very dirty carpet floor! We have never ever seen so dirty carpet floor! And now we are talking about so called first-class business hotel in Oslo! The carpet was full of crumbs, spots and other kind of dirty things. UGH!

Also the walls and the floor in the shower corner were dirty. Not so dirty as the carpet floor, but dirty enough to mention it.

There was not enough lights in the room. Maybe they don´t want customers to see all the other dirtiness in the room?! It was no lights at all in the shower corner. The only lights in the bathroom was over the sink.

The bed was wide enough for two people, but it was too soft. For one person it was comfortable, but when there was two people it became too soft and bumpy.

The city hall is nearby the hotel and the bells of that building are shouting every 15 minutes. The annoying noice can be heard very loud in your room - even late night and early in the morning! There´s also a noisy restaurant/club nearby. So take earplugs with you if you´re going to stay at this hotel!

But there was also positive things:
The location is just perfect! Few steps from the harbour, Åker brygge, the castle, Karl Johans gate and the whole city centre. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the railway station.

Breakfast was extensive. It was so great that it was almost perfect!

The hotel stuff in the breakfast room and in the front desk was very helpful, kind and nice.

And it was nice to have free internet connection (wireless) in the room.

If you´re going to stay in this hotel:
*Take earplugs with you!
* Ask for the room with wooden floor!

Summary:
___________
+ very good location
+ great, almost perfect breakfast
+ excelent service at the front desk
+ free WiFi in the rooms

- very dirty carpet floor in the room
- dirty walls in the room
- dirty floor in the shower corner
- the shower head was too low for people longer than 175 cm
- water pressure in the shower was very poor
- you hear annoying bells from the city hall every 15 minutes in your room
- you her annoying noise from the restaurant/club nearby
- not enough lights in the room, especially in the bathroom, no lights at all in the shower corner
- too soft bed when two people sleeping in the same bed

Room Tip: Ask for the room with wooden floor!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews