We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Victoria
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Functional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

I've been staying here a bit for business trips. I prefer it to the Bristol, which probably has the extra star by virtue of a gym and a couple of stuffed moose. It can be considerably less expensive than the Bristol, and also has kettles and free internet. Otherwise they are very similar and are typical 3/4 star soulless hives of depression. I always try to get a room facing the streets otherwise you have one facing the inner atrium and the windows don't open. Also - if you return to the Hotel after 11pm expect to get accosted by some hookers on Rosenkrantzgate, "hey meester, can i come it with you".

  • Liked — Proximity to Aker Brygge
  • Disliked — Airless rooms facing the inner atrium
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barefootboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    352
    159
    42
    25
See reviews for
114
265
40
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

The hotel is very central in Oslo, 5 minutes walk from parliament and the main shopping street (Karl Johans Gate), and only 12 minutes walk to the Central train station. It is also 5 minutes to the City Hall/Quayside area and 10 minutes to a large shopping/restaurant complex (Aker Brygge). Other attractions are within walking distance.

I found the staff to be very friendly, and they all spoke English.

The rooms were clean and offered a comfortable bed, with a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Free wireless internet is available.

The breakfast was excellent with many options such as cereal, cold meats, fish, hot bacon and eggs – and of course fruit juice, bread, fruit etc.

Would recommend.

Tip: visit the National Gallery, there is a whole room of Munch works (including versions of The Scream and Madonna). It's centrally loacted (just off Karl Johans Gate) - it wasn't busy when I visited and best of all it's free.

  • Liked — Breakfast, free wifi Internet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Cowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

What a nice surprise this hotel was - and what a relief! We had spent the previous 4 nights sweltering in hotels without air conditioning during a Norwegian heat wave (who knew?). The Rica Hotel Victorian has the best air handling system of any hotel I have ever been in, anywhere in the world! The system was so quiet and unobtrusive that we barely could hear it and the air was constantly cool and refreshing. Another plus, the breakfast buffet is wonderful! The location is convenient to many sites and to the transportation system. Staff was pleasant and the accommodating. The room was clean and attractive. I would recommend this hotel without question.

  • Liked — Air conditioning!
  • Disliked — It was all good.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Genut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

I visited this hotel for a business meeting. The position is great. However the hotel seems a little tired .The breakfast was great, the lunch buffet great as well and the staff was very polite.
Everything was in walking distance (Aker Brygge, Karls Johane Gate ).
Nevertheless, i would go again to this hotel. Overall experience positive

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank okyalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

The hotel is fantastic, in the center of Oslo, near the main street and close to major atractions. The room was big and comfortable, and the breakfast is incredible (has the style of the german buffet, with fruits, cereals, cheese, eggs, ham, etc.). Given the high prices of Oslo, this is a very affordable hotel with great service.

  • Liked — The location, the breakfats
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fromstockholm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

This hotel is nicely located in Oslo (not far from the fortress, the port and the shopping street). While directly on a street in the center it was still fairly quiet in the room.

The room itself was modern and of decent size. The bathroom was a bit weird (modern italian-style shower) but old sink and tap.

The breakfast is standard, nothing fancy (I actually expected a bit more here given it's a 4*).

It's the first time (and I do travel a lot) that I see room doors that you have to explicitly lock when you leave (your access card as two sides and two mag stripes for that). So make sure you don't do the usual "wait for the door closed sound" when you leave your room, or it will stay unlocked.

Staff and service were OK too.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — Nothing really (only one night)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nico_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2007

Stayed here for a weekend wedding with the missus.

The location is great, just a block away from Karl Johan (the main street) and 5 minutes away Aker Brygge (the main party area). Oh, its also nextdoor neighbour to a strip club..

The staff is friendly and professional both in the reception and at the breakfast. The breakfast is served in an atrium in the middle of the hotel, surrounded by rooms about 6-7 floors up, which means that if you dont have a street view you have a breakfast view which is acually kind of nice!

We had a double room like that and enjoyed it. The bed was comfy, the room was very clean and the bathroom was very fresh as well. I got what I could expect from my money, which is what I ask for.

We only enjoyed breakfast here and not the restaurant, but the buffet was loaded and very worthwhile, noone will walk away from it with an empty stomache.

I will probably try out another hotel in Oslo next time (mostly for curiosity reasons) but if I end up here anyway I wont complain.

  • Liked — The location and breakfast.
  • Disliked — Horrendous minibar prices.
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank limbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#43 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#20 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#35 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Victoria

Property: Scandic Victoria
Address: Rosenkrantz' gate 13, Oslo 0160, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Victoria is a first-class business hotel in the heart of Oslo. Aker Brygge, the Parliament, Karl Johans gate are all within short walking distance. The hotel has 199 spacious, light and comfortable rooms, some of which are suites. The hotel has several meeting rooms and a large atrium ideal for mini-fairs and exhibitions, receptions, lunches and dinners. A large and varied buffet lunch is served daily in the atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Victoria Oslo
Oslo Rica Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing