We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Scandic Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Victoria
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
236 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The hotel is exactly in the center of the city, between the parliament and the harbour.
It's very clean, confortable and strategically located for city tour.
It's a 4 star but, if this is real for the hall, the restaursant, the breakfast room, which are recently renewed, this is not complitely real for rooms cause forniture are a little BIT old.
Notwithstanding this, rooms are really big, confortable and clean. I suggest the hotel to everyone.
Ah! an advice. Before booking trought the web site write an e-mail to the hotel chain headquarter. I did so, and they made ma a 50% discount.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milano78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    370
    166
    42
    26
See reviews for
118
281
42
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viareggio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

I definetely recommend the hotel, it is very central, 2 minutes from main square and 10 minutes walk from the train station. Rooms are nothing special but confortable, clean and quite modern. The breakfast buffet is a plus!

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank elekalima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We liked this hotel. It was far enough away from the central station madness and yet close enough for good walks to the waterfront, grocery stores, laundromat, public transportation was all very convenient. Yes, it was the typical Scandinavian mid-price hotel room but it was clean and comfortable. And the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

After reading the reviews here, we gave it a try. We had concerns with air conditioning and noise, but the surprising cool July actually made us close the window and cut down the noise a bit. We did come prepared with ear plugs and thus were not bothered by the noise. The 6 o'clock trash truck for the dumpster right across from the hotel certainly made a huge noise. Other than these, the breakfast was excellent, staffs were great, and the location is just nice. It's 3 blocks from the metro station, one block from the harbor for both tour boats and ferries to Fram. The #12 city train is also 1 block away which takes you to right in front of Vingeland Park. We bought a 3-d Oslo pass at the airport, so we could take a free lunch cruise near the hotel. This card is a must have. It's so worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

The staff made the difference at this hotel. Front desk staff were eager to help and volunteer information, arrange late checkout, store luggage, etc. Breakfast room staff hurried to clear tables and restock when the 7 tour groups descended at the same time.

Location was great for sightseeing. 3 blocks to tram to/from train station. Same to ferry to museums, fortress, park. Just a few blocks more to palace, museums. Street was quiet, though.

First room for overnight stay was small, but adequate. Offered upgrade for $40 more, but turned down. The room was clean, but the air conditioning was insufficient and we only had one small window overlooking the street. Not enough to circulate any air and we suffered. We told the clerk the problem and that we were returning later in the week. He said he would put us on the 9th floor. The room we were given when we returned was on the 9th floor, a larger room (the upgrade) with an air conditioner that had a higher speed fan, cooler air, and a larger window. It still had difficulty offsetting the heat wave, but it was bearable at least. So, the better rooms are better for the a/c as well as the space.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Had a great experience great location. New renowated rooms with a great kitchen and the best breakfast

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2008

The Rica Victoria is very well located in central Oslo near the museums, shopping and waterfront. Our double room was clean and comfortable, the buffet breakfast was well-stocked, and wireless internet is complimentary with the room. The heat was on when we visited in November and our room was very warm. The staff was great. Our only complaint about the Rica Victoria was the noise; the rooms are very poorly soundproofed. Our room faced the atrium and we could hear every meal that took place, with breakfast starting at 0630 on weekdays, and the conversations in the room adjacent to ours woke us up at 3 am. Not to mention the horrendous noise when those neighbors decided to run in the hall.

Other than the noise this was a great hotel but the noise is a serious problem.

  • Liked — Location, wireless internet, staff, breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tfan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#41 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#19 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Victoria

Property: Scandic Victoria
Address: Rosenkrantz' gate 13, Oslo 0160, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Victoria is a first-class business hotel in the heart of Oslo. Aker Brygge, the Parliament, Karl Johans gate are all within short walking distance. The hotel has 199 spacious, light and comfortable rooms, some of which are suites. The hotel has several meeting rooms and a large atrium ideal for mini-fairs and exhibitions, receptions, lunches and dinners. A large and varied buffet lunch is served daily in the atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Victoria Oslo
Oslo Rica Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing