We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supposed to be 4-star, no-no”
Review of Scandic Helsfyr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Helsfyr
Ranked #54 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Supposed to be 4-star, no-no”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very disappointing. OK, I do not want to nag, but a 4-star hotel that is more average than average. No tea kettle in the room, and if you need an ironing bord you have to go to the basement... I was told that superior rooms have it, but HEY, so I am staying at a 3-star room? How am I supposed to know it?
The room is the typical nordic easy-to-clean, no rugs or carpets and quite cold.
Breakfast is good, but do not expect anything more from the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not expect much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelers_Solna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guest feedback to and always strive to deliver what the guests expect.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
Our website and the 3rd party travel agents all have the information about room amenities. We do also have rooms with rugs if you prefer that on your next stay.

Once again thank you for your feedback and apologies for your experience.

Best Regards
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    200
    110
    40
    14
See reviews for
74
113
26
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is situated a bit away from the centre of Oslo, however it is very convenient to get there from the airport - a short bus ride and you are there. I was attending a business meeting and the hotel was just steps away from the meeting place. There is a metro station almost beside the hotel and you can be in the centre within minutes.
The hotel room was spacious and very clean. The bed was comfy and there were plenty of fluffy towels. Water pressure in the shower was ok but the hairdryer was a bit powerless.
Good fitness room, did not get to use the sauna. The breakfast selection was excellent and the wifi very stable and fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gudrunjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was here two days. The room (426) seemed to be very spacious, neat and clean . They had forgotten to put the shower gel. but this was quickly arranged when I asked about them . The hotel had typical carpet cleaning odor in the room and the hallway . The room had carpet all covered. There was some dirty marks on the carpet that they didn't manage to remove. I discovered some cereal lying under the sofa as the cleaning staff had overlooked . The beds were good. I slept pretty well :)

The hotel had a sauna , a small relaxation room, and a small exercise room with two sets and a yoga ball . I was not tempted to try any of the parts even though it looked nice and tidy .

The breakfast was just as expected on such business hotel. Varied , but seemed a bit " impersonal " I thought. Staff was around and poured coffee if they had time . They did not have time to clean the tables if there was a lot of people at breakfast.

I had a pizza in the restaurant one evening. It was not as expected. Hard and salty , even though I had a beer to help myself with.

Room Tip: Om mulig, spør etter rom på de to øverste etasjene da de var nyere bygd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The location will be pretty bad for tourists and most people staying here during the week are on business in the immediate area. The area consists of offices mostly and a lot of traffic. It is close to Valle Hovin stadium that hosts large outdoor concerts.

The check-in staff are polite and efficient. The rooms vary quite a lot from the downright dreary carpeted rooms to the refurbished and upgraded ones facing the parking lot.

Breakfast is good, plus for an actual fresh juice machine and nice selection of health foods, including fruits and yoghurts. There are hot options as well. Table coffee service refill.

The gym is poor, but you can rent bikes for free.

Restaurant was not that good for dinner, different staff consisting of some older guys that try to make it an upmarket experience (as the prices indicate) but it fails and the food is poor. There are no food options in the vicinity, but it is very easy to get on the metro into town for lots of options.

I wish the staff was more consistent in recognizing Rica elite members and offering upgrades for golds.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior rooms facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank view2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Good standard hotel, meeting all the requirements of a business and leisure traveller. Nice room, quite new and refurbished (at least on 8th/9th level), soft and comfortable bed. Complete breakfast buffet - just great to start into the new day!
Location - close to businesses in Helsfyr, and also just a 5 minute walk from the flybussen airport bus station Helsfyr.
Coming to Olso, I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms might be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a very bad experience most of all because of the rudness of the people at the Front Desk. The room was clean but very unconfortable. The rates are very high for what service and rooms offer. Will never reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: This place doesn't have nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springalways_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your honest response. Rica Helsfyr Hotel strives to deliver the best service to all our guests. We therefore appreciative all the feedback we can get.

I am sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable situation at our hotel. On behalf of all the staff I apologize for your experience.

We welcome you and your family back to Rica Helsfyr Hotel or any other Rica Hotel and apologize once again.

Best Regards
Rune Aasprong
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Room heater looked as if it was damaged but as wasn't needed was not bothered. As was travelling with a tour bus did not checkout transport into the centre. Staff were helpful and there was a free newspaper in English.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel 33
Quality Hotel 33
#45 of 101 in Oslo
438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thon Hotel Linne
Thon Hotel Linne
#62 of 101 in Oslo
141 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Oslo Alna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
4.2 mi away
Scandic Sjolyst
Scandic Sjolyst
#36 of 101 in Oslo
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Oslo Alna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Helsfyr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Helsfyr

Property: Scandic Helsfyr
Address: Stroemsveien 108 | Gps Address: Innspurten 9, Oslo 0663, Norway (Formerly Rica Helsfyr Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Gamle Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Helsfyr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Helsfyr is situated in Oslo, a 4-minute walk from Helsfyr Metro Station and the airport shuttle bus. It offers free public parking on site and modern rooms with free Wi-Fi. All the air conditioned rooms at Scandic Helsfyr have wooden floors. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV, work desk and fridge. Guests can work out at the on-site fitness-room. Relaxation options include a sauna. The main restaurant serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and International dinner dishes. Light meals are available as well. Drinks are available in the Lobby Bar. Oslo city centre is a 7-minute metro ride away. Valle Hovin Stadium and Valhall Arena are both within 500 metres of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Helsfyr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing