We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst "gourmet" food I've had (so far, anyhow)” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julius Fritzner Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Julius Fritzner Restaurant
Ranked #873 of 1,405 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: European, Norwegian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The worst "gourmet" food I've had (so far, anyhow)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Julius Fritzner is located upstairs in Grand Hotel, and pretends to be a grand restaurant. They offer a choice of 3, 5 or 7 course dinners. We tried the 5 courses. The only nice dish was the red wine sorbet ("cleanse the palate"). Oh, it all sounds good... sole, duck, lamb, etc. But every dish is a mish-mash of flavours and textures, all of it dotted with streaks and puddles of variously colored sauces... really, truly awful.
The best thing you could say about the food, was that the servings were tiny.

The service was tolerable, but nothing more. And allow me to point out: We were in excellent mood when we went there, and we truly tried to enjoy the evening. Impossible.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Old school decor meets modern nordic cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

The decor of this restaurant mostly reminds of "old school" French restaurants. But the 7 course tasting menu is absolutely a´modern and high class cuisine. Innovative but, not a 5 star tasting experience even though the produce is high class.

Service is very good, and this restaurant deserves way better ranking in the Norwegian papers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

If you have enough to spare I really would recommend this restaurant! It's my favorite! They really make wonderful elk and reinsdyrs stakes! The ambience is quiet.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabmue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Michelin-quality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Had a wonderful meal here. 5 courses with perfect wine combos. Superb food with lots of flavours and interesting twists. Expensive, but well worth it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat like a "Noble Peace price winner"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

This restaurant was such a wonderful and unexpected highlight of our trip to Norway! It is the venue where the banquet is held each December for the Nobel Peace Prize winner. From the moment we entered the restaurant the service, quality and presentation of the food could not be faulted. This meal was one of the finest we have ever had- it is certainly not cheap, but well worth it.

The food was just magnificent, we ordered the three course degustation menu with matching wines. We ended up having five courses (the other two courses compliments of the chef). Our hostess showed us the banquet room that the noble peace prize dinner is held in, and generously gave us one of the menus for the 2010 Peace Prize banquet.

We will remember this night and the wonderful food as a major highlight of our five month trip through the USA and Europe. We hope others also enjoy this magnificent experience while visiting Oslo.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dagney67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Julius Fritzner Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Julius Fritzner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing