We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable quality price ratio for oslo”
Review of Scandic Vulkan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Vulkan
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel was clean and confortable. Not far from the central station (15 min walking or 3 bus stops). Just in front of a delicatessen market in a neighborhood which is being renewed in a trendy way.

Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Hi,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo. We are glad you enjoyed the new hotel, and its superb location to Mathallen.

Thanks also for the nice feedback on our organic breakfast. We are very proud of our breakfast.

Best regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is an out-of-the-way hotel in Oslo, it's on the outskirts (15ish minute walk from the city centre), but for the price you cannot go wrong.

We were greeted with a smile at reception, we had booked a double room but were given a two single beds. Generally, hoteliers confirm our room booking (we book double) when we arrive, but on this occasion they didn't, we are a gay couple, and as such expect that this needs to be confirmed, after all, we could just be friends for all they know! But we ended up with two single beds. No deal breaker, and we didn't complain for the sake of one night, but I do think that this should be checked out of politeness. It doesn't hurt to confirm "Double room for (insert duration of stay)?" during the check-in process.

The hotel itself was spotless, the room was comfortable, but the air conditioning wasn't working. Again, we didn't complain for the sake of one night.

Breakfast was uncontrolled in it's entirety, some rates don't include it, but if you were going to chance getting it for free, you'd probably get away with it, we didn't have any interaction with any member of staff. We did pay extra. We did turn up quite late, so possibly the staff were just being more complacent, but that still doesn't excuse it. The offering was quite good, scrambled eggs, sausages and other hot items, amongst more continental food.

We had a couple of beers in the bar, a member of staff approached us around 20 minutes before closing time and said "Just to let you know, if you want anymore drinks, please get them now, I need to go home you know", whilst this was said in a joking kind of way, it was quite unprofessional and made us feel like we needed to rush to leave. I'd take that in pub/bar, but in a hotel... you don't do that.

Overall, great value for money, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdhurst380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hi!

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo!

I can assure you that we are a gay friendly hotel, so next time you will be asked what kind of bed you want.

We are truly happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our other facilities.
Then I must apologize for the behavior of my colleague, I hope that they just wanted to be relaxed in their service style, trying to be funny.

We hope to see you soon again, maybe next summer.

Best regards
Monica Egeberg

General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nicely located in a trendy area, that is now undergoing redevelopment (although it surely cannot be described as city center, rather inner outskirts). Good, clean and spacious rooms, very good breakfast selection and good quality. Staff helpful and polite. Surely a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobroszp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback after visiting Scandic Vulkan.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the Vulkan area, our ecological breakfast buffet, and our rooms

We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Hotels may be quite expensive in Oslo. This hotel was a cheaper one. The room is a bit smaller, which is not a problem, since the hotel invested in good beds!
The breakfast was really good! (I would rate it 9, on a scale 1 to 10).
In the bar/bistro you can enjoy your dinner/drinks and charge it toyour room. (prices here are pretty normal compared to the rest of Oslo we have seen so far).
Representative pictures have been posted by other users.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon_vd_Werf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hi!

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our other facilities.
We often hear that our beds are very comfortable - which is important when staying in hotels.

We hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Monica Egeberg

General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a standard Scandic hotel. It is clean, comfortable and service is good. Rooms are functional and beds are good but nothing special. It is located just 10 minutes walk from central Oslo and just besides nice affordable (by Oslo standards) restaurants. The only downside is that it lacks the character and charm of smaller hotels. Breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast so much. It sure has a fine selection of organic options and Norwegian specialties.

Looking forward to see you soon again!

Best regards
Monica Egeberg
General manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the Scandic Vulkan for two days as part of a Scandinavia tour. I was very impressed with this hotel considering how much I paid...my room was very spacious and clean with a comfy bed and large bathroom. The staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English. The restaurant on the bottom floor was also great and the food was top quality. Although it is a bit of a walk from the centre of town, I would definitely stay here again next time I am in Oslo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasg0wB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

What a great review, thank you!

It is a delight to read your positive comments and to hear that you enjoyed the food in our popular restaurant.

We hope to see you back here soon again!

Best regards
Monica Egeberg
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice in a month.

1. Clean and new
2. An average good breakfast
3. Location is not ideal for tourists

If you are looking for a new hotel with average good scandinavian standard at this location, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for choosing Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo and thank you for the feedback provided.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our hotelrooms.

Welcome back soon again!

Best regards
Monica Egeberg
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Solli
#29 of 102 in Oslo
967 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Vulkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Vulkan

Address: Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £84 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Vulkan 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Oslo hotel has an attractive location in Oslo's Vulkan area, just 2 km from central Oslo. Hotel Scandic Vulkan opened in October 2011.The new Scandic Vulkan hotel has a great location in Vulkan, just north of central Oslo and by the Akerselva river. Vulkan is a part of Oslo that represents innovation, creativity and culture. The hotel is also close to Oslo's trendy Grunerlokka area with plenty of cosy cafés, bars and parks as well as several cultural institutions and creative colleges. Oslo's city centre and popular attractions are only a 2 km walk from hotel Scandic Vulkan.When you stay at hotel Scandic Vulkan, don't miss a visit to our popular restaurant V. Our restaurant serves great local food and is a relaxed and informal meeting place from morning till evening. You can also enjoy a drink in our hotel bar or arrange a conference or event with us. With solar cells, geothermal energy and other smart solutions with environmental focus, Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway with the Norwegian term 'Energy class A'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Vulkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing