We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super great stay :-)”
Review of Scandic Vulkan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Vulkan
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great stay here from Saturday to Monday now in July. Wih a special summerprice including breakfast and free parking.
Great location next to the foodhall in Oslo with late opening of the bars and restaurants. 20 minutes walk to Karl Johan approx. So not bad at all located.
The room we had was on the same floor as the front desk, small but with a taaaaal roof hight, very nice and decorative, got what you need. Big positive suprice that the room had an iron and board :-)
What we was missing was a place to leave the suitecase/cary on bag because there was not to much to hang the clothes away on/in. So a rack on the floor/folding rack or something could be good around the TV area. And the lamp over the bed should be lifted 1 meter up, we felt it was "hitting" us in the head......
Super breakfast, felt sorry for the poor guy that was working on a Sunday, he did his very best but was alone..... Not good management in this case with plenty of guests eating at the same time. Besides, on a Sunday it should start later and last to 11 am at least.
Very frindly staff and service minded, and was so great with us cause we had our little dog along on the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for room towards the foodcourt /mathallen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fredi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, Daglig leder at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi,

thank you for your kindly feedback after your recent stay at Scandic Vulkan.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our superb location beside the foodcourt Mathallen, our friendly staff, and our good organic breakfast.

Hope to see you soon again!

Best Regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Vulkan June 20-22. Elias took very good care of us, from check in to check out. We had a little problem with our first room (plugged shower drain) so he immediately upgraded us to room with an amazing view and huge windows. The Vulkan is next to a food lovers dream - the Mathallen Oslo. Lots of yummy restaurants and food items. Hotel is very clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to downtown, Aker Brygge, and parks. Highly recommend this gem. And again, a huge thank you to Elias!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jls1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, Daglig leder at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting wonderful Oslo!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our cityview at the top floors, and our great and exciting foodie location! Thank you also for mentioning Elias - he is one of our many stars :-)

Hope to see you soon again!

Best Regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

+
New, clean hotel, nice room
Reasonably priced
Good breakfast

0
Location about a mile outside of city center, but good public transportation
Service ok

-
Some traffic noise
Restaurant hours and menu limited

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santeri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, Daglig leder at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our good organic breakfast, and our nice location!

Hope to see you soon again!

Best Regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We upgraded to a superior room and the view was fantastic. They have floor to ceiling windows all around the room.


Perfect location- there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by and it is about a 20 minute walk from the bus/train station.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MIRANDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, Daglig leder at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting beautiful Oslo!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our cityview at the top floors, and our great and exciting location.

We hope to see you soon again!

Best Regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Here it is in summary:

1.Quite spacious and clean standard rooms
2.friendly staff
3.Breakfast is quite basic
4.located further outside the city so be prepared to walk to fork out about 150Nok to the city centre
5. Good food court outside the hotel with reasonable eating places


In short..its a good business hotel and a safe choice if u want a real tranquil environment

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Admiral N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, Daglig leder at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Vulkan when visiting Oslo!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our clean rooms, our nice staff and the amazing foodcout Mathallen located outside our hotel. And the city centre also just a short walk from our location.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager
Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is modern hotel and few miles away from the city center though it's connected by frequent buses

The location is a very calm suburb with few convienent stores near by

The rooms were basic and average sizes . We were put in a room on the first floor with windows opening on the pavement facing the road which was inconvenient

The breakfast was good

If you don't have enough choices to choose from go for this hotel others wise you can find better hotels in the city

Stayed: June 2014
Thank shivapaavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, Leder  at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your nice review after staying at Scandic Vulkan.

We really appreciated that you enjoyed our great location and our good ecological breakfast.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Oslo.

Best Regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager

Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Economical, cosy, clean, comfortable. Hotel was perfect for my business trip - I stayed here for 3 nights. Very welcoming staff. Good location - not very central though- you will reach main centre in about 20 min walk. Good breakfast. A bit noisy outside during a night but ain't too bad. I will stay again if I have another business trip to Oslo. Thank you

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank TOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, Leder  at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback after staying at Scandic Vulkan!

We really appreciate your comments regarding our hotel.

Thank you for also mentioning our nice ecological breakfast.

Hope to see you soon again!

Beste Regards

Monica Egeberg
General Manager

Scandic Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Solli
#36 of 102 in Oslo
993 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Vulkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Vulkan

Address: Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £84 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Vulkan 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Oslo hotel has an attractive location in Oslo's Vulkan area, just 2 km from central Oslo. Hotel Scandic Vulkan opened in October 2011.The new Scandic Vulkan hotel has a great location in Vulkan, just north of central Oslo and by the Akerselva river. Vulkan is a part of Oslo that represents innovation, creativity and culture. The hotel is also close to Oslo's trendy Grunerlokka area with plenty of cosy cafés, bars and parks as well as several cultural institutions and creative colleges. Oslo's city centre and popular attractions are only a 2 km walk from hotel Scandic Vulkan.When you stay at hotel Scandic Vulkan, don't miss a visit to our popular restaurant V. Our restaurant serves great local food and is a relaxed and informal meeting place from morning till evening. You can also enjoy a drink in our hotel bar or arrange a conference or event with us. With solar cells, geothermal energy and other smart solutions with environmental focus, Scandic Vulkan is the first hotel in Norway with the Norwegian term 'Energy class A'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Vulkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing