We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tapas, but..”
Review of Escalon

Escalon
Ranked #269 of 1,482 Restaurants in Oslo
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice tapas, but..”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Me and some friends went here on a sunny day to enjoy some tapas and beers. The tapas was very nice, but a bit too expensive. Unfortunately a couple of the waiters were unattentive and kept us waiting too long for our beers.
Anyway, it is a nice place to be on a sunny day :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eivind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    63
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good food - tapas. Can be recommended both for families and friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My best experience of tapas in Oslo for a long time”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a romantic evening and went to Escalon, booked a table online and pre-ordered the 10 course tapas meal. We were recommended a red wine and thought the choice was excellent. Very good food, nice bread and aioli - and too much food for us. My favorites was the blue shells, the fried dades and some of the meat. I was starving when I arrived and probably ate a bit too swift, could not finish it all. Therefore it was not necessary to look at the dessert menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montgomery1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Small, rather limited tapas menu; quality good”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

After hearing such great reviews about this place. I was really disappointed with the limited number of tapas on their menu. In fact, many of their specials had already been sold out - somehow - when we arrived for our 5:30PM dinner reservation...Something did not seem to be right about that. The service was very good and it´s in a fun location at the newly developed Tjuvholmen area of Aker Brygge - but they should give some serious consideration to expanding their menu - otherwise it is rather limited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice staff, average food”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We where a group friends (7 persons). We all went for the 12 piece tapas. The price was about 550 NOK (92 USD) p.p. We had some wine and beer along with the food (not included).
All the food was tasty, but the flavors were just average. Not a great taste experience, but a nice restaurant to hold a birthday. We had a good time there, and the staff was wonderful. LUPS

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PetterN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escalon also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Escalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing