We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotell Bondeheimen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotell Bondeheimen
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

The hotel has a perfect location close to the centre and the bus to/from Airport. I had an upgraded room with the ironing board.. The room was very noisy (get some ear plugs in the reception). Bathroom is a bit outdated. Room key should be used in the elevator for security reasons, BUT the stairs are still availiable. Selection at breakfast is quite poor. Scrambled eggs were half warm, no bacon, sausages or beans for those who like it. No choice of pastry. No service during the breakfast.
Overall the hotel is OK if you take into account that is it located in the middle of the Norwegian capital - it a place for sleeping in a good location. Hotels in Norway are expensive so go for this one if you get a good deal. Otherwise choose another hotel with the same good location but more atmosphere - I will look for another one next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Vili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    318
    212
    54
    26
See reviews for
119
225
128
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

I had researched carefully before our trip to find a hotel that could accommodate me -- I use a wheelchair for mobility. This hotel is excellent! The entry is flat, there are lifts to the floors, an automatic door opener to the room (a device is available when you check in). The bathroom is spacious, with a drop-down shower seat and plenty of grab bars. We (from the US) weren't used to the heated bathroom floor, but got used to it quickly! :)

The room was quite large, plenty of room to navigate in a wheelchair, with plenty of storage.

We got caught up in the airport closures (due to the Iceland volcano) and they were quick to extend our stay, without any fuss or bother.

The breakfast was excellent. We never had any difficulty finding a seat, and there was plenty of variety offered each day. We ate lunch at the hotel several times during our stay, too, and enjoyed the meals immensely.

It is a great location -- even in my wheelchair, it was an easy walk (or in my case, roll) to many major attractions, including the harbor area, with lots of shops, bars, small restaurants and other things right nearby.

It is also quite reasonable, compared to other hotels in the area.

We're returning to Oslo next April (2011) and hope to book the Bondeheimen again.

The only negative -- and this wasn't the hotel's fault! -- was the construction going on seemingly all around it. I hope this will be finished by the time we return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uppitycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel during the last week of July 2010. It has an excellent location, right off Karl Johans Gate, the main shopping/tourist street, a one minute walk from the Parliament and Stortinget metro station. It is a 10 minute walk to the central rail station, 15 minutes to the bus station, and 5 minutes to the harbour and bars, restaurants and shops at Aker Brygge. Check-in was quick and efficient, and staff friendly and helpful. My single room (no. 407) looked recently refurbished. It had a nice decor and furnishings, but lacked drawers for storage. There was a safe. The room had no view, facing inwards and partially looking at a wall, but the room was still bright. The bed was a typical Scandinavian-type bed, which I found very comfortable. I was not disturbed by noise of any kind at any time.The bathroom had a nice shower, the room had good lighting for reading and the temperature control was good. The breakfast had a good selection and was tasty - perfectly adequate. Breakfast is served between 6.30 and 9.30 am, but after 8.00 am people struggled to find a seat as the hotel was quite full. The card key is needed for entry to your bedroom, to operate the lift and to enter the breakfast dining room. Beware, the bedrooms are not self-locking for two minutes and you need to insert your card to lock the door immediately. Don't let others see you not lock your room if you walk off immediately! Between Sunday and Thursday free soup, bread and hot drinks are served in the reception area, which is excellent for budget travellers, although most guests seemed to be couples and families. The room was impeccably cleaned and replenished, and whilst I was having breakfast! In many European cities this hotel would easily pass as a reasonable 4 star standard and at £65 for bed and breakfast, this was excellent value for money in an expensive city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

stayed at hotel bondeheimen in early July 2010 with extended family. Great staff who were very helpful. Breakfast was good. Rooms were good size and clean. Location was good, Airport bus dropped us off right in front of the hotel. Only negatives the elevator broke a few times and there was street construction going on adjacent to the hotel, sometimes starting at 3 AM. Overall pleased with the hotel, a good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uwtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

While at Oslo's Best Western Hotell Bondeheimen, my locked room was broken into (perhaps with a master key card) and I lost stuff worth thousands of dollars. At the time, I was at dinner in the hotel. Other nearby rooms were robbed at the same time. The manager was especially concerned that she had to come in to the hotel on a Sunday. As her only assistance she drew a circle on a map to indicate where the police station was so that I could walk there - perhaps a mile - to make a report. But she got very upset and called me rude when I told another hotel guest that rooms had been robbed in the past hour or two and the thief was still at large. My hotel room had no safe, but had it had one, it would have been hard to put a small laptop and large camera into it. As far as I could tell no changes were made to make the rooms more secure.
I wonder if such break-ins are a common ocurrence in this hotel. The staff showed no interest in how much was taken - which might indicate whether a hotel staff member was a spotter for the band of theives. This robbery cost the hotel nothing and me a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank profyorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We were quite impressed by the size of the room by european standards. Breakfast was very good with lots of selection and some local favorites. Some of the room amenites were not working but repaired upon request ( room safe ). Street noise is bad at all hours as the street is being repaired and they even dropped off supplied at 1:00 AM one morning. Jack hammers and the like were every day. I am surprised that the hotel has not made a complaint to the city. Otherwise the hotel and the location are very good and the staff are all very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelonthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

I've been there for 8 days and everyday i had problems with the room services, Whenever they called me from work the reception was always away. So no communication for me with work! Secondly, They are saying that they are offering wireless internet , which is a big lie to attraqct more customers. As far as the room facilities , small beds, dust on furnitures and everytime they clean the room a certain smell comes out. Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGGR_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
P-Hotels Oslo
#83 of 100 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Scandic Grensen
#46 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#44 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#42 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Bondeheimen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Bondeheimen

Property: Hotell Bondeheimen
Address: Rosenkrantz' gate 8, Oslo 0159, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Bondeheimen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We ourselves understand why so many different people want to be our guests! They think it's smart to live comfortably - in the middle of town - at a hotel with reasonable prices! Oslo. We have all the facilities you might require in our immediate surroundings, and public transportation like the airport train, Flytoget, is only minutes away. The airportbus, Flybussen, actually stops right outside our building. If you are looking for an Oslo weekend, we also offer spacious rooms for the whole family. If you would like to book breakfast included in your stay, our restaurant serves a wholesome, Norwegian breakfast buffet and we can store the luggage for you if you arrive early or depart late. Hotell Bondeheimen also offers conference and meeting facilities up to 150 people. We have 8 conference rooms in different sizes located in different parts of the hotel, including a large theatre space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotell Bondeheimen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotell Bondeheimen Hotel Oslo
Best Western Hotel Oslo
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing