We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but only average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Terminus
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I found this hotel room a little dreary. The chairs were a little stained and reminded me of something from a student flat. However , the hotel is very close to the train station and handy to all the action. The breakfast was outstanding and lovely dining room. The staff were very friendly, especially Kine. She was very pleasant to talk to. Free internet in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel, but dont expect anything flash.

Room Tip: I had a room which looked out onto the street. Always something to look at.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welingtonanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Terminus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

I just stayed in this hotel for 2 nights , I wanted a bathtub like it was said (and I asked for) clearly on their website (, with shower and/ or bathtub), I couldn't have it coz it was supposed to be in the family room which is in the renovated part of the hotel (and no 1 left ) .my 1st feeling when I entered the room was the heat ! ( no a-c).but a nice view on the shopping mall opposite to it... you can see clearly the differene , by switching from lift 1 to lift 2 , you almost feel in another hotel ! but I couldn't have this part unfortunately , I had to pay extra money ( I already paid 140euros for it ... something you could almost have a 5 stars hotels I admit in another country) Finally a lady gave me another room but of course without my bathtub but without being being too hot inside ( even the view was completely different..) the room itself was OK ,nothing special , I would say a basic 3 stars not more , not less. the Bathroom was a disaster not only because I didn't have the bathtub , when you take your shower there were a very small window to protect it ( impossible to you use the shower properly without water spilling on the floor ) ( It only protected 1 part of it .... NO curtains at all (so imagine...), I ask myself how to wash myself and properly this way... and the bathroom itself cannot be smaller, when I arrived my 1st day in the bathroom the toilet paper was almost done with 1 Tissue left on the roller.... not really a bathroom welcome ! ... the good point is definitely like many people said the location ! unbeatable , for the rest I'm not sure ... but except this the staff was trying to be helpfull and polite ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The inner courtyard is very quiet. So if u r worried about noise round train station ask for a quiet room.very convenient location especially if u travel with luggage and don't want to walk endless from train station. The other thin hotel nearby sells the Oslo pass.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jiajia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Hotel is perfectly situated near the train- and busstation, also within a few minutes walking distance from the town main shopping streets.
Breakfast is perfect, and the ladies af the reception are friendly and very helpfull.
The only thing which was below average was our room...and I think that anybody who's been put in room 606 should be aware that it's a room that is quite hot, and I mean really hot. There's no window which can be opened to get some fresh air in. In fact, I wouldn't be suprised if it was the only room in the hotel without a window you could open...
Furthermore the room has only small cupboard, when you're with two persons, one has to leave his of her's clothes in their suitcase.
For me these two points were a great disadvantage.

Room Tip: Any room but number 606...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very conveniently located to the main train station...within about 100 yards or so. We had no problems with noise and the rooms were not fancy but comfortable. The price of the room included a full Scandinavian Breakfast. There was a storage room where we were able to leave our baggage for a few days at no charge while we made a side trip out to the fjords. The storage room was quite secure as only hotel guests with room keys had access. Front desk staff was very helpful and responsive. A good and reasonably priced option for the traveller. Be sure to specify a non-smoking room in the reservation if that is important to you because the hotel has both smoking and non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calsatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Not only is this property perfect - rooms are large (we had four - two adults and two kids) - it was clean, modern, roomy, had a perfect location very close to the train and bus stations.

And, the breakfast spread was really unbelievable! Wish we could get the same high quality breakfast for free in the US! There were coffee machines in many different places throughout the hotel. We were also able to store our luggage all day before catching our train.

If you have young kids they are amazingly equipped. They have a floor for families on the same floor as the breakfast room. In it they have a lot of things for little kids - puzzles and other simple games as well as a ping pong table. in that room they have couches and another coffee machine. Wish I could have had that when my kids were toddlers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The location is walking distance from the express train from the Oslo Airport, or the bus station, and walking distance to most attractions. Also just across the street from Oslo City shopping center and close to the metro. Our room was very comfortable and the windows opened when the July weather warmed up. The breakfast was lavish for a complimentary breakfast buffet with great coffee. (When the coffee machine broke briefly we used the Nespresso machine on the ground floor). The best part of our stay by far was the desk clerk Madelen. She enthusiastically dressed up for the Thon children's program (look for the parrot), and she was a great ambassador for Oslo. She gave us three recommendations for dinner places that were all spot on. Our experience in the hotel and in the city was definitely better for her friendly outgoing efforts.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,200 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Terminus

Address: Stenersgata 10, Oslo 0184, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainvow Terminus)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#30 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £122 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Thon Hotel Terminus occupies a central location close to Oslo City shopping center and Oslo Central Station. Oslo's main street Karl Johan and other attractions are also within short distance of the hotel. At Thon Hotel Terminus you get comfortable accommodation in in the middle of Oslo city center. The hotel offers 154 comfortable and modern rooms, all rooms recently renovated. Because of its central location and high standards the hotel is well-suited for both business travelers and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing