We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Terminus
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I booked this room per the suggestion of the university I was visiting in Majorstuen. I really enjoyed the central location of this hotel and the walk ability/incredible public transport of Oslo. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly. Only minus was the room size, by which, for most standards of European hotels, is probably average. I have been spoiled as an American. It was a lovely stay!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or pool for the record. Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Shirah_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay at Thon Hotel Terminus. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit in Oslo.

Best regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good enough service, and an enjoyable breakfast.

Rather small rooms, and a bit noisy surroundings.

Costs more then it tastes. But I guess they can charge whatever they feel like for the location. Close to the sentral hub.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jørgen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are happy to hear you appreciated the location, enjoyed the breakfast and service.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to us on your next visit to Oslo.

Kind regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked two nights here following a trip to northern Norway. The hotel is well located just 5 minutes walk from the main train station, which connects to the airport by a convenient train.

The staff could not have been friendlier, and spoke perfect English. Also the hotel location is perfect for the city's main highlights, I walked everywhere but its also near bus stops and you can get day cards which also include museum entrance fees.

Hotels in Oslo are expensive, the price here seemed about average for a modest hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and a comfortable bed, bathroom was typically small (most in Europe hotels are), but also spotless and a nice hot, albeit crammed, shower.

The hotel includes a nice breakfast buffet which is a good way to save a lot over local coffee shops. There was some street noise late at night, but not ridiculous or unexpected for a hotel right downtown. I also disagree with some of the revues that the area around the hotel and train station seems dodgy - yes, a lot of teenagers hang out there, but i walked all over at night by myself and never once felt nervous.

Room Tip: Higher from the street the better if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photoguyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about Thon Hotel Terminus. Like you say, this is a very busy area at night, but it can also be regarded as safe.

We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We take great pride in making the breakfast experience a pleasurable one, so we are really happy you enjoyed it.

We hope you will visit Thon Hotel Terminus on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I do stay at this hotel from time to time as it is conveniently located and with decent prices. Last time I stayed there, I sat in my bed reading and did not note that the bed lamps was super hot - when I by accident came close to it and burned my skin. Big blister :-( The positions of the lamp makes this happen very easily if you sit up in the bed when the lamp is on. I gave feedback to the hotel when it happened, and they told me that they were in the process of changing all the light bulbs to s "cold" type. Well, now half a year later, the same thing nearly happened to me again - I nearly touched the lamp - however suddenly remembered last time. So oviously their changing of bulbs does not happen very fast - I did mention it on checking out. So watch out if you read in bed..... Otheerwise the hotel can be recommended for a night or two. Has a nice breakfast !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your reviev on your stay at Thon Hotel Terminus. We have changed the bulbs to cold LED bulbs in 121 rooms wich is the older sectrion of the hotel, and will soon start the prosess in the newer sectrion of the hotel.

We take our guests safety and satisfaction seriously, and this last prosess will commense very soon.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and general service here at Thon Hotel Terminus. We hope to be able to welcome you back to us.


Kind regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Clean rooms and good service upon check in. The location is great, a short walk from the train station and the breakfast selection is excellent. Very comfy beds and hot showers, so for a budget hotel you can't go wrong at Thon Terminus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBrunoVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about Thon Hotel Terminus. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit in Oslo.

Kind regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the central station. Check in was efficient and the staff very helpful. The room was a reasonable size, clean and quiet and the bathroom had a good hot shower. We were able to breakfast early as we were catching an early train, and the selection on the breakfast menu was superb. Even though we left early in the morning reception staff were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueLiz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here one night while on business. Room was nice and spacious, check-in was a bit inefficient, but staff was nice. The hotel is not recently renovated, but the standard is still OK, and it is nice and clean. My room was facing a busy street with potential for noise both day and night. I did however sleep very well. Breakfast was decent, but quite standard for Oslo. All in all a decent, average hotel, and recommendable if you get a good rate.

Room Tip: Preferably facing the back yard. Rooms facing the street might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugman_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Terminus

Address: Stenersgata 10, Oslo 0184, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainvow Terminus)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#30 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £121 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Thon Hotel Terminus occupies a central location close to Oslo City shopping center and Oslo Central Station. Oslo's main street Karl Johan and other attractions are also within short distance of the hotel. At Thon Hotel Terminus you get comfortable accommodation in in the middle of Oslo city center. The hotel offers 154 comfortable and modern rooms, all rooms recently renovated. Because of its central location and high standards the hotel is well-suited for both business travelers and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing