We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Terminus
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located five minute walk from Oslo central station, and within very easy reach of museum, park ect. Spacious and clean room, great buffet breakfast (spoiled for choice). Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: we were on the last floor, very quiet and with a beautiful view, despite the dormer window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefano n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Thon Hotel Terminus. As you mention, we are conveniently placed close to public transport and in the middle of everything.

Best regards,

Trine Pavel Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed three nights between business meetings in June. Reception doesn't look like much but the rest of the experience was great. Very comfortable and spacious room, good breakfast, and best of all, excellent free coffee available in reception all day and night. You don't get that in a five star hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Very good location too close to central station. Great
at value in a city that can be very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us after your stay here at Thon Hotel Terminus. We are so happy to read all your posisive comments. We hope you will choose us again on your next visit to Oslo.

Best regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Located less than 5 minutes walk from Oslo Central Station, very handy for those early starts. Rooms are basic and clean, with TV, shower and simple décor. I was in an internal room with window opening into the central area above the restaurant, the room got quite stuffy. It is great value, staff are helpful. If you are starting a trip around Norway, consider some of the deals Thon hotels offer. They are a massive chain and the more nights you stay the more discount you get. Even if you stay in different cities. There is even a Thon hotel on Spitsbergen. If you are doing the Norway in a Nutshell tour between Oslo and Bergen, the train leaves soon after 8am, so this hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: A room with an external window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments after your stay here at Thon Hotel Terminus. As you point out, our location is excellent when on holiday since we are so near all the major public transportation here in Oslo.

We hope you will choose us on your next visit in Oslo.

Best regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Located a five minute walk from the Central Station, and within very easy reach of museums, parks etc. Rooms basic but more than adequate and very clean. Fabulous buffet breakfast! Spoiled for choice! Warm, friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoundWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Thon Hotel Terminus. We hope you will choose us on your next visit in Oslo.

Kind regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thon hotels are everywhere in Oslo and they are similar to a Travel Lodge but with a bit more Scandinavian class. The good bits are that the Terminus version of this hotel chain is located within 4 minutes walk of the central station and bus terminal. The area is busy but as soon as you step in to the hotel the noise does go away. Reception staff were helpful and answered e-mails quickly. They also answered questions locally with knowledgable answers. The bedrooms are basic but very functional and clean. The breakfast was amazing - I've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels that don't have the variety this hotel puts out. Everything was fresh and they even catered for my genetically fussy gluten intolerant girlfriend.

The bad parts, of which there were few but may ruin your holiday if you are of a delicate nature.
If you use the hotel car park (the one under the hotel) then be prepared to dice with damaging your car, its tight...very tight - Knowing what I know now I'd just use the one across the road and pay a little extra. Parking is expensive in Oslo - No way round it.
If you have an internal room as we did then they are dark and the only view is of the air up and the restaurant down...or another persons curtains. We were only in the room to sleep so that was ok.
Watch out for the cheap kettles in the room. The switches leak steam on to your thumb when you pour. True story!
As I say, none of this bothered us and we found the hotel to be very pleasant and good value for money (when you can get the discounted rate off their website). Would definitely stay again if only for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for an external room. I would guess the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments after your stay here at Thon Hotel Terminus. We hope to be able to welcome you back on another occasion.

Best regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It is very close to central station and very convenient. Though you might say everything in Central Oslo is walking distance. Good rooms but if you are light sleeper do not take road facing room. Excellent spread for breakfast. But once again you find shower cubicle bit cramped. We did land up early from DFDS ferry from copenhagen but were bit disappointed that we did not get room till 3 pm!

Room Tip: If you want quiet room do not select road facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakul_shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We try our best to give rooms early to our guests, but when chech-out time is 12 (noon) and we are competely fully booked it is difficult to get the rooms ready early.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here, and that you appreciated the breakfast here at Thon Hotel Terminus.

Kind regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good hotel with excellent center location, near shopping areas and railway and bus stations. Good breakfast and really helpfull staff. The view from our room was not the best, but room was
quiet and no traffic noises.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susa748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, General Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Thon Hotel Terminus. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, the service and appreciated our practical location.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to us on your next visit in Oslo.

Kind regards

Linda Bø
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,295 reviews
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
411 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Terminus

Address: Stenersgata 10, Oslo 0184, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainvow Terminus)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#30 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £107 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Thon Hotel Terminus occupies a central location close to Oslo City shopping center and Oslo Central Station. Oslo's main street Karl Johan and other attractions are also within short distance of the hotel. At Thon Hotel Terminus you get comfortable accommodation in in the middle of Oslo city center. The hotel offers 154 comfortable and modern rooms, all rooms recently renovated. Because of its central location and high standards the hotel is well-suited for both business travelers and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing