We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Terminus
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and central”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

If you want cheap and central lodging while visiting Oslo for a weekend of fun you can't go better than hotel Terminus. A short walking distance from Karl Johan, Rockefeller, Oslo Spektrum, Oslo S (Railway station) and the Jernbanetorget (metro station), Oslo City (The shopping center) and a variety of other important locations and sights the hotel offers excellent quality for your money.

The rooms do not have the highest quality but you will get a good nights sleep even with the noisy city-center right outside your window. The breakfast is not the best but it's included in the already low prices and it offers most of the basic items you would expect.

Book your room long enough in advance and you can get a weekend in Oslo at a central location for less than 200$. The money you save on the room can then be spent in one of Oslos many pubs or bars and restaurants. Be sure to pickup a kebab from one of the nearby kebab places on your way home.

If you are visiting Oslo for a concert this is one of the good selections for a hotel along with a couple of other Thon hotels in the area. Clean rooms, friendly staff and just what you need and no services you will not be using anyway. Get out of your room and experience Oslo , you didn't come here for the inside of a hotel room.

If you are going for a romantic holiday though.. there are better alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Günerius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Gnurken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments after your stay here at Thon Hotel Terminus. As you mention, we are convenientally placed in the city center, close to most tourist attractions, public transportation and restaurant/bars, and are glad to hear that you enjoyed everything Oslo has to offer. We hope to be able to accomodate you in the future as well.

Best regards,

Trine Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    319
    135
    40
    19
See reviews for
111
204
119
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Spent 3 nights at the hotel, in a single room. Room was clean and nice, small but enough for 1 person.

Staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was varied and nice.

Location was optimum: close to train station, buses and metro, but also close to shopping and destinations within the city center.

Highly recommended for everybody. I also saw the family rooms, and they looked very nice.

Room Tip: Chose a room in upper levels, with room towards the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erlend B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment after your stay here at Thon Hotel Terminus. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our location convenient and close to public transport, shopping, and other destinations. We welcome you back to our establishment upon your next trip to Oslo.

Kind regards,

Trine Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Madelen provided outstanding customer service. She greeted us in the most genuine way and went above to ensure our comfort.
The room was comfortable and well appointed. Additionally, the location was convenient to the train and metro stations as well as numerous dining options.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad to hear that you were happy with the service provided by our staff here at Thon Hotel Terminus, as well as with our location close to public transport and restaurants. We hope you will chose us on your next stay in Oslo as well.

Best regards,

Trine Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordland, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A small hotel - but fill your needs. Affordable, OK breakfast. Best location, short walk to airport expresstrain, common railway, tram, tube and busstation.
Short walk to the mainstreet Karl Johan.
Be sure to get a room in the backyard, if you stay in the front you dont' need a wakeupcall - the tram will get you up by 5am.

Room Tip: Get a room in the backyard or at the top floor. The streetnoise could be considerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your comments after your stay with us here at Thon Hotel Terminus. As you mention, we are convenientally placed in the center and close to all public transport and attractions. We also have several rooms towards the back of the hotel that are more quiet, so don't hesitate to ask for one of these on your next Oslo-trip.

Kind regards,

Trine Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed here on two occassions 7 days apart due to travel around Norway. On our 1st stay we requested air con and was placed on 2nd floor in family room which was a ittle cooler and would be great for a family as it comes out into a large play area with games for all ages. Requested a breakfast box but none made for us. On 2nd visit we were put on level 4 in a double bed room facing the street. As its hot here at the moment, windows need to be always left open which is no problem unless you dont have earplugs and eye patches. Ask reception for a fan as its needed with no aircon. All in all the best of the Thon hotels we have stayed in. Great location to everything including all forms of transport.Breakfast was ideal for a good start to the day which in my opinion was great. We agree with other reviews that it is a good value for many place to stay in Oslo where everything is expensive.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room and get one with big window that will open out to allow fresh air in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Thon Hotel Terminus. Although the summer has been unusually hot this year, we are glad to hear that you were happy with your room and the service we provided despite this. We hope you will choose us the next time you are sightseeing in Oslo as well.

Best regards,

Trine Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Overall this hotel has good location near train station, central city and mall. Room was nice, breakfast great, best so far on this Europe trip. A little pricey but this is Oslo! Negatives, there's a heat wave and the room is an oven! They did give us fans, no AC, most hotels don't have AC. We left the windows open then had a rain shower wet the bed. Front office was slow in helping, had to go down twice to get new sheets. A disco nearby also kept us awake. Won't return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wekims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here with us. The heat wave of the last few weeks has made the hotel rooms a lot hotter than usual, which of course is unfortunate. We are sorry about the inconveniences this brought you, but hope that this will not keep you from coming back to Norway again on another occation.

Kind regards

Trine Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good points: amazingly good value, very central and only 5 minutes easy walk from the railway and bus stations. Child friendly, excellent breakfast choice, free WI-FI, free coffee at reception, good shower. Reception staff are excellent, very informative and speak better English than reception staff in most London hotels.
Bad points: very hot room in July because of no air conditioning, safe in the room not working but we used the ones on the ground floor.
Overall: yes you will find more luxurious hotels in Oslo but you will not find many that offer this quality at this price. I will gladly stay here again when next we are visiting Oslo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md1mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thon_Hotel_Terminus, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments after your stay with us here at Thon Hotel Terminus. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the location and the service we provided. As you mention, the hotel is located very conveniently close to puclib transport, shopping and sightseeing, so we hope you will chose us the next time you are in Oslo as well.

Best regards,

Trine Svendsen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Thon Hotel Opera
#8 of 102 in Oslo
2,152 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Terminus

Property: Thon Hotel Terminus
Address: Stenersgata 10, Oslo 0184, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainvow Terminus)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#30 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Thon Hotel Terminus occupies a central location close to Oslo City shopping center and Oslo Central Station. Oslo's main street Karl Johan and other attractions are also within short distance of the hotel. At Thon Hotel Terminus you get comfortable accommodation in in the middle of Oslo city center. The hotel offers 154 comfortable and modern rooms, all rooms recently renovated. Because of its central location and high standards the hotel is well-suited for both business travelers and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing