We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed few times here and every time was very satisfied.
Hotel located between Opera and Central station. Old marina is near, also shopping centers. Just couple minutes from Karl Johan gate.
Rooms very clean, breakfast/dinner selection excellent and it is great view to Opera from restaurant. I liked sauna and small but good equipped gym - also with view to Opera. It is very nice to relax in after work day..
Staff in reception very helpful, no problems about later checkout - just inform reception and give room key to be rewritten.
Only beds are a bit too soft for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GudraVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    904
    154
    39
    20
See reviews for
252
686
234
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Best room of several hotels during 3 week European holiday. Lovely furnishings, comfy bed, designer bathroom. Unfortunately they are doing renovations so there is construction in the lobby and the 3rd floor restaurant, which has a wonderful view of the Opera House, is closed. We had to eat in a dreadful conference room on the 4th floor that looked like a boarding school dining room. Food wasn't great either - possibly because their kitchen is also being renovated? Not sure about that. Great location, the central station is directly behind hotel with main pedestrian shopping street very close.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is situated just next to Oslo Central Station and within easy walking distance of the shops and the stunning Opera House. I arrived just after noon having taken the train in from the airport. There was no problem checking in early. There was a good number of staff on duty at reception and delays checking in or out.

The room was small but cosy and well-furnished. There were coffee and tea making facilities, which you don't always get in Scandinavia. I didn't have breakfast but had an excellent meal in the restaurant, guided by advice from a very friendly and efficient waitress. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Perfect location for Norway in Nutshell tours, access to train station, and general sight seeing.

We did the round trip to Oslo 1 day nutshell tour - just had to rollout of bed / grab breakfast (served early enuf during the week) - walk across one "street" (parking area) and we were there for 6:30 am dept - and when we returned at 10:30 pm - same short return trek - convenient to Airport train etc. Just easy living:)

Room was spacious - we were in new arm of hotel - had warm tiles in the bath...ah...beautiful baths. Hotel sauna was nice and toasty (although we were there in July - i am sure much more appreciated in the winter months - but while in Norway we wanted to Sauna:).

They are doing some remodeling - and there is general road construction in the area - but honestly it was not an issue at all. Just be forewarned.

I highly recommend the place - just lovely stay - very nice staff / great breakfast.

logistical notes - no body lotion or hair conditioner in the room - so you might want to bring some along (they have shower gel).

Room Tip: new wing was great - cannot speak to older part of hotel - but seemed really nice from what i could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTMNSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Located right next to the train station with connections to the airport by bus or rail. Very good showers and nice breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for a single night before catching the train to Bergen, having arrived by train from Oslo airport. There is an entrance to the hotel directly across the taxi/bus drop off area in front of the station so we didn't have to carry our luggage any distance, which we appreciated. We'd booked and prepaid the room and breakfast via an agent, so check in and check out were smooth and rapid, and we were pleased with the welcoming and professional desk staff. Our room was in the new building and I think we must have been the first to stay in it because the door knob was so still we had to get someone to come up and help open the door the first time. Everything was impeccably clean and the arrangement of the room and bathroom modern and well planned for convenience and comfort. The beds, pillows and doonas were fresh and comfortable. Decor simple but a bit more flamboyant than one associates with Scandinavian design (turquoise velvet upholstery?), but that was sort of fun. The buffet breakfast was copious and good, and no one complained about our travel companions making themselves sandwiches to take on the train. Although there is quite a bit of construction going on in the vicinity, we were not aware of noise. There is nearby parking. We'd stay again, and highly recommend it for convenience and proximity to the train station.

Room Tip: The new wing requires a bit of a walk to get to the rooms and from the rooms to breakfast, so ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Located a 2-min walk from the railway station. Small but functional room, comfortable bed, desk space, coffee maker, impeccable complimentary WiFi, friendly staff, excellent breakfast (included). There is a gym, but I didn't try it. It can get a bit noisy in the morning after the construction starts. It would be nice to have a safe in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
777 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 100 in Oslo
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Property: Thon Hotel Opera
Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.O. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing