We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, good location”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed in the Thon Opera for a week in July while attending the university. The location was easily accessible, Get the bus from the airport and then go across the bridge to the train station and exit the station towards the main taxi area and the hotel is located to the left of the walkway up to the roof of the opera house. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed was incredibly comfortable, and free wifi with a great quick reception!
Breakfast was really good, a great choice of both cooked and continental and the view looks across onto the opera house, though there is quite a lot of roadworks happening in the area, that take away from the view a little.
The hotel location is in close proximity to the main shopping area and within walking distance to the main sights of oslo. The tourist office is just outside the train station as are the trams.

If I return to Oslo I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights to attend a business meeting in the city and indeed; access to the hotel from the train station was not too difficult but more hereafter.
Check in and out is very quick and effective; staff is very friendly.

There are roadworks going on around the hotel causing some deviations and there is no direct access into the hotel from the parking garage, at least we could not find it; so, a bit of a longer walk outside and somewhat dirty shoes, but maybe we followed the wrong track.

What I particularly did not like was the walk to and from the hotel at night crossing the central station with all sort of crowd you do not want to engage with. During day time there is no issue, but at night It does not feel safe, and it is not, according to my Norwegian colleagues.

The hotel itself is quite new; the lobby has a very contemporary decor so you would expect that to continue into the rooms and hallways, but not. The rooms have a classic maritime like decor and frankly the hallways are very uninviting and unpleasant areas.

I had an economy room and apart it from being tiny, it was also quite expensive; it must be the location for which I think the hotel is charging the prices that they do; but the price quality ratio is off.
The beds are good quality; the room is clean; and the bathroom as big as a post stamp; but clean as well. The storage capacity of luggage is, because of this particular room size, under par. It is smart however that they managed to fit all the luxury into the room because it contains all you need. A press, coffee maker, mini bar, it's all there except for space.
The hotel offers extensive breakfast with a good assortment of food; it is a bit crowded perhaps and offers self service only.

The area around the hotel at night is a disturbing factor and the price for the economy room is not so economy. Other hotels in the area are also charging high so there is not much option and that is why I am having a bit of a double feeling over this hotel. Maybe a regular room will provide a good stay; not the economy room at least.

Room Tip: Avoid the economy room; it is tiny really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Only one overnight here while attending an Oslo business meeting. Very accessible as it's only a few steps from one of the larger train stations (Airport 20min. on the regular train - a few minutes faster on the express). Centrally located for those looking to explore the city by foot - it's also only a stones throw from the harbor. There are probably rooms with very nice views (this may change soon as it seems a library building is being constructed between the hotel and the harbor - the building site really detracts from the front entrance of the hotel..) but I only had a view of an enclosed courtyard. Although I really only saw the room to sleep, it was very narrow although nicely furnished/decorated - probably not suitable however for claustrophobics! Service at check-in and check-out was very pleasant and efficient. Friendly receptionists with a nice sense of humour! The highlight was the morning's breakfast buffet - fabulous spread with almost anything you could desire for breakfast. I was told by some natives that this hotel is considered among the best in Oslo for it's breakfast. Also a terrific view of the harbor while dining! Although the room was not cheap by European standards, I had expected it to cost more considering the all-around prices in Oslo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here one during a work related conference.
Location could not be better. Two minutes walking from the train station and the airport express train taking you to Oslo Airport Gardermoen in about 20 minutes.
In the front of the hotel you have the Opera house (hence the name of the hotel ;) ).
Food was great, both breakfast and lunch. Dinner was a disaster. We had a traditional Norwegian Christmas dinner and it was the worst I've had, ever! Strange when thinking of how good breakfast and lunch was.
Room was clean and tidy, but the location was right above a smokers patio so early in the morning, about 0600, I had smoke in my room.. could they please give these rooms to smokers!?
Otherwise service was excellent!
Due to the excellent location and mostly good food I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the smokers patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for one brief night on our trip through Norway. We didn't interact much with the service folks, but what interaction we did have was polite and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean, if a bit small. It is located conveniently right next to the central train station and within walking distance to a lot of shopping, restaurants and the royal palace. The breakfast was one of the better ones we've had, they had a fresh squeezed orange juice machine which was delicious. We enjoyed our nights sleep here and would recommend it to others.

Beds: clean and comfortable
Shower: excellent, lots of pressure and plenty of temperature
Coffee: in the restaurant they have a coffee machine and a pod espresso machine. The coffee was ok and the espresso was pretty good.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank buenpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for just about a week - the breakfast is GREAT - lots of items to choose from and very fresh. Internet access was good, very clean and well kept. Location is great - very central to a lot of things in Oslo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vexter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This Hotel sits adjacent to the station . It's Scandinavia so expect cool, minimalist themes and a clinical atmosphere , but newer rooms have a lot to appeal , and It feels like an oasis in a hectic city. Recommended for value and convenience but don't expect much more, Norway separates you from your bank balance at a rapid rate.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank RollerCoaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#8 of 103 in Oslo
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
434 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £135 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing