We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for a romantic weekend in a superior room with a double bed, sofa and two chairs. The room also has a veranda, but we satyed in winter so we did not use it. Beautiful view of the opera house. Large bathroom, but you can tell the room needs some renovation.
Very nice brekfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    872
    152
    39
    18
See reviews for
244
660
231
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Level Contributor
276 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very well placed, near everything. The design of the lobby is very interesting (even if you don't sleep in the lobby ...). Talking about sleeping, rooms are nice and well equipped (lots of plugs), clean, but not very large. But you're in Scandinavia, rooms never are large ... Furnitures of the room doesn't fit with the design of the lobby. Given the size of the room, it could be more design-orientated, minimalist but comfortable would be great.
Last but not least, extra point for the heating floor in the bathroom, and the breakfast is absolutely amazing.
Great place. I'll come back, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovemasterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel which will have stunning views over Oslo fjord, once the building work outside is finished. Handy for the central station, metro and shopping areas. Good sized rooms, reasonable bar and excellent restaurant that does a substantial breakfast in the mornings.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malc-H-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Upon arrival in Oslo, we took the Flytoget directly from the airport into the main train station of Oslo (Oslosentralstajon). The Thon Hotel Opera was located right next to the train station, making it very easy to get to with all of our luggage.

As soon you walk in, you can tell the hotel is very modern, but with a classic feel. The lobby is beautiful and it has different areas that are perfect for bringing in quick-to-eat food or just sitting down and relaxing to play cards.

Each morning, a complimentary, full buffet breakfast is served and this was by far the highest quality breakfast we received during our time in Norway. The baked pancakes were especially unique and delicious, as well as the freshly squeezed orange juice.

The staff was quite helpful whenever we had any questions about the hotel or Oslo. At one point we found our room to be a little bit cold and within 2 minutes they had a portable space heater brought up to our room.

Our room was quite spacious, especially for European standards and the bed was very comfortable. The room also had an excellent wi-fi connection.

Overall, this hotel was an excellent choice for the quality of the room, the service of the staff and the location inside of Oslo and we'd recommend it to all visitors to Norway's capitol city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed in Thon Opera during a week visit while attending a conference. The location is just in–front of Opera house and accessible though overhead walking bridge. The hotel has very friendly front desk staff. I enjoyed the breakfast with variety of options that encompasses vegetarian. Commutation is very easy as hotel is situated next to Oslo central. Overall, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskanLandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed in the Thon Opera for a week in July while attending the university. The location was easily accessible, Get the bus from the airport and then go across the bridge to the train station and exit the station towards the main taxi area and the hotel is located to the left of the walkway up to the roof of the opera house. The hotel staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed was incredibly comfortable, and free wifi with a great quick reception!
Breakfast was really good, a great choice of both cooked and continental and the view looks across onto the opera house, though there is quite a lot of roadworks happening in the area, that take away from the view a little.
The hotel location is in close proximity to the main shopping area and within walking distance to the main sights of oslo. The tourist office is just outside the train station as are the trams.

If I return to Oslo I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights to attend a business meeting in the city and indeed; access to the hotel from the train station was not too difficult but more hereafter.
Check in and out is very quick and effective; staff is very friendly.

There are roadworks going on around the hotel causing some deviations and there is no direct access into the hotel from the parking garage, at least we could not find it; so, a bit of a longer walk outside and somewhat dirty shoes, but maybe we followed the wrong track.

What I particularly did not like was the walk to and from the hotel at night crossing the central station with all sort of crowd you do not want to engage with. During day time there is no issue, but at night It does not feel safe, and it is not, according to my Norwegian colleagues.

The hotel itself is quite new; the lobby has a very contemporary decor so you would expect that to continue into the rooms and hallways, but not. The rooms have a classic maritime like decor and frankly the hallways are very uninviting and unpleasant areas.

I had an economy room and apart it from being tiny, it was also quite expensive; it must be the location for which I think the hotel is charging the prices that they do; but the price quality ratio is off.
The beds are good quality; the room is clean; and the bathroom as big as a post stamp; but clean as well. The storage capacity of luggage is, because of this particular room size, under par. It is smart however that they managed to fit all the luxury into the room because it contains all you need. A press, coffee maker, mini bar, it's all there except for space.
The hotel offers extensive breakfast with a good assortment of food; it is a bit crowded perhaps and offers self service only.

The area around the hotel at night is a disturbing factor and the price for the economy room is not so economy. Other hotels in the area are also charging high so there is not much option and that is why I am having a bit of a double feeling over this hotel. Maybe a regular room will provide a good stay; not the economy room at least.

Room Tip: Avoid the economy room; it is tiny really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Property: Thon Hotel Opera
Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.O. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing