We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a short stay”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here on a Great Rail Journey from Norway to Lapland and this hotel is in a great position. it's right opposite the station ( a short walk). It's also very close to buses and trams, just a short walk away also. Near to the marina, which at the moment has a lot of building work going on. We had a lovely "old" fashioned looking room overlooking the sea on the 6th Floor, (don't go any lower), the bathroom was spotless like the bedding, lovely!! The restaurant was spotless and dinner very good, also the breakfast, there was so much to choose from it was lovely!
The reception staff were very friendly and always there to help with information around Oslo center, and the "sights" to see.

Room Tip: Don't go on the lower floors for your rooms, noisy and if you go higher and ask for a room overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flower1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location right next to the station whose forecourt it shares. But it does not feel like a typical station hotel being pretty quiet and with no frenetic activity. Access by road is not over easy due to enormous road re-organisation all around. These works do not however hinder the rail or foot passenger.
The public areas are overlarge - in particular the check-in desk is in a massive atrium with little to alleviate the starkness of it. Typically of modern hotels in Norway, the room corridors are very wide to accommodate the outward opening doors. This means that the rooms are correspondingly smaller. Having said that our room was nicely and warmly furnished with everything we needed there. The bathroom was fine and towels and bed linen new and spotless.
We were travelling with a group and were given a group meal in the large restaurant. This was only OK - a little short on quantity and missing refinement (some form of sauce on the roast duck would have been welcome). But, the breakfast buffet was excellent, enormous variety and kept topped up.
All in all we were pretty well satisfied. I would just suggest that you go out to have dinner

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spent one night here. It's right by the train platform - couldn't be more convenient for arriving in Oslo. Our room was ready for us even though we were hours ahead of check-in time - always appreciated by weary travelers who have been flying all night. The room, while not luxurious, was a good size by European standards. We had plenty of room for our two large duffle bags and carry-ons. The bathroom tile floor was heated which was a very nice feature. And the bed was comfy.

As mentioned by others, the breakfast was excellent in both quality and variety of choices including made-to-order omelets. The hotel is also conveniently located for exploring Oslo.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

In an relatively expensive country and city my weekend stay was an absolute bargain at around £60/night including breakfast.

I had a single room although it was double sized and it was absolutely quiet, I didn't hear a sound all the time I was in the room.

The hotel is clean and modern and breakfast was absolutely superb.

Staff were professional and friendly and of course fluent in English, standard it seems for the Nordic countries.

Location is fine, literally steps away from the Central Station and the Airport Express Train terminal and opposite the impressive Opera House.

No negatives, wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: No room tip but exit from the South doors of the Central Station which are by the Flytoget ticket sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel was clean with helpful, friendly staff. Although the rooms were not in a particular style of decor, it was very large. The dining area was bright and modern with a great choice of food for the breakfast buffet. Best of all, the hotel is ideally located near the train station, the Opera House and other sites. At the time of my visit, the front entrance of the hotel was being renovated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABucketLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is conveniently located between the Opera House and the railway station and despite the dull rather off-putting exterior, the inside is modern and clean. Our room was overlooking the square next to the railway station and more than met our expectations. A good buffet breakfast set us up for the day. Tea & coffee-making facilities were in the room along with a mini-bar. There was an ice machine along the corridor, and for those wanting to keep fit, there was a small gym. To sum up, a comfortable hotel and although nothing special, we would definitely be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for a romantic weekend in a superior room with a double bed, sofa and two chairs. The room also has a veranda, but we satyed in winter so we did not use it. Beautiful view of the opera house. Large bathroom, but you can tell the room needs some renovation.
Very nice brekfast buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#8 of 102 in Oslo
914 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £127 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing