We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is right next door to Central station in Oslo, and just a hop skip and a jump from the fast airport train. The rooms are unremarkable but clean. Tea, coffee & Wi-Fi are included. The bathroom has no bench space and the shower is over the bath. Towels are thick but toiletries few. Beds are comfortable but rooms could do with thicker curtains to block out the late sun. Breakfast is wonderful with a wide variety of everything, including gluten free articles, whole fruit, cut fruit, lots of variety of yoghurt and breakfast breads. A great array of cheese and cold cuts and huge variety of hot dishes. It was a lot better than some 5 star breakfasts I have encountered. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 night here. The reception is very Nice with an exclusive feel. The rooms Are average in their design, But clean and tidy.
Good location for tourists and business travellers, as the AirPort train is nearby.
The breakfast is amazing, make sure to try it!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Martinho89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a group. Good location. Adequate room overlooking station. Quite hot. Breakfast good. Evening meal on arrival probably the worst meal I've ever been offered in a hotel ever! Thank goodness I found somewhere really good to eat the following evening.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MrW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Whilst a little more than a shackle this is a fantastic hotel located in a perfect location. The hop on hop off bus or ferry are great options to see the sites and with the central train ans bus station within 50 metres of the hotel this just further adds to the convenience. The T-metro is a further 80 or so metres and that should cover almost all you travel needs around Oslo. The hotel is modern with excellent facilities. Breakfast, included in our rate was a great option with a great view of the Harbour. Significant construction works on the road between the hotel and the Opera did not interfere with our enjoyment or the operation of the hotel.

Room Tip: On the top floor we were very quiet and no construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_R2600-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at Thon Opera, we had a room with a balcony over looking the Opera House, it was fantastic to sit out and watch the world go by.. It is located only a short walk away from the main shopping street.. Staff were very helpful and we enjoyed the variety at the breakfast buffet.. Location beside the train station is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I visited this hotel for a combined business and holiday trip. Arrived late on a saturday, so the short 2-3 minute walk from the Airport Express train was excellent. I was met by a well-staffed reception, with gentle and service minded people. Due to my Gold membership I was upgraded to the best available type of room in my category, quite pleased with that.

My room was in the "new part" so I had to take the underground walkway to the elevator. The room was bright, clean and the bathroom was equipped with a set of soap, shampoo and conditioner.

A nice desk, and free wifi with adequate speed made it easy to work from the hotel room, and the TV have the possibility to connect a pc or tablet (bring your own HDMI-cable).

The breakfast is great, lots of choices of both hot and cold, good coffee and nice staff.

The hotel have a restaurant and a cafe. I did not use these, so I cannot rate them.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Oslo. There are cheaper hotels, but the location is excellent, the service is good, and it was a real nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestC0astTrav3ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in Thon Hotel Opera for two nights during my stopover in Oslo. It offers great location - right next to the Oslo Central Train station, which is also in the center of the city. The king's palace is just 10-15 minutes of walk from the hotel.

During my time there they were renovating the front access so the hotel was mostly accessible through the side entrance - which is closer to the train station anyway.

Hotel offers has friendly staff that helps you with your questions and arrange the staying for you. The breakfast is great with great variety of foods to choose from. It is not the cheapest hotel in the city, but certenty offers a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CirilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#9 of 102 in Oslo
899 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £129 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing