We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY practical location!”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Located 30 meters from the Central Station in Oslo, I think this hotel is perfect! Our room looked out onto the Oslo Opera House and the port. Lovely modern room with all the amenities. What I also really liked - a nice touch - was the gorgeous opera music playing on the flat screen TV when you came into the room! I'd definitely stay here again. Took about 15-20 minutes max to walk down to the main port area. The breakfast buffet was great too! No complaints whatsoever! If you're flying into the city and catching the express train in, it's super handy, and also if you're arriving from or leaving for Bergen by train, for instance.

Room Tip: Although the opera side rooms are probably a little better, I think they're all OK, actually. Th...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,200)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Opera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very convenient to rail station. I only had a single room which was small but totally adequate. Very nicely appointed. Staff efficient and helpful. Dined in the hotel - very interesting and wide range of foods available - breakfast also very good with more than adequate range to choose from. Wines very expensive but that is common to all of Scandinavia - due to their tax levels I was told. Can recommend. Only downside - nothing to do with the hotel - is the extensive redevelopments taking place just outside between the hotel and the harbour front. When this mess is finished in 2017 I was told - the hotel will lose its views of the harbour and the magnificent opera house which will be a shame

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank JohnandMariangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

a very comfortable hotel in excellent location with welcoming efficient staff. Suitable for tourists, including groups, and business travellers. Easy access from the central train station. Breakfast is buffet style and can be busy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
1  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Arriving by train, the hotel is 2 minutes walk from the platform. Very modern and stylish there is a good lobby/bar area with plenty of seating. Rooms were a little small but very comfortable. the buffet dinner was really good with some unusual and very good quality food. There was even ice cream and smarties for the kids. Breakfast the next morning was equally good with a chef on hand for special requests such as omeletes.

The hotel looks out to the new opera house but the whole area outside was still under construction, which necessitated a detour to visit. Despite this, there was no noticeable noise from the works.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sussex_wanderers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The opera house was a pleasant one night's stay. It's close to the train station and airport. The staff, rooms, and bathrooms are nice. The breakfast buffet was very good, however the dinner was just ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spent four nights at this hotel in July 2014 and was satisfied overall. I could tell it is a great hotel in general - excellent location, nice and clean rooms with free Wifi, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, there is currently a considerable amount of construction going on both inside the hotel and around it. The fitness center on the fourth floor is being remodeled, and there were construction noises (drilling and hammering) between 8am and 5pm. It sounded like the drilling took place right below my room on the fifith floor, and it woke me up in the morning, when I would have liked to sleep in and overcome my jetlag. Once work on the fitness is complete, I can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Located adjacent to the central railway in Oslo you literally walk across the road after an easy 15minute ride on the train from the airport. Rooms are clean and spacious and despite significant development around the hotel there was no extraneous noise. Very easy access to the city centre where major attractions are within walking range. Booking online well in advance entitled me to significant savings in a very expensive city. Breakfasts included and were excellent. Staff at reception and rooms were most helpful. Eating dinner at the hotel at night was unsatisfactory with staff uninterested and the food mediocre. Suggest you eat at one of the many restaurants in the city. The Fram museum showing the ships and a titles of Nansen and Amundsen was brilliant.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room on level 5 of the new section facing the city. With extensive development work pro...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#9 of 102 in Oslo
856 reviews
Grand Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oslo
339 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £131 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing