We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe 3.5, but give it a 4 anyway”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were on a tour and stayed one night, continuing with a cruise to Copenhagen next evening. Great location, very friendly staff. Very central, close to transportation and tourist attractions and able to walk around the city easily.
Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices.
Service people very helpful.
Lobby big, service people held our luggage until cruise that evening without any problems.
Nice to have hot water heater so we can have tea in our room
Very quiet room, clean.

What prevented this hotel from getting an Excellent:
You need a small stepladder to climb into the shower, which can be dangerous without a bathmat.
Using one of the two computers, system crashed on me; asked for help, and while using the other computer, that also crashed. However, it did come back quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a business hotel in an excellent central location. It is best for an overnight as the single rooms are only two meters wide and not a place you would want to spend much time other than to sleep. They have all the conveniences, it is just compact. The location, steps from the Central Train Station and Bus Station make it great. The Airport Bus connections are next door as well. Breakfast is good with made to order omelets and a full buffet. When the construction at the new opera area is all completed the view from the 3rd floor breakfast room will be spectacular. The concierge desk is frequently closed which puts extra pressure on the front desk to respond to questions to which they often do not have an answer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nice hotel and my location of choice when visiting Oslo. Nice and central to be able to walk around the city but have the convenience to catch a train to Sandvika or the airport without any fuss or expensive taxi ride. Scaninavian style so small and basic rooms but thats local culture and practice and should not be taken as a criticism. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights and was given a room in the new addition to the hotel. The room was modern, clean and quiet. Our room faced the train station but we didn't hear any noise at all. Beds good too. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. I'd recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LM77WashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located across the opera house and very close to all tourist attractions in Oslo. The rooms are ok but a bit outdated. It has nice air conditioning in the room. The best thing is the excellent breakfast. A lot of fresh juices and even a machine to make your own fresh orange juice. Also a lot of choices for people with food intolerances. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My room was small and with no cold A/C it was a little warm during the day with the high 70 temperatures.

However, the staff were excellent (especially Rita). The hotel is adjacent to the train station which has a mall for all your needs. The major city buses and trams stop nearby. A great deal of things are within a mile walk and therefore no need to mess with transportation. Plenty of restaurants nearby as the hotel selection is good for a night or two.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
1  Thank dtm418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Located 30 meters from the Central Station in Oslo, I think this hotel is perfect! Our room looked out onto the Oslo Opera House and the port. Lovely modern room with all the amenities. What I also really liked - a nice touch - was the gorgeous opera music playing on the flat screen TV when you came into the room! I'd definitely stay here again. Took about 15-20 minutes max to walk down to the main port area. The breakfast buffet was great too! No complaints whatsoever! If you're flying into the city and catching the express train in, it's super handy, and also if you're arriving from or leaving for Bergen by train, for instance.

Room Tip: Although the opera side rooms are probably a little better, I think they're all OK, actually. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £142 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing