We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no better location. Excellent breakfast. Nothing to complain.”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“There is no better location. Excellent breakfast. Nothing to complain.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I had the cheapest room they have and of course the room is rather small. Apart from that and the fact you have almost no control of AC (it was NOT an issue), I can only find qualities to this hotel.
The room was made everyday (and early) and was very clean. The shower was good and the room has everything you need. There is a minibar, TV, phone, thing to put your suitcase on, desk, two chairs, several lamps in the rooms.
The breakfast room was lovely with flowers on each table, nice chairs and tables and the view on the fjord. Note there is an outside terrace on the 4th floor with the same view.
The breakfast was incredible and I know what I am talking about for having tried lots of hotels. The quantity and quality of products was great, they had scrambled eggs and things like that (with several men working there). Staff was very attentive and filled the croissants and other food regularly even minutes after breakfast was about to end.
The location... The train station (Oslo S) is the building next to the hotel. The bus to the airport is even closer! We are talking about 10 meters.
There are 20 taxies in front of the door. (It was not a nuisance.)
A commercial centre (Oslo City) and of course all shops you would find next to or in the biggest train station in the country are less than 5 minutes of walking.
Next to the hotel is also the opera so you have no excuse not to walk over its roof!
I was not there for business but the hotel has more conference rooms than you could think about.
Disabled or physically challenged people or any people with heavy luggage will appreciate that they can go from their train or taxi to their room without having to climb or descend stairs. They have rooms for allergics, rooms suited for two first kinds of people I described, and I think a small bunch of smoking rooms. Always ask before booking of course.
Despite being so close to the train station the place is actually very quiet.
I've been woken up early in the morning by people in the hall but I think they were customers unrespectful of other people's sleep, and you can't blame the hotel for that...

Note the door to the room locks itself two minutes after you put your card or open it from the inside. For more safety you can put your card again after the door is closed from the outside and it will lock immediately.

When I was there the gym and sauna were in renovation and they were beginning an immense construction between the hotel and the opera. That could mean more noise and less view in the coming months but the pros in this hotel outweight the cons by far and you should probably not be bothered by this.

They kept my luggage in the safest way.

I would stay there again for sure and recommend it to friends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    943
    160
    42
    21
See reviews for
267
728
246
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel has everything going right. Location is excellent, 2 minutes from the train station, right next to shopping, easy walking distance to Akershus castle, royal palace, museums and the harbor. Very helpful staff. The buffet breakfast was phenomenal, best i have seen in Europe. Something for every taste, eggs made to order, fish, veggies, breads, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fruit, even smoothies. Nothing was missing.

Strongly recommend to anyone staying in Oslo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay here. Got a very nice upgrade as GHA platinum member.
Only negative is that the reception first said it is ok to pay the pay-tv with bonus points, but when i checked out it turns out that it is not possible.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived by train at the end of a tour around Norway so it was a short walk to the hotel adjacent to the station. Check-in was fast and efficient, staff were friendly. The room was small but cluttered with too much furniture but the bathroom was fine. As we were only staying one night the room suited our purpose. Breakfast was available early which was good as we had an early train to catch and there was plenty of choice, in other words the usual extensive Norwegian hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veedee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Thon Opera, as the name suggests, is a hotel that faces the opera house of Oslo. Accordingly, the restaurant and function rooms are aptly named after famous operas. The room has a nice view of the opera house and so does the restaurant on level 3. It is located directly across from the main railway station so it's very convenient for guests arriving or departing by train. Karl Johan Gate is a 5 minute walk away. Staff are pleasant and helpful. There was major construction going on in front of the hotel at the time of my stay but that was not a major inconvenience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kah Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We got out of our train and saw our hotel just beside the station making the access very easy with our luggages.
First impression when you enter is Incredible, big hall, modern and nicely decorated.
Then welcome by an efficient, sympathic and very helpful staff.
Rooms are very good, but look a bit old and making sort of strange mix with the good impression when you arrive in the main hall. But, anyway, even if it looks old, rooms are very good and beds are comfortable. Free Wifi access.
Breakfast, as many other traveller noticed is very very good and has a wonderful choise to make it a good beginning of a walking day in Oslo. By nice weather, fantastic view on the opera and the sea, making it an even better morning !
Access to tram and subway lines so as the boat lines very easy and main attraction at walking distances.
We spent 2 times 2 nights there and could leave two of our heavy luggages during our trip to Bergen without any problem and free, what a good service !
Would definitively go back there next time I will be visiting Oslo.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were on a tour and stayed one night, continuing with a cruise to Copenhagen next evening. Great location, very friendly staff. Very central, close to transportation and tourist attractions and able to walk around the city easily.
Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices.
Service people very helpful.
Lobby big, service people held our luggage until cruise that evening without any problems.
Nice to have hot water heater so we can have tea in our room
Very quiet room, clean.

What prevented this hotel from getting an Excellent:
You need a small stepladder to climb into the shower, which can be dangerous without a bathmat.
Using one of the two computers, system crashed on me; asked for help, and while using the other computer, that also crashed. However, it did come back quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 102 in Oslo
823 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Property: Thon Hotel Opera
Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing