We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Oslo 2014”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Visit to Oslo 2014”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Location, location and location. Fantastic location next to the train station and Metro. You can use Airport Express train from here and save on ridiculous cab fares. A great breakfast to boot. One negative - no safes in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Opera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank BashHasham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    942
    160
    41
    21
See reviews for
266
726
246
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The rating hotel has is not right.
1. It's 2002 year construction very old. Rooms are in bad shape.
2. Receptionist doesn't care about you as a guest. They smile bud don't do anything to help you and enjoy stay.
3. Common corridor is just awful. You feel you are in a hospital.
4. There's a small new building with a nice rooms the hotel sales then but put you in a old ones.
5. Hair on a sheets from previous guests.
6. Big construction is going on nearby. You get up at 8 am becouse you bed starts to shaking.( but its a good side though)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 311_12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here last week whilst on business in Oslo, only had a single room so it was small but had everything you need. No noise very quite hotel, great breakfast choice and nice social areas. The Hotel is right outside the train station which is great if coming in on the airport express train to Oslo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Oslo, just a few steps from the railway station.
Modern, clean and very good breakfast.
A hotel I really can recommend, actually I have stayed here several times - and will do again.

Room Tip: Book room with seaview - really nice:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siv Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is an old review but better late than never. We stayed here last March 2014. You cant ask for a better location than Thon hotel opera. Our rm was big, facing Oslo Opera house, my son got all the big sofabed for himself, cable tv, the bathroom amenities is impressive. Its not like in the other hotels where you find a soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower abd that's all. In this hotel no, they have special bottles for shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower gel, etc. They provide you with toothbrush and toothpaste, shower cap, sewing kit, bedroom slippers, bathrobes, etc. The breakfast was superb! Id been to lots of hotels in Norway but nothing compared to Thon hotel Opera when it comes to breakfast selection.
I highly recommended this hotel for those who travel by business or pleasure. As of now there is a road construction in front of the hotel but when this is finish, this place will be the best in Oslo.
So if you're dropping by Oslo, stay at Thon hotel Opera! You wont regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very conveniently located hotel. We took the speed train from airport which took about 20 mins to the main train station in Oslo and the hotel was right across the street when we came out of station. Located very close to the Opera building which is one of the main landmark in Oslo. A short walk takes you to the Karl Johan Gate. Thon recommended Indian restaurant Mr India which was excellent. We had the best aloo tikki in Mr India. The hop on hop off bus stop is right across the street. The only problem, which is applicable to almost all hotels is non availability of air conditioning.

Overall good service & perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlajmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I had the cheapest room they have and of course the room is rather small. Apart from that and the fact you have almost no control of AC (it was NOT an issue), I can only find qualities to this hotel.
The room was made everyday (and early) and was very clean. The shower was good and the room has everything you need. There is a minibar, TV, phone, thing to put your suitcase on, desk, two chairs, several lamps in the rooms.
The breakfast room was lovely with flowers on each table, nice chairs and tables and the view on the fjord. Note there is an outside terrace on the 4th floor with the same view.
The breakfast was incredible and I know what I am talking about for having tried lots of hotels. The quantity and quality of products was great, they had scrambled eggs and things like that (with several men working there). Staff was very attentive and filled the croissants and other food regularly even minutes after breakfast was about to end.
The location... The train station (Oslo S) is the building next to the hotel. The bus to the airport is even closer! We are talking about 10 meters.
There are 20 taxies in front of the door. (It was not a nuisance.)
A commercial centre (Oslo City) and of course all shops you would find next to or in the biggest train station in the country are less than 5 minutes of walking.
Next to the hotel is also the opera so you have no excuse not to walk over its roof!
I was not there for business but the hotel has more conference rooms than you could think about.
Disabled or physically challenged people or any people with heavy luggage will appreciate that they can go from their train or taxi to their room without having to climb or descend stairs. They have rooms for allergics, rooms suited for two first kinds of people I described, and I think a small bunch of smoking rooms. Always ask before booking of course.
Despite being so close to the train station the place is actually very quiet.
I've been woken up early in the morning by people in the hall but I think they were customers unrespectful of other people's sleep, and you can't blame the hotel for that...

Note the door to the room locks itself two minutes after you put your card or open it from the inside. For more safety you can put your card again after the door is closed from the outside and it will lock immediately.

When I was there the gym and sauna were in renovation and they were beginning an immense construction between the hotel and the opera. That could mean more noise and less view in the coming months but the pros in this hotel outweight the cons by far and you should probably not be bothered by this.

They kept my luggage in the safest way.

I would stay there again for sure and recommend it to friends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 102 in Oslo
822 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Property: Thon Hotel Opera
Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing