We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option 4 a busy Traveler”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Opera only 1 night. Small, European style rooms. Basic bathroom and an average view. I would normally rate it as 3 stars, but the stellar service and great breakfast make up for the shortfall in accommodations. I would stay here again. Right next to the Central Station which was convenient for me since I flew out of Oslo airport. It take about 20 minutes to get to the airport.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ManhattanVasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a position. 100m from the train station, simple to wheel one,'s suitcase. Modern, bright with a super breakfast. As there is a lot of construction going on at the waters edge, it takes 10 mins to walk to the Opera house. When this is over it will take 2mins. to cross the new promenade.

Room Tip: appears to be no noise from the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed twice at Thon opera, Oslo. The location is extremely convenient, bang next to central station. All the attractions are within walking distance. We were lucky to have a good room overlooking the Opera house. The staff is extremely polite and courteous, ever ready to help.
Feel happy to recommend & would definitely stay again, if we visit Oslo

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subodhbaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is a one-minute walk from the train station. Everything we experienced here, from the staff helpfulness, to room cleanliness, to quality of meals (Frokost -- Ja!!!), to the close proximity to many places to see and experience are very high quality. Staff went out of there way to make out visits to Oslo very enjoyable. They stowed luggage for us after we checked out, and gave us "insider" info on what to see and where/how to travel around the city. I have no further need to look for other accommodations while in Oslo -- this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just back from 2 nights at the Thon Hotel Opera in Oslo. Superb location just a 2 minute walk from the train station, and with outstanding views of the thrillingly designed Opera House.

Rooms modern & functional. Excellent food at the buffet breakfast and dinner. Service sadly not as friendly as we experienced at our other hotels in Norway.

Be aware that major roadworks and other changes are currently taking place between the hotel and the Opera House, but that doesn't negate the location and other positive points.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMorris53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Right outside the train station. Staff is exceptional. They let us store luggage overnight while visited Flam even though we had checked out. Incredible view of the Opera House and waterfront. Walking distance to all the major spots. Breakfast is very good and makes up for the price of getting a meal in Oslo.

Room Tip: South facing rooms view the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fireandice2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived by the express train from the airport and discovered that the hotel is directly across from the train station. So convenient! Our check-in and check-out were fast and the staff was efficient and very friendly. We had a business room with a balcony that overlooked the opera house. Nice! The room was spotless and it was kept that way. The bathroom was huge but the tub could be a challenge for shorter people. It was very high and getting in and out of it was a bit difficult. The breakfast that was included was super with a huge selection and great quality. If we ever return to Oslo we will definitely stay at the Thon Hotel Opera.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MooreaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £145 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing