We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thon Hotel Opera
Nearby Hotels
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Scandic Victoria(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
US$203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$154
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,341)
Filter reviews
2,341 results
Traveller rating
1,084
1,017
173
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,084
1,017
173
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationbreakfast buffetexcellent locationnice hotelconvenient locationsingle roomnutshell tourgreat breakfastairport expressoslo fjordshort walkbusiness roommain stationhotel is locatedcity centreoslo passnice room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 2,341 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Opera only 1 night. Small, European style rooms. Basic bathroom and an average view. I would normally rate it as 3 stars, but the stellar service and great breakfast make up for the shortfall in accommodations. I would stay here again. Right next to the Central Station which was convenient for me since I flew out of Oslo airport. It take about 20 minutes to get to the airport.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ManhattanVasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a position. 100m from the train station, simple to wheel one,'s suitcase. Modern, bright with a super breakfast. As there is a lot of construction going on at the waters edge, it takes 10 mins to walk to the Opera house. When this is over it will take 2mins. to cross the new promenade.

Room Tip: appears to be no noise from the rooms
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed twice at Thon opera, Oslo. The location is extremely convenient, bang next to central station. All the attractions are within walking distance. We were lucky to have a good room overlooking the Opera house. The staff is extremely polite and courteous, ever ready to help.
Feel happy to recommend & would definitely stay again, if we visit Oslo

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subodhbaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is a one-minute walk from the train station. Everything we experienced here, from the staff helpfulness, to room cleanliness, to quality of meals (Frokost -- Ja!!!), to the close proximity to many places to see and experience are very high quality. Staff went out of there way to make out visits to Oslo very enjoyable. They stowed luggage for us after we checked out, and gave us "insider" info on what to see and where/how to travel around the city. I have no further need to look for other accommodations while in Oslo -- this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just back from 2 nights at the Thon Hotel Opera in Oslo. Superb location just a 2 minute walk from the train station, and with outstanding views of the thrillingly designed Opera House.

Rooms modern & functional. Excellent food at the buffet breakfast and dinner. Service sadly not as friendly as we experienced at our other hotels in Norway.

Be aware that major roadworks and other changes are currently taking place between the hotel and the Opera House, but that doesn't negate the location and other positive points.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMorris53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews