We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will ABSOLUTELY go back!!”
Review of Thon Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Opera
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will ABSOLUTELY go back!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have lived in Norway in the past but on this trip had another family member with me so I wanted a few nights in Oslo to show off the city. This hotel is the best for that. There is no noise whatsoever from the train station that is right next door. It takes maybe two minutes at the most to get there once you walk out the door of the hotel. It's right across from the beautiful Opera House and it's central location makes walking trips up Karl Johans gate easy. You're close to bus and tram stops so getting to see things like the Folkemuseum and Frogner Park is so easy. I think because of it's location it would be a great hotel for business too. The breakfast was beyond compare, if you weren't full when you left that was your problem. I will stay here again when I'm back in Oslo, no more staying at the Quality Hotel by Gardermoen since the location makes taking the airport express train so easy!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    919
    155
    41
    20
See reviews for
258
710
238
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Thon Hotel Opera in Oslo. Our room - and that's my only point of criticism - had kind of an "used" look, e.g. furniture was slightly chipped. However, cleanliness was good, bathroom is pretty nice and big, the beds were comfortable and the bedding very good.
Breakfast (buffet style) was truly great - bacon, scambled eggs, omelette, different kind of fruits and yoghurts, pancakes, waffles, cold cuts, norwegian specialities (fish, special kind of cheese..), different kinds of bread (including gluten-free), smoothies, a great variety of coffee, and lots more.
Location is very good - right next to the central station and very close to the tracks of the airport express train (flytoget). The main shopping street (Karl-Johans-Gata) is also very close. We also enjoyed the proximity to the opera house, which in my opinion is impressive even for those who are not the biggest fans of modern architecture. But to experience this building and the changing light and reflexions at different points of the day was really remarkable.

Despite being so close to the central station and with quite a lot of construction work going on in this area, our room on the 6th floor was very quiet. Wifi is free and we had a very good signal in our room. The staff at reception were nice and helpful, they even did the online check-in for our return flight for us and printed our boarding passes.

We had a very good stay at the Thon Hotel Opera. The price certainly was no bargain, but that propably reflects the very high level of prices in Oslo in general. If you are looking for a good stay at a central location with great breakfast, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and got a reasonably good rate of 1990NOK including breakfast. As I checked in a gentleman next to me was paying 1700 for 1 night so that made me feel a bit better.

The hotel is located right next to the Central Train Station which is a 20 minute ride from the airport. Although the train appears to be expensive at 170NOK each it is a lot cheaper than a taxi. The reception area is very large and is on the 1st floor - although you enter the hotel on the 2nd floor! Checkin was fast and efficient. We were directed to our room on the 9th floor. The corridors of the hotel look very utilitarian and like something from a factory rather than a hotel. The room was VERY small - one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. But it had almost everything we needed.

Included in the room was a large TV with plenty of English speaking channels (throughout Oslo English is spoken by almost everyone and many have better English than native speakers!!). We had 2 single beds pushed together. On first look they appeared to only have a 3 inch mattress but the base was also sprung which made the bed very comfortable. The pillows were a loss to me though. I like firm pillows and the 2 on my bed were so soft that I needed to roll up a towel to act as a support. There was a mini fridge but unless you plan on selling your family into slavery I would suggest that you avoid it because of the cost.

The furniture was antique styled - although relatively new. There were lots of scratches on the woodwork, but given the small size of the room this is not surprising as it receives many knocks from suitcases. There is no SAFE in the room (they are available in reception) but this is a pity. We ended up carrying our passports with us around the city and hoped that the items remaining in the room were secure.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean and white with towels and toiletries supplied.

The room was air conditioned and comfortable. The views from the 9th floor were excellent. There are extensive roadworks taking place at the front of the hotel where a new tram system is being installed. The roadworks were noisy and could be heard from various partes of the hotel but did not effect us on the 9th floor.

Breakfast was superb. I'm not one for eating breakfast normally but because the city is SO expensive (think €17 for a Big Mac meal or €10 for a small bottle of beer) we decided to get up and go for breakfast. The breakfast was a buffet but it was very impressive with hot and cold "everything".

The Wi-Fi was adequate with a speed of about 2 MBps.

I would recommend the hotel - there are many, many hotels in Oslo, but this one is ideally located and was a great base.

Room Tip: Although the rooms at the front of the hotel have a great view out over the fjord and over the new O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room, and huge breakfast buffet, especially considering the price. Also, it was very convenient to the rail station and airport. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Been there for one night, in a single room, small, but comfy bed, slept perfectly. Quiet although next to the central station - which makes it great for those who come and go.
Great breakfast in the morning!
Very good wifi in the room.
Basically, for me, it was all that I wanted the the hotel delivered.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Radu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Opera only 1 night. Small, European style rooms. Basic bathroom and an average view. I would normally rate it as 3 stars, but the stellar service and great breakfast make up for the shortfall in accommodations. I would stay here again. Right next to the Central Station which was convenient for me since I flew out of Oslo airport. It take about 20 minutes to get to the airport.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanVasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

What a position. 100m from the train station, simple to wheel one,'s suitcase. Modern, bright with a super breakfast. As there is a lot of construction going on at the waters edge, it takes 10 mins to walk to the Opera house. When this is over it will take 2mins. to cross the new promenade.

Room Tip: appears to be no noise from the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#9 of 101 in Oslo
787 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
794 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Opera

Property: Thon Hotel Opera
Address: Dronning Eufemias gate 4 | P.o. 397, Oslo 0191, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oslo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#8 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Opera is a modern business hotel located centrally in Bjorvika in Oslo. The hotel has 480 rooms in different categories, fitness facilities, Scala Restaurant and Eufemia Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing