We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Thon Hotel Cecil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Cecil
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times whilst visiting Oslo. The hotel is in an excellent location, right in the centre of Oslo and within easy walking distance of all Oslo's central attractions. Rooms very clean and staff are friendly. The breakfast room is amazing with a good choice of food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewManston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

We have stayed in two hotels in Oslo. This hotel had a smaller room and cost slightly more, but the location of this hotel compensated for those issues. It is near the waterfront walking area, close to the transportation transfer point at the National Theater, and within walking distance of the train station. Note: Although the hotel's address is given as Stortingsgate 8, the entrance to the hotel is around the corner on Rosenkrantz Gate

The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. We had an outside room to get fresh air at night (the inside rooms are on an atrium), but we did not find the city noise to be excessive.

The breakfast buffet choices were superb. We concur in the positives cited in the other reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Small, somewhat impractical standard room with hall-stand ( no wardrobe) but with comfortable, soft beds.
Our streetside room was too noisy to sleep in with open window (as is often the case in city centers). Good airco, though, and dito breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobMMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

As other travelers have said, this hotel is very typical of other Thon hotels. I found it to be centrally located, very clean (immaculate, actually,) and comfortable. Free wireless, a fabulous breakfast buffet, and a handy umbrella in the room made my stay even more enjoyable. OK, the rain didn’t exactly please me, but having a sturdy, free, accessible umbrella cannot be minimized.

I was a single traveler and definitely got a room meant for a single – I haven’t slept in a twin bed in years! But it was comfortable and having only a twin bed in the room allowed for a desk and chair. It was all very functional. It had everything I could possibly need, and the color scheme and decor were soothing -- nice bonus!

Oslo is a small capital city (by American standards) and I found it very easy to explore Oslo’s sights from this hotel. There is a stop for the hop-on hop-off bus about two blocks away, there are subway and bus connections, and everything is clearly marked. Also, if you can’t find something or need advice, I found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLE_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for four nights, three at the beginning and one at the end of our ten day visit to Norway, in different rooms. Here are some impressions.

Pluses:
- Great location, no more than a few blocks from all the major attractions and plenty of fine restaurants.
- Excellent breakfast. The same every day but with enough variety to offer plenty of options. Rare for Norway: hot eggs.
- Free coffee in the lobby.
- Free WiFi throughout the hotel.
- Great reception staff, knowledgeable, very accommodating.
- They were happy to store a suitcase for us for a week, safely and securely. Saved us a trip to the train station lockers and lots of hassle.
- Comfortable beds.
- There’s a convenience store a block away (toward the harbor) with basic supplies and nice fresh sandwiches. Grab a lunch to eat in the park.

Minuses:
- Tiny showers with drain on the bathroom floor. Barely able to turn around, and impossible to avoid soaking the floor.
- Small rooms. Not enough room to keep suitcases open and avoid stepping over them. That seems always to be the case in Norway, or all of Scandinavia.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr-pinguini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed there in early Aug 2011. The rooms are your average scandinavian size but fully functional. Staff were jovial, and even gave us a take-away breakfast when we checked out early in the am. Very helpful. Cant say this enough: location, location, location. You are steps away from parliament, city hall, peace prize museum, waterfrony yo take you to viking ship museum and steps away from transport hub to take you to parks, etc. Train station is about a 15 minute walk away.

Breakfast was excellent, though the variety was limited. Go early.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xybercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Loved our stay in this hotel. Nice staff - comfortable and reasonably sized room, nicely decorated with kettle, nice TV comfortable beds, desk and armchair. Quiet. Towels were a bit small and the shower door let water out a bit, but the bathroom was nice. Open plan wardrobe a bit untidy as you walked back into your room and the lack of a safe was irritating, though the hotel felt safe and had good security such as having to use your room card to access the lift.
Best thing? The breakfast - really generous and a very nice space to eat it in - we were able to really fill up for a day's tourism . And the location couldn't have been better - within a stones throw of the water and the main musuems and sights including the Town Hall - we could pop back easily to the hotel for a couple of hours R & R after some very intensive tourism. Really appreciated the kettle as it is important to have somewhere to hang out in Norway due to the high prices. And the provision of an umbrella was very useful. Also the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We would definitely come back to this hotel or use this chain of hotels again.

Room Tip: our room was internal so no view of the street, we looked over the atrium breakfast area, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarrOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 102 in Oslo
934 reviews
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#60 of 102 in Oslo
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
1,052 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Cecil

Address: Stortingsgata 8 | Entrance Rosenkrantzgate, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £101 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Cecil 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre next to the Parliament you will find Thon Hotel Cecil. A few steps will bring you directly to Karl Johans Gate, Oslo's main street with a broad selection of stores. The hotel has a vast selection of restaurants and activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing