We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast ever”
Review of Thon Hotel Cecil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Cecil
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here during a weekend in Oslo, and this is by far the best breakfast I have ever enjoyed. Apart from the food hall being VERY cold, the experience was close to perfect. The staff working in the kitchens were also very welcoming to us. The location was perfect, the rooms were clean and the staff were really nice and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Marai E!
Thank you choosing Thon Hotel Cecil and for your fantastic feedback! We are so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast so much and also the rest of your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I often travel to Oslo and have found this "city-near" hotel! It has become my first choice among hotels in Oslo. It's very near the famous street -Karl Johan- right in the middle of Oslo City, and only 5-minutes walk from the big Railway Station. Always so nice! /Jorgen L

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
1  Thank Jorgen_Lundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Jorgen_Lundin!
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that we are your home away from home in Oslo. Thon Hotel Cecil has a prime location right in the middle of the city center. If you are arriving by Airport Express Train the Nationaltheatret Station is even closer to the hotel than the main station Oslo S.
We are looking forward welcoming you back at your hotel in Oslo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Had a brief and nice visit. Friendly staff and the hotel is in the middle of the capitol. On the other hand we experienced that the rooms were poorly sound isolated and the air was very dry. I'd recommend it for short stays.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Ruben M!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your lovely review. Thon Hotel Cecil has a prime location in the very heart of Oslo next to the Parliament.
Many guests are telling us that they are surprised how quiet it is despite the location in the middle of the city center. Most rooms are facing towards the atrium and they are very quiet. The hotel has a few rooms facing the streets and especially in the weekends you may hear the sound from the city as people are amusing themselves.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Cecil is a good value hotel in the city center a minute walk to Karl Johan and 3-4 minutes walk from Aker Brygge. I had a rom on 6th floor wich was very clean and quiet, bathroom is tiled with heated floor, the main room had a balanced temperature and good ventilation (fresh air after a nights sleep), comfortable bed and a desk.

The only thing I was missing was an electric outlet by the bed, since I use to charge my phone during night.

Room Tip: I had a room on 6th floor facing the atrium, it might be more quiet then the rooms facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niclas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Niclas A!

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your wonderful review after staying with us. We truly appreciate this.
As an advice from the Fire Brigade it is not recommended to charge the phone during the night since there is a risk for phone and chargers to be overheated and it can cause a fire. We advise our guest to follow this advice. We have an outlet in the desk for charging phones and other electrical devices.
We are looking forward to welcoming you next time you are going to Oslo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have stayed at Thon Cecil many times. And again this time it was nice to get here.
The location couldn't be better and the breakfast is awesome. Also it's nice that they call before arrival to ask for arrival time - sometimes I might forget that I should ask for later arrival.
The rooms are nice and clean and the service is always good. This is my favourite Thon hotel. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Travellinn77!
Thank you very much for staying with us again and also reviewing us again. We truly appreciate that you are one of our many repeat visitors. Our wonderful team are doing their outermost for give all guest a pleasant stay in the heart of Oslo. We are looking forward to welcoming you again many times in the future also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Thon Hotel Cecil in Oslo is a perfectly located hotel for the tourist who wants to see the important sight seeing attractions in Oslo. The Parliament is close to the hotel. The Karl Johan Gate is also close by as are the National Theatre and the Stortinget metro station. Just outside the hotel there are a number of restaurants and attractions. The hotel offers many freebies such as free breakfast and free high speed Internet access. The hotel serves hot drinks free 24/7 in the lobby. The hotel is considered as an environmentally friendly hotel. The service level is high in this hotel and the staff is trained rather well. The staff goes out of the way to serve. The hotel organized a service it could not provide through a sister hotel. The breakfast bag is a boon to the early flight catcher.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Joanna H!
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for staying with us. We appreciate this very much. Thon Hotel Cecil has a prime location in the city center next to Stortinget. Most of Oslo’s wide selection of restaurants, sights, attractions, entertainment, shopping and public transportation is just outside our doorstep. The hotel is ideal both for business and leisure travelers.
We have fantastic staffs that do their outermost for our guest.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and all your friends and families at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Location is superb, in a heart of Oslo, all you need is in 5min walk from hotel. Service is very good as well. Rooms are quite small, beds to soft and bathrooms in very bad shape. For traveller Oslo is often quite expensive and quality of hotells is not that high, so this did not suprise me at all.
Breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Airiar!
Thank you very much for staying at Thon Hotel Cecil. We are proud to be a typical Thon Hotel. A Thon guest shall recognize when staying in a Thon Hotel. Thon Hotel Cecil belongs to the City concept which is midrange hotels that offer comfort in central locations. For those who would like more facilities we recommend our Conference hotels.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Victoria
#29 of 102 in Oslo
899 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
871 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#39 of 102 in Oslo
418 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Cecil

Address: Stortingsgata 8 | Entrance Rosenkrantzgate, Oslo 0161, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £100 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Cecil 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre next to the Parliament you will find Thon Hotel Cecil. A few steps will bring you directly to Karl Johans Gate, Oslo's main street with a broad selection of stores. The hotel has a vast selection of restaurants and activities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thon Hotel Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing