We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thon Hotel Cecil
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Holmenkollen Park(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
142
252
104
37
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
252
104
37
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationcentral locationaker bryggecity hallnobel peace centrekarl johans gateexcellent breakfastthe breakfast areaminute walktrain stationnice sizetwo night stayheated floorsnational theatrereception staffnice hotelcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The good things are the location and breakfast.

Room was dirty.
Reception wanted me to come down at midnight to get a new towel (just arrived at the hotel and i prefer not to write how the towel looked like...)

Booked the room for 2 nights together with a double room 3 month before arrival, asked after reading reviews for a room facing the street. Got 2 rooms facing the breakfast patio.
Single room on the second floor with a window to the breakfast patio, which means you can't open it unless you want the 6:30 wakeup call...

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing the street or a higher floor....
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YaeliGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear YaeliGr!
Thank you very much for staying with us. I am sorry that you were not happy with the hotel. Most of the rooms at Thon Hotel Cecil is facing towards the atrium and not the street. If you would like rooms that are facing the streets we kindly ask you to reserve our business rooms.
We hope the rest of the trip was better for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel offered a great location, helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. It's a 5-minute walk from the National Theater metro stop. There's a pretty park (Spikersuppa) at the first intersection and the neighborhood appears to be safe at all hours. It's centrally located - reasonable walking distance from the ferry, other sights and many restaurants. One of the harder things to find in this pricey place is a grocery store. The front desk staff or theTourist Information office near City Hall can help with that detail.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWScottJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear GWScottJr!
Thank you very much for staying at Thon Hotel Cecil while in Oslo. Thon Hotel Cecil has a prime location and in addition the area is considered to be one of the best areas in the city center next to the Parliament. There are grocery stores around the city center and you will also find some small ones in the city center as there are not so many people living in the city center.
The best rates and offers will always be found at our website.
We hope to welcome you again at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Thon Cecil took my wife and I into the hotel as a deal with the First Millennium hotel in Oslo. Their review is another story. The Thon Cecil were asked to accommodate us and we were forced to change hotels at 1am. We were delayed coming back on a train from Bergen. We followed all appropriate procedures re notifying the hotel etc. We signed a document agreeing to the Thon Cecil providing us with equivalent accommodation as that which was to be provided by the First Millennium. They didn't do this. My wife and I were given a room made up for a single person. There was a party going on in the hotel above our room and it didn't cease until around 2.00am. We expected to stay with the hotel 2 nights as that is what we had booked for at the First Millennium. We were told next day we had to leave the hotel and return to the First Millennium. After the way we were treated we didn't want to do that. However the only choice we were given by Thon Cecil was to pay a higher room rate. We left the hotel and was then charged at a higher rate by Thon Cecil regardless of the written document we signed where both hotels agreed to provide the same accommodation and rate.

We would never recommend that people stay at Thon Cecil because there is no guarantee they will provide accommodation at the rate expected. Being a part of this swapping of customers might mean you are booked at the hotel but get moved on. The business and customer service of this hotel lacks integrity and honesty.

Don't go there.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear BobR!
I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with our service. You originally had a reservation for another hotel. You were sent from the other hotel to Thon Hotel Cecil for one night as the other hotel could accommodate you for the rest of your stay. You were given the same rate as the original hotel for the first night and were supposed to go back to the other hotel for the rest of your stay. Since you did not want to go back to the other hotel you were offered to stay at Thon Hotel Cecil for the rate offered at Thon Hotel Cecil. We were trying to helping out another hotel and I am sorry that you are not happy about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We really liked this hotel - it delivered a very convenient location, clean, fresh rooms, and a great breakfast.

Great reception staff on both checkin and checkout. Oslo was the end of our "Norway In A Nutshell" trip, and we'd had our larger pieces of luggage delivered from Bergen a couple of days before (porterservice.no), and the Hotel staff happily stored this for us in a secure room prior to our arrival.

We had 3 in our room, so our daughter used the sofabed. It was quite cosy for the 3 of us with the sofa bed extended, but would have been pretty big (for Norway standards) if only 2 in the room. I'd asked for a room on one of the higher levels so that we had lots of light, and this was delivered. Very comfortable soft beds (the usual Scandinavian "twin" setup).
Fast and free wifi in the rooms.
The only downside was a smallish shower room, and the shower door did not close all the way, which resulted in a bit of water overspill.

LOVED the breakfast selection, especially the freshly made waffles, yum ! There was also complimentary coffee in the lobby using a Nespresso type machine if you don't like the usual instant coffee which was provided in the rooms. We used the Nespresso 2/3 times a day, and took the cups up to our room.

Location was EXCELLENT, 5 minute walk to the harbour, and a stones throw from Karl Johans gate for shopping and cafes.

A couple of tips:
1. If you're catching the airport express train when you leave, the closest station is "Nationaltheatret" just a 5 minute walk, not Oslo Central station.
2. And the Hotel is on a corner, so you'll find the entrance on Rosenkrantz Gate, not Stortingsgata (which is on their website).

This hotel delivered exactly what we were looking for at the right price, and we would definately return.

Room Tip: Higher floor for more light
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ComoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear ComoCat!
Thank you very much for your wonderful review after your stay with us. We truly appreciate the feedback. Thon Hotel Cecil has a prime location and many of our guests choose the hotel because of this and also combine the stay with Norway in a Nutshell which is a fantastic trip.
We are recommending you coming back to discover beautiful Oslo in the winter when it is possible to go skiing less than 30 minutes from the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Good selection of food for breakfast, although some days the cooked selection could have been hotter. Overall, great central location for sight-seeing and good value as we had discount for staying 4 nights or more.

Room Tip: Because of location, the majority of rooms overlook the atrium where breakfast is served.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaniaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear HolidaymaniaUK!
Thank you very much for choosing Thon Hotel Cecil for your stay in Oslo. We are so happy to read that both Hubby and you enjoyed your week here. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. In the summer there is often a good discount for staying more night. Please see our website for the best rates. We are hoping to welcome you back at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews