We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Slottsparken
Ranked #56 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good alternative”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have been staying in this hotel several times over the years. From beeing quite rundown, it is no refurbished, at least the rooms that I have gotten the last two times. It is an apartment hotel, and at least most of the rooms are spacy and with a small kitchen. Situated just across the road from the Kings Castle and the Castle Park, Slottsparken, and a 5 minutes walk from Nationaltheatret Subway- and railwaystation. It is in a safe area, and just those few hundered meters from the more busy area around the main street Karl Johansgate, it might be a very good alternative if you are travelling with children. The breakfast, which is normally included in Norwegian hotels, contains Continental, fruit and warm dishes. They would even let you take out a lunch-bag for an acceptable fee. In stead of walking South to the city center, you could walk North into the neighbourhood area. You will find good eating alternatives like Plah, cross-over thai, Rust tapas-bar and the in Oslo famous Lorry, a hang-out for all kind of people, included Norwegian celebs and media and which have a lot of different beers, dish of the day, sometimes Norwegian traditional eating. Eating is good, but not excellent. You might follow the streets Hegdehaugsveien and Bogstadveien, if you want to do some expensive shopping. If you want to save money, there are several supermarkets in the area; eating and drinking out is quite expensive in Oslo.

Room Tip: As for most hotels, the higher up, the better, when it comes to room. Only a few rooms have a view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slottsparken, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Slottsparken, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Bjoern,

Thank you for your review. As hoteliers we would like to thank you for the great feedback, and the kind mark of 4 out of 5 possible. We are contantly trying to improve our hotels facilities and services, we are very happy to hear that our guest appriciate our efforts. It is greatly appriciated!

I would like to wish you a fantastic day, and we hope to see you back here soon!

Kind regards

Petter Fagerlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    137
    92
    57
    19
See reviews for
71
82
46
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farsund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed two times during business trip in the business room section. My room was perfect, nice and clean. (The same room both stay). Bathroom maybe a little small, but ok for what you need it for. The kitchen arrangement was well equipped, if need you could make your own meal. Restaurant for breakfast only, but some good resturants nearby right around the corner next street.
Morning breakfast was good and plenty to choose among. Staff seemed a little absentminded, no good morning ! The coffemachine in the lobby was nice if you needed a good shot of coffe.
No problem to return again to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room not facing main street gives you a very good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maja058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slottsparken, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Slottsparken, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Maja058,

Thank you for your review and kind words.We hoteliers greatly appriciate positive feeback from our guests, To receive reviews such as yours is what we live for. We try to exceed all of our guests expectations and deliver the best service possible.

We hope to see you back here at Slottsparken within the near future, and we will make sure that you receive a proper "Good Morning" several times during your next stay.


Once more, thank you for your review! I hope that we will see you here soon again!

Kind Regards

Petter Fagerlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, T'bilisi, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was stayed there during my business trip. The hotel has very good location near the Royal Palace. 10 minutes of walk to the National Theater metro station and central street Karl Johann gate. Actually the hotel is good, but some of rooms need renovation. They have kitchens with all necessary items, that is helpful to avoid expensive dinners in Oslo restaurants. First time my room had the wonderful veranda with nice view of the palace park, but last time I had a room with the mesh basket instead of a balcony. Not all rooms has irons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodway, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Although we had some trepidation about this reservation, we were very pleased with this hotel. Yes, it is not glitzy modern but the value of having a small kitchenette in the heart of Oslo is immense. We could eat in or have pizza delivered and avoided pricey restaurants for about half of our stay. The location could not be better. Except for our excursions to Bygdøy, where a number of attractions are located, we could walk everywhere. The hotel is located on the perimeter of the Royal Palace. We happened to be there for Constitution Day, which is an amazing experience, and were able to easily walk everywhere to see the children and adults in their traditional costumes.

The bed was comfortable and located in an alcove in our room (not the case in every room), so one of us could sit and read if the other one wanted to sleep. That happens. The bathroom appears to have been renovated.

The front desk staff were tremendously helpful, very friendly with excellent customer service skills. There was a good selection of breakfast foods and you could easily eat enough to carry you through the day to dinner. The breakfast room staff was also very responsive and attentive.

There are no restaurants in the immediate neighborhood but several could be found within a ten minute walk in any direction. Surprisingly, the front desk staff was unable to provide us with this information which we found ourselves by walking around.

The only negative experience is almost embarrassing to relate. After the first few days, the person assigned to our room refused to leave us any toilet tissue. We would come back in the evening and be forced to go to the front desk to get another roll. Evidently this problem was not relayed to housekeeping because it was never corrected during the duration of our stay. Strange.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slottsparken, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Slottsparken, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear JillTravler43,

Thank you for your review. On behalf of Thon Hotel Slottsparken I would like to thank you for your kind words. We try to do our outmost to ensure that you have a wonderful experiance when staying at our Hotel, and to receive such great feedback from our guests is the best reward us hoteliers can receive.

We will investigate further regarding you negative experiance with the Houskeeping staff and make sure that is corrected. This issue will easily be sorted and we will ensure to have everything in order and up to our usual standard for your next visit to Oslo.

Once again we are very happy to receive such great feedback, and we hope to see you here at Slottsparken within a near future.

Kind Regards

Petter Fagerlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent a month in this hotel. The first impression was bad. The façade definitely could be that of an old office building. The lobby is way too small, the elevators old, and the corridors sombre. Some new wall paper and led lights do not really change that.

I stayed in one of the new apartments. It was clean, practical, spacious... and equipped with unoriginal furniture that has become a trademark for many Thon hotels. The apartments are cleaned once a week, which is not much, especially because there is nothing foreseen to do it yourself. Laundry service is outrageously expensive, even compared to other hotels in Oslo.

Staff is very helpful and friendly. That goes for the front desk, the cleaning ladies, and the waiters in the breakfast room. The breakfast itself was fine: fresh and tasty, with a good choice.

If now just the management would allow that staff to offer a bit more service and invest in the hotel's attractiveness, this could be a more attractive place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slottsparken, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Slottsparken, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Globelgian,

Thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry that the hotel facilities were not up to the standards that you expected. We are currently going through some refurblishment at the hotel, and we hope to improve our facilites in order to raise the hotel standard and exceed the expectations of our beloved guests within the near future.

In regards to the staff review I would like offer you our sincerest gratitude. We work very hard to ensure that you have a great experiance when you are a guest at Thon Hotel Slottsparken, and your review is an indication that our efforts make a difference. The friendly words are greatly appriciated, and we thank you for them.

Kind Regards

Petter Fagerlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is in the heart of Oslo, behind the king's palace. You practically need no transportation, everything is easily accessible on foot. The staff is friendly and they all speak English. Our room was quiet, spacious and full of light, you have a tiny kitchen with a stove, coffee, tea, sugar, water cooker, dishes and a fridge in the next room.
The best part though is breakfast! Many dishes to chose from for people from all walks of life. After a meal like that, you are full till evening!
Oslo is worth visiting by all means!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nela25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slottsparken, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Slottsparken, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Nela,

Thank you for your review. We always appriciate kind words, and we are very happy to recive such flattering description of our service! We will take note of your feedback and make sure that it is forwarded to the staff that you encountered & the kitchen for the great breakfast review.

We are thrilled that you had a great experiance with us! I sincerly hope that we get to see you at the hotel within the near future.

Kind Regards

Petter Fagerlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here for a business trip. A good location. The room was fine, it is only just better than a premier inn in the UK. The bathroom had not been updated but the bedroom was quite comfortable. There had been a fire on the third floor the week before so it was not looking at its best. The breakfast was superb and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Holberg
#49 of 102 in Oslo
494 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#36 of 102 in Oslo
513 reviews
Scandic Solli
#29 of 102 in Oslo
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Slottsparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Slottsparken

Property: Thon Hotel Slottsparken
Address: Wergelandsveien 5, Oslo 0167, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Slottsparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Slottsparken is an apartment hotel in the heart of Oslo. The hotel is in a central yet quiet location by the Royal Palace, close to the major shopping streets, restaurants and museums, and the lovely harbour is just minutes away. The hotel provides apartments and suites furnished and equipped to suit both daily and monthly stays. All rooms have private bathrooms, kitchenettes, cable-tv, telephone and wireless internet access. A large breakfast buffet is available, and there is a fitness room. Slottsparken's nine well-equipped conference rooms have room for up to 90 persons. Note: The hotel is currently renovating its rooms and common areas. Some construction noise may occur. The hotel apologises for any the inconvenience this may cause. The renovation will be completed during the spring of 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Slottsparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing