We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised”
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Astoria
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and our first night of our Europe trip. Its nothing much to look at on the outside but the staff were friendly and the room clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to a family room so I guess we were lucky as we got more space. It was on the front street and yes there was noise but if you stay in the city on a road you have to accept that. We were find and quite liked the noise of the city outside. The breakfast was good and all in all we enjoyed our stay. Hotels in Oslo are expensive and so was this one really so we were glad we were not disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Messenger Marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    373
    338
    116
    42
See reviews for
127
225
222
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel is close to the train and bus terminal. Close to city centre and attractions. Cheap. Rooms are small but very clean. Free Wi-fi. Great breakfast!!!
What I don´t like - view is poor, very noisy street until 3 a.m. (Fri, Sat) - earplugs don´t help, hotel guests take prostitutes inside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

As bugdet hotel, this one is meet all expectation. The room is quite spacious. The furniture is poor but clean enough (but not as clean as business hotel or resort hotel). The staff is helpful and the breakfast is suprisingly not basic. The location is great and despite in heart of city, quiet.

But, definitely will not comeback again, somehow my room in this hotel making me thinking about suicide (probably because lack of view and no ending corridor?).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guavaorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed one night, and chose the Astoria because it was the best price I could find for a hotel within easy walking distance of the Central Station. Clearly a budget hotel with a cramped reception and cheap furniture and carpets. Nevertheless, my room was a decent size, clean and comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. The free Wi-Fi was appreciated, although it did drop out a couple of times. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhycantIbemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinn Municipality, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Affordable, clean and extremely central - just a few minutes' w alk from the central train station, the bus terminal and the airport express.

The breakfast is good, the beds are comfortable and the rooms facing the courtyard are quite silent for a place that is so smack in the middle of the city centre.

And everyone I've met in the staff are friendly and helpful and just plain nice!

And there are some really good restaurants in the vicinity

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Johanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notodden, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I had a room at the back side of the house and had no problem sleaping in this new, clean, but simple room. It was quiet and the bed was good. It was not a spacious room, but I didn't need more place just for sleeping one night. The breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Back side of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed at the Astoria twice. Once for three nights with a room above the street and was kept awake all night by the stip club traffic down the street. The second stay we requested a room in the court yard. Room was much nicer until we woke up to our bed covered with bugs. My body is now covered with red spots.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#22 of 102 in Oslo
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 102 in Oslo
822 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Property: Thon Hotel Astoria
Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing