We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Astoria
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Staying at the Hotel for 2 nights.

The location is good (near the main streets and the train station); stuff are friendly and professional; breakfast is excellent.

The only issue is that there is a night club next to the Hotel and making noise until early morning. Nonetheless, for travellers looking for decent budget hotels in Oslo, Thon Hotel Astoria is still an option.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tatzu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Astoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2008

Great value in an expensive country and city. Located a few minute walk from the train station and a block from the main thoroughfare. Short walk from the ferries to Oslo's wonderful museums. Although our room was at the front soundproofing was good. As with other budget Thon hotels we stayed in we booked room-only and got a great deal on breakfast on arrival. The street is a bit shadey if that concerns you!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thackeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This hotel promises basic accomodations for budget (for Oslo!) prices, and it delivered. I booked a double room, which was surprisingly spacious and very clean. The room had a reading chair, a double bed with two twin-sized comforters and two pillows, a desk with chair, and a 26" flat screen TV. Very spartan but perfectly suitable. The bathroom was a decent size and, as a budget Thon hotel, had no toiletries except for wall-mounted soap dispensers both next to the sink and in the shower area. I say "shower area," because it was wedged in the corner of the bathroom with two glass doors that closed into a "V" so that the entire room wouldn't get soaked. The room looked out into an air-shaft-like area, which isn't as terrible as it sounds. It was large and looked out into other hotel rooms.

The breakfast is a terrific bargain, especially for early risers like me. For NOK50, you have your choice between cold cuts, an assortment of breads, veggies, fruit, eggs, sausages, juice, coffee, etc.

The hotel's extremely close proximity to the very convenient Central Station and Karl Johans Gate is both a blessing and a curse. The neighborhood is constantly busy and noisy (possibly questionable late at night), but you're also in the heart of all the major sites and in walking distance to the speedy airport train. With all windows closed, I never heard street noise. Even with windows open, it was perfectly fine. However, I was woken up every night by loud music from somewhere in the area, probably a neighborhood bar. It never last long, but it was the only noise irritant I experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The rooms are small and very basic, but they are clean and have everything you need. We had a room facing the main street and it was very noisy. The breakfast is very good for a budget hotel. You can walk almost everywhere or you can take the tram which is nearby. If you are looking a central, basic and cheap hotel, this is a good option

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EM_sooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This hotel is 5 minutes from the train station, and a half a block off the main street. It is on a great location, the rooms are small, but clean. If you get a room on the back side of the hotel it is quiet. A good place to base yourself if you are staying in the central part of Oslo.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We booked our double room thru the Thon website (click on the British flag for English) and requested a quiet room. After spending hours on travel websites comparing prices, this hotel seemed like an excellent location at a comptetive price. "Budget" for Oslo appears to be around $170USD a night. Our four nights' stay was great. There was a little music the first night but otherwise it was fine. A single computer in the lobby for common use was surprisingly available for quickly sending email or checking into our flight. The $10USD breakfast a day was well worth not having to seek food outside the hotel. I did wish the room had a refrigerator but it did not. We were in the section of the hotel that seemed more newly renovated. A small balcony on the 6th floor opened into a closed courtyard - hence the relative quiet. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room though small was just fine for us. The hotel is in the middle of the action, 2 blocks away from the train station which was quite handy for us. There is a lot of construction outside the train station right now but it seemed fine. We had been warned about pickpockets and sketchy characters in Oslo and around the train station in particular.- nothing was stolen, and although there were some folks around the train station I wouldn't want to bring home, if you have ever spent time in a city and seen homeless people you shouldn't be too concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lerissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

I stayed at the Thon Hotel Astoria in May 2008. The hotel and room were not bad excluding the bathrooms which were very tiny and loud noises from the steet in the mornings. The breakfast was good and the free Internet was a bonus as well though.

The surrounding area was a little shady but the convenience of the location was great. The hotel is around the corner from Karl Johan's Gate, the main drag in Oslo, a five minute walk to the train station and only a 10 min walk through a fun part of town to the harbour and tons of restaurants and bars. By shady area though, I mean I was propositioned by several "women of the night" right around the corner from my hotel on my way home from dinner both nights in Oslo.

I had a room facing the street throughout my 2 night stay which was a bit loud in the mornings but if you are an early riser it wouldn't be an issue. If you request a room facing the courtyard, the hotel would be very peaceful. After walking around pretty much the entire city, there are several other Thon Hotels that might be a bit more appealing, so I would check those out. Thon was a nice brand of hotel that would definitely be worth staying in but just in a different location.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank akbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,613 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#9 of 102 in Oslo
855 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#36 of 102 in Oslo
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £97 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing