We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for cost”
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Astoria
Ranked #58 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, good value for cost”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the Thon Hotel Astoria, and I had a good stay overall. I booked a standard single room which was surprisingly large compared to other single rooms I stayed in during my trip. The bathroom, while not large, is clean and updated and doesn't splash water all over the place like some do in budget hotel bathrooms. The bed itself is a little soft, but otherwise, the room is comfortable for one person. One negative for me was the fact that housekeeping forgot to clean my room the first day. I had planned to reuse my towels anyway, so it wasn't a huge issue, but it did bug me a bit. Also, the window doesn't open very far, so the room tends to get stuffy, especially in summer when it's warmer and there's no AC. And I was randomly woken up by some very loud construction/drilling on my first morning, at around 6am (kind of early?!?). Fortunately, it was just the first night.

Breakfast is very good and included in the price; it's a traditional Scandinavian continental breakfast (meats, cheeses, cereal, etc). It has a really great location - steps from Oslo central station, trams, T-bana, buses, Karl Johans gate, the Oslo Cathedral, etc. The staff was very helpful and friendly, too. I would definitely recommend this hotel. You're not in Oslo to hang out in your hotel room, so it's plenty big enough to sleep in and get ready in the morning, especially for one person.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank katherine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    367
    328
    114
    41
See reviews for
122
218
216
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Oslo near the main railway station and close to the main street King Johans gate.The hotel is a budget hotel so whilst the room was small it was clean and adequate as I wasn't expecting a luxurious room.It was good to have free wifi and a plus point is a very good breakfast which in a nice sunny day you could have outside in a courtyard in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank owlsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mostoles, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great price and great location to visit the Oslo City Center. Just have a nice walk to get the most important monuments and buildings. Near central station.

The breakfast is nice, complete and included at the room price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank FernandoTallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The Thon Astoria, Oslo, is within easy walking distance of the train station, which is a big plus, and the rooms are clean and functional. It is a budget hotel, so we weren't expecting luxury, or a room with a view, however, we arrived in a bit of a heat wave and there was no air conditioning in the room, which was definitely required where we were situated.

Our first night we had to keep both windows closed, as we were faced into a small quadrangle with noisy air conditioning units (not for the rooms!) going on and off constantly, and other bedrooms on all sides, from which you could hear TVs, conversations and people going to the toilet. One of our windows was unusable as a result of a neighbouring room having theirs open fully, which effectively meant it couldn't be opened at all.

Other rooms also faced away from the streets and into a larger quad, which housed the outside seating area for the breakfast room. At the time of our stay, these rooms wouldn't have been much better for noise, as there was a lot of construction work going on on the building.

The best thing about this hotel was definitely the breakfast. There was so much choice, it was hard to know where to begin. This definitely made up some way for the poor room situation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a very conveniently located hotel if you are travelling to and from Oslo central station. It is in the heart of Oslo with restaurants and bars nearby, but rooms are quiet. For a stay of several days, we used the Thon budget hotel, but this one was very nice for a one day stop between train rides. It has the wonderful breakfast, included in the price, of all Thon hotels and rooms are clean, comfortable but basic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velserbroek
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were not very satisfied during our visit. The receptionist was busy and didn't pay a lot of attention, we had the same with a womana at the reception. The rooms were okay, but small. Because of the good starting point for excursions we booked here. Unfortunately we will not come back here, although breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemVelserbroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The only good things are its location, but take into account it is a location surrounded by clubs and strip clubs, and the service from front desk. My local friends said not to walk around the area at night so that says it all. This is below budget. The noise from outside and inside is constantly disrupting your sleep and the room and amenities are woeful. No aircon, no room, bathroom terrible on space and basic quality - the shower leaks constantly so we left it on the floor of the shower where we found it, basically, try fitting a bathroom into a linen cupboard and you get the idea of space - seriously. I'm not sure what rooms they show in the pictures but it is not what a standard double actually is. I've missed breakfast now as I'm trying to get some more sleep but the slamming fire exit door from someone repeatedly (including through the night) using the stairs and not the elevator has put an end to that.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serephin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#41 of 100 in Oslo
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Property: Thon Hotel Astoria
Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing