We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small family room, central location, value compared to the cost of two rooms somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Astoria
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Small family room, central location, value compared to the cost of two rooms somewhere else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is a no frills budget hotel. It is very expensive for what you get, but so is every other hotel in Oslo. It is very close to the train / bus station and heart of the city. The room has bunk beds that fold out from the wall and one double bed. It has a big breakfeast buffet. If you are not looking for luxuary and want to spend your money on sights instead of a place to sleep, and want to be around people from everywhere and not just from the USA, then this is your kind of place. I lowered my rating to average because of the high cost of hotels in Oslo.

Room Tip: If you stay here, take the train from the airport to the city center. It is a short walk to the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    358
    321
    111
    41
See reviews for
114
214
214
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night before heading to the airport the following morning. Didn't have the breakfast included. The room was fine, like a hostel really but clean enough. There was a lovely Indian restaurant beside this hotel which made it worth while. The hotel is also v close to the bus / train station which is why I booked it in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent one night in this hotel on our way back to France in March 2014. We were with a small group of students. At the beginning we feared that this place might not be appropriate for schoolgirls on a school trip but everything was perfect. The Hotel is really secure and nobody can get in and out just like that!
THe hotel is clean and quiet (despite all I read about it before). The service is good and the staff experienced and friendly. We were given brochures and hints about where to go for our afternoon visits. Just one thing I have to say about it. I had booked one double room with single beds on the Internet but when I arrived I was told we had (my colleague teacher and I) a double bed. After insisting a little bit (which I wasn't supposed to do given the requirements I had made before) we were given a room with one queen size bed and one single bed!!!
I loved the breakfast. It was perfect and has everything for everyone even if you are picky you can have a good breakfast.
So considering the location (very close to the station), the cleanliness, the food and the price, I found this hotel perfect.
So go for it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplered13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

While it is centrally located and certainly not expensive (considering prices in Oslo). The room I was given was small and unfortunately they did not in 7 days change my sheets more than twice... :(
However the employees were nice and kind and the breakfast big.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank nike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

No problems at all - room was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were really good. Front desk extremely helpful. Close to main railway station a short 10 minute stroll as was the center of town. No aircon but fans available upon request. Wifi was awesome. Television stations adequate - news and some films.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robdee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Norway is one of the most expensive countries on the planet so just keep that in mind when looking for accommodation. The rooms at Astoria are quite small and the bathrooms are tiny but this is a budget hotel. If you stay at Thon Opera you'll be paying double.
If you've outgrown hostel style accommodation and just need somewhere nice and clean to sleep, Astoria is more than adequate. The service is friendly and helpful and they have a fantastic breakfast. You can actually just come here for breakfast if you like - it's much better and cheaper than any of the other cafes serving breakfast in the area. I think it was only around 70 - 80 NOK.
My parents stayed here when they came to visit and the reception staff kindly upgraded them at no extra cost to a larger room with a nicer bathroom and a small balcony.
Location is great - it's just off Karl Johans gate, the main shopping drag in Oslo that takes you all the way to the Royal Palace. All the main attractions are within walking distance and it's about a five minute walk from Oslo Central Station so no need to get a taxi.
Good choice for budget conscious travellers.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in the 'standard' category but there are slightly bigger family rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayakarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is very near the train station, so quick walk to get there. But double check you're going to the right one, there are a lot of Thon hotels in Oslo and Google has a hard time understanding that. It's in a good location to access restaurants or sites you want to see, and there's a 7-11 a block away if you need to get something cold to drink. The room we had was a family room so it was a good size and clean.

The bathroom was good, with a heated floor that I would've liked if it had actually been cold. The bathroom floor is part of the shower, so don't put anything on the floor as it could get wet. The toiletries were a soap/shampoo/body wash all-in-one kind of thing. Not something I really like, but I did bring my own shampoo.

The breakfast was really good, as everyone has said. It had the usual bread, cheese, meat, veggies, cereal and more fun things like scrambled eggs and fish pancakes. You have to go through a bit of a maze to get to the room, but you'll be happy once you find it.

The bad thing was that it was HOT in Oslo when I was there, a bit of a heat wave. And no AC in the room! And because it was a family room, or because it was broken, the window barely opened. Not much sleep happened for us since we all felt like we were slowly being roasted in our beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#35 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#21 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Property: Thon Hotel Astoria
Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing