We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for 2, poor for 3 persons á room”
Review of Scandic Sjolyst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Sjolyst
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked a room for 3 adults. But the third bed was like a sunbed with mattress. Finally I put the mattress on the floor to get a little bit a sleep. If they cannot fit a 3-bedroom, then they should offer only 1 and 2 bedrooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaelx237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Hello,

We are grateful you took your time review your stay here at Scandic Sjølyst, it is of great value for us in order to improve our product. Sjølyst have very few rooms that can accomodate 3 people, howver we are planning renovations of two floors in nearby future were we are considering "smart solutions" to be able to fit 3+4 people in the rooms with proper beds. At the moment we only provide standard extra beds for our larger rooms, and I can understand that the matresses are thin. We will certainly look further into thicker matresses.

Thank you again, and we hope to be able to welcome you!

Best regards,

Team Sjølyst
Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great value, excellent friendly service and tour advice, comfy clean rooms, a short bus ride to the centre of Oslo, safe central location, handy underground car park and an excellent breakfast. What more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Tripadvsior. We are very happy to hear you summed up your stay with "what more can I ask for"!

It is a pleasure to hear you received friendly serivce, tour advice and comfy and clean rooms. Comments such as these motivate us to try to exceed the little extra everyday for our customers! Thank you again, and we wish you welcome bac to Scandic Sjølyst!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This no frills hotel is perfectly adequate for a business stay. Located 5 mins walk from the train station and with good sized rooms, the staff were friendly upon arrival and there was a good breakfast buffet spread. The bed was comfortable, although the room was rather hot - opening the windows brought in a lot of traffic noise from outside however. The lifts also take a while to pick you up from your floor, so allow 5 mins extra if you need to leave in a rush! The hotel is situated just off the main street, and there are 3-4 restaurants nearby to choose. The staff were happy to recommend these.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to go to tripadvisor to advise others about your stay here at Scandic Sjølyst. We are very pleased to hear you received good service and that the breakfast buffet was good. Hope to be able to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a typical city hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but a trifle soulless. The staff range from pleasant to totally disinterested (particularly at breakfast). You cannot access the hotel from the car par until you have checked in, which makes for a confusing trek to get out of the underground car park. The bar was shut at 10.00, which was surprising. However, locationally is it excellent for access to the main museum district, and having a car park in the city is a bonus whatever the case. Overall, it's what I would have expected.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry22260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment abour your stay at Scandic Sjølyst. We are grateful to receive feedbak on your stay in order improve our services.

I am sorry about the inconvenience it may have caused regarding the car parking. The underground car park is owned by our landlord, and in order to access the entrance the guests need to check in and get a ticket at the reception, also in order to ensure that we have enough car parking for our guests. However as you also mentioned, we have the opportunity to offer our guests car parking at an affordable price in Oslo with an easy access with lift to the reception and rooms.

Moreover I am also sorry to hear you receieved mixed service from the staff, I will make sure to follow this up, as one of our main focus is to make our guests feel at home here at Scandic Sjølyst.

Hope however you had a pleasent stay with some nice sightseeing around the area, and wish to welcome you back.

Do not hesistate to contact the hotel if you have any further feedback.

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were met a lazy and impolite attendant. The room was good, we decided to go out for dinner, because the restaurant was not working and when we returned our space in the garage was occupied by another car and we left our car parked in an street very far from the hotel, the bar also does not work on weekends, but we bought some beers in the reception, a deception until the following morning we moved to another hotel.
I Not really advise anyone to stay in this hotel, poor service and horrible quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the car parking. We only have access to 20 parking spaces through our landlord, and we applogize that another guest occupied your parking. Furthermore during the summer months our bar and restaurant is closed in the evenings, however our reception team is more than happy to assist you with restaurants in the neighbourhood or within close reach.

Sorry that you did not receive a proper welcome by our receptionist upon check in. We will follow this up, as great service is one of our key aspects.

I hope however that we can be able to welcome you back to us soon!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stay at this hotel if you have business in area. The city centre is a five minute, NOK 150 taxi drive away (or twenty minutes, NOK 50 by tram or bus). Everything in Norway is highly expensive and this hotel is no exception.

The hotel is spartan but perfectly functional. The room was of a fine size, and equipped with small desk and easy chair. Clean. Few TV channels other than in Norwegian language.

The lifts are slow.

The front desk staff are helpful. Everyone is generally friendly.

The small breakfast room was rather congested between the hours of 08:00 and 09:00. The tables are not set with cutlery and napkins, and the experience felt a bit chaotic. Luckily the food was nutritious and of good variety.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hello,

Thank you for leaving a comment hear on tripadvisor, we appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are pleased to hear the breakfast was of good variety and nutritious. Our breakfast is very popular at times, so I appoligize for the inconvenience it may have cause during busy hours. Thank you again for your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us here at Scandic Sjølyst!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having never been to Norway before, let alone Oslo, I wasn't too sure what to expect from the Scandic Hotel...I arrived quite late at night and found everything to be 'closed' in the hotel - but the welcome was warm and friendly.

The Scandic Oslo Sjolyst feels like an independant hotel - a little niche, but not quite boutique. Having received an automatic upgrade to a 'superior' room (floor 8) - I was expecting something quite significant - but was met with a room that - from my travel experiences - was quite basic. Don't get me wrong - comfortable & clean, but nothing major to write home about.

Nice that it provided the minimum requirements - iron/ironing board, tea & coffee making facilities and actually a very decent HD TV - but I was a little disappointed that a decent wardrobe wasn't provided - in some of the pictures for this hotel I could see better in room arrangements and some of them with a room safe available - I would expect that as standard in a superior room. The room was refreshed but they'd forgotten to replace towels - easily resolved, but again shouldn't have needed to ask.

The room was on the 8th floor - top floor - so actually nice and quiet, no major foot traffic or noise from the street.

Breakfast was excellent - lots of choice, comfortable place to eat and chat, with very helpful staff present on both days I stayed there.

Fast & efficient reception on check-in and check-out - and a great location for where I was working in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke L, Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Hello,

First of all thank you for leaving feedback on tripadvisor about your stay at Scandic Sjølyst.
Happy to hear you found the breakfast to be "excellent" and that both check in and check out was efficient! The Scandic brands superior rooms do contain the facilities that you listed, which we do not have in the other rooms, and the brand provides these facilites for all the superior rooms in Scandic, and I am sorry you expected something differently. I hope however you had an overall good stay and I wish to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Jannicke Lorentzen
Hotel Manager Scandic Sjølyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
6.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Oslo Alna
1.4 mi away
Scandic Solli
Scandic Solli
#35 of 102 in Oslo
999 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Oslo Alna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Frogner House Apartments
2.1 mi away
Scandic Grensen
Scandic Grensen
#34 of 102 in Oslo
437 reviews
2 mi away
Scandic St. Olavs plass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sjolyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sjolyst

Address: Sjoelyst Plass 5, Oslo 0278, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oslo
#29 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £72 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sjolyst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Sjolyst is located in a trendy area in Skoyen with cafes, shops and restaurants. Popular attractions such as the museums at Bygdoy and the park Vigelandsparken are only a 15 minute walk from our hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for outdoor activities such as running and biking as well as the popular beaches at Bygdoy. Public transport to the city centre is very convinient and it only takes 4 minutes by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Sjolyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst Hotel Oslo
Scandic Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing