We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic for 'budget' price; good location & breakfast”
Review of Thon Hotel Munch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thon Hotel Munch
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
326 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Basic for 'budget' price; good location & breakfast”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is under renovation and that is promising for the next few months. The unrefurbished rooms are basic, although of decent size. The breakfast buffet is good for a hotel of the budget type. The location is about 10 min walking from the Nationaltheatret Station, but a bit hard to find, especially the entrance that is at the back of the hotel in a quiet street. This hotel will do the trick if sleeping and taking a shower is all you need and you do not want to pay the even more expensive 'normal' hotel rates of Oslo. For 2 nights I paid NOK 1,990 all in, about EUR 125 per night.

Room Tip: Whil under renovation, ask for a room away from the day-time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    425
    180
    21
    8
See reviews for
126
294
128
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Despite Thon marketing this hotel as "Budget" I was still expecting more. The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment. The hallways are smelly and badly lit, with flickering lights. The room was clean, but reeked of toilet cleaner. The room was small, worn and had absolutely no decorations of any kind. The in-room TV had only 6 stations. Also, the toilet was leaking and the room was poorly insulated, so I could hear everything that happened on the same floor, including my amorous neighbours in the next room. The bed was less than comfortable. Breakfast was very basic. All in all, I really think you can find way better options many other places in Oslo at a similar price level, all of which I would prefer to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugman_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is strictly a budget hotel , clean modern and moderately large rooms. Small reception, manned by friendly and helpful people.
Location though central is not exactly very noticeable. We reached Oslo in the night at about 9pm and spent 30minutes standing at Munch Gate trying to locate this in a inadequately lit street. This was the cheapest hotel we could find in Oslo located somewhere in the centre.
In the morning as we figured out the neighborhood realized was well-located close to National Theatre etc.
Breakfast was limited but nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

You cannot expect to find cheap hotels in Norway. This is the cheapest hotel (1000NOK single room) I could find in Oslo. The good thing is its location, 5 minutes by walk from NationalTheatre, 10 from Oslo Central Train Station.

The hotel is rather basic, small room, tiny bathroom, but very clean and with a comfortable bed. Also a good plus is the free internet access. Breakfast is rather complete for being a budget hotel.

Anywhere else you could expect something more for 1000 NOK per night, but I guess this is a good quality for price in Norway.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel provides a perfect location for exploring Oslo. It is only a short walk to the royal castle, the Karl Johan street, the Parliament and many good restaurants. Add a few minutes, and you are at the harbour, the central railway station etc.
The standard of the hotel is acceptable, no luxury, however. The rooms have sufficient space for a couple. The AC is not up to date, but the fresh Oslo air can be enjoyed if you open the window. There is not much traffic noise, but some rooms are facing construction areas where the work starts just after 7 in the morning.
For those who use a car, there is a big parking house within 100 meters where you obtain a discount if you are a guest of the hotel (the price is NOK 180,- per day).
The breakfast is OK, but the breakfast restaurant does not look comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the construction areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArneTrondheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This was the cheapest hotel we could find in Oslo which did a family room. Never really heard of the Thon chain of hotels before, but it seems they are fairly well known in Norway, I'd maybe liken them to the better class of Novotel in terms of style and atmosphere.

Staff were efficient and did occasionally smile, but really no complaints with the check in/out process. All necessary information was given to us on arrival, including free wifi username/password which is very useful. iPhone worked on their free wifi with no difficulties.

The room was spacious, fairly standard Scandinavian decor, although the bathroom was a little small. Everything worked though, and was clean and perfectly adequate. The girls' bed was a pull down from the wall type, very comfortable, and the main adults beds were very comfortable too, we slept well.

Breakfast was very good. Better than average buffet offering fresh fruits, cereals, eggs, sausages, beans toast etc. as well as typical Norwegian pickles (herring, beetroot etc.) if you're feeling brave that time of morning! Have to say I couldn't quite face pickled sweet herring first thing, but my wife gave them a go to mixed reviews!

The hotel has a baggage store room and we were able to leave our bags all day after check out on the Sunday so we could explore Oslo unburdened. The location of the hotel is perfect for that too, close to many attractions and restaurants, not far from the train station either.

For a so called budget hotel, breakfast, location, room and facilities really did surpass expectations and we will definitely stay again next time we are in Oslo.

Room Tip: Family rooms on the 6th floor are spacious and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We paid 995 NOK per night in advance for four nites in Sept. Great location, helpful if not overly chatty front desk, decent room with old fashioned TV, clean but very small bathroom (really could use some extra shelves and hooks) and excellent shower. Breakfast was quite good altho they didn't provide pastry type stuff after the first day. Lots of meat, cheese, eggs, fruit and cereal. Quite satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#19 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#59 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Munch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Munch

Property: Thon Hotel Munch
Address: Munchs gate 5, Oslo 0165, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainbow Munch)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oslo
#10 Business Hotel in Oslo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Munch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Munch is a bed and breakfast hotel, located in a calm side street in the middle of Oslo city centre. The immediate vicinity offers everything you need, such as shopping, restaurants, theatres and public transport. Food and drink at the hotel In our newly renovated breakfast area we serve a healthy and varied breakfast buffet every day. The buffet contains fresh fruit, organic products and a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but you can buy beer, wine and snacks in the reception. There are several restaurants nearby the hotel, and our receptionists can help recommend a restaurant for you. Internet Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel. Activities and other things to do at the hotel: The hotel's central location in Oslo city centre makes it a perfect starting point for shopping, restaurant visits and nightlife in Oslo. Famous attractions such as the Royal Palace, the National Theatre, the Norwegian Opera, Aker Brygge and Akershus Fort are within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel's vicinity to public transport makes it easy to travel to all parts of Oslo City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Munch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing