We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and in a GREAT location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful and in a GREAT location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

What a great hotel. I stayed their for 2 nights on a personal trip. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is within walking distance of Aker Brygge, the National Gallery and the Karl Johans gate are a mere 10 mins walk. The staff is also very helpful. Do check, because some of the rooms can be small, so request one of the family rooms as they are bigger. The decor is very nice and the beds super comfortable. Don't forget to close the curtains when you stay in Oslo in the summer. Again, I would highly recommend this hotel! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jantien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    185
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
71
187
33
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva_ch
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nice rooms, well designed 3* hotel, though having no AC in the room can be annoying during hot summers.. even in Oslo. No telephone in the room.
Small shower directly on the floor, so the bathroom is flooded when you take showers.
Nice IMac in the room, instead of TV screen.
Bio and healthy breakfast, nice location close to see front and centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wise_lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great family room, good location, but was this the first time they served a Breakfast? Horrible !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandraweinert, Public Relations Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

we were quite surprised to read your review regarding our breakfast, as it is in fact one of our signature features, and one of the reasons that many of our guests return time after time.
Our suppliers are many and handpicked, each chosen for their own specific product, and completely organic.

Many of the items on the table are developed in-house - the vanilla yoghurt and the toasted brown-bread muesli, to mention a few favorites.

The breakfast is not ordinary. You will not find the traditional pancakes, white toast or generic cereals, but a healthy, organic and tasty meal of a very high quality, and we are very proud of having brought our signature organic Guldsmeden brunch to Oslo.

We hope that you will give it another try if you return to the Guldsmeden Oslo, and maybe you will come to enjoy it as much as our other guests do.
Best from all of us at the Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our family of four (2 adults, 14-yr. old daughter, 9- yr. old son) stayed in their "family room" for 2 nights. It's a really fun room on the 1st floor with two bathrooms, cool canopy beds for everyone (2 twins and a queen, in separate sleeping areas), a travertine tub in the master bedroom area, and two 27-in. iMacs. It is rather expensive, but we decided to splurge a little and it was worth it!
The kids loved the space and the beds, but the iMacs provides only limited entertainment (as other reviewers have mentioned). But my son and daughter managed to find enough to watch from the list of websites provided in a binder. Also, the breakfast was very organic and healthy, but the kids had a hard time finding things that they liked.
The adults also loved all of the room amenities, and liked the breakfast better, but I have to agree with other reviewers that it seemed like there was a smaller selection than other hotels at which we stayed during our visit to Norway.
Regarding amenities... there was free wifi, but we did have some trouble getting connected and the signal wasn't the best. We managed to find free street parking a few blocks away, and we left it there during our entire stay. So, we were happy with that situation, but some guests might find the lack of parking at the hotel to be a hassle. Another guest at the hotel woke up to a parking ticket because he had parked in the wrong spot on the street (and parking tickets in Norway are rather expensive), but the front desk staff was trying to help him resolve it... not sure how that turned out. In general, all of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We didn't have time to visit the spa, but would like to if we ever make it back to Oslo!
So, overall, I would recommend the Carlton Hotel Oslo and would like to stay there again... someday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJMS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

An extremely stylish hotel in a quiet area but only 10mins from the waterfront, perfect. With this hotel you get the feeling that someone's actually trying to improve on a standard product so that you want to come back because it's unlike all the other hotels you're used to. I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful especially when the coffee ran out or the ice bucket was full of water. Rooms and bathrooms are comfortable with some nice touches without being exceptionally large. Unfortunately the provision of an iMac instead of a TV is a triumph of form over function given that the hotel does not subscribe to an internet streaming video service you can happily spend most of the day trying to find something to watch (it was raining a lot), couldn't even get BBC or CNN news. Breakfast was good and wholesome although not as extensive as some of the larger hotels. Even better got a good price of NOK900 for double room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinInHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Central, but still out of the way. Great room, bed, and big iMac on the wall. It beats any chain hotel in Oslo. I lived in Oslo for many years but did not know there was such a nice hotel. Very good and healthy breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor, with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

From start till the end of my stay I was received warmly and serviced from the reception staff. Nice ecological breakfast, different but very nice. I held meetings in the lobby area which the reception staff was nice enough to let me do.

IMacs in the rooms provided TV and internet - which were different but stylish. Rooms very nicely decorated, spacious. Spa looked good, didnt use it during my stay.

Very nice hotel. Just a walk from the nearest train station, where i got to from the airport. Not far from Aker Brygge where i found some decent places.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipstackta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#10 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing