We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel was booked for a city break in Oslo. It was a fantastic place to stay and we enjoyed every minute. The staff were happy and friendly. The hotel was Eco but comfy with an iMac in the room their own shampoo and shower gel. Location was good and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    185
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
71
187
33
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

To start with the review, the location of the hotel is very good. It is within a short walking distance from the port area, where many nice and vibrating restaurants could be found. Since we only had one day in Oslo before heading to Bergen (our destination), it worked perfectly for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel choices when it comes to organic beauty products and food is great, and the products offered both at the bathrooms and also for sale in the lobby are of very good quality. The room I stayed in was very nicely decorated, the corporate identity comes together well and every now and then you find a little decoration detail in the room that is very appealing and surprising. The nice final touch was the iMac in the bedroom wall, that works well, has a very good connection for watching videos, news or listening to music and choosing what is it that you want to see, unlike most hotels that offer a standard cable tv programming. The down side, I would say, comes to the size of the rooms, since the four-post bed (very nice, indeed!) and the tables in the room occupy most of it. Since we were staying for only a day, it was absolutely not a problem. Travelers who might have some difficulties in mobility or that are travelling with elderly people might want to check what's the biggest room available.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dindi_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Very nice hotel, with comfortable, organic rooms which are very nicely decorated. Superb staff who made us feel at home in the North!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

100% biological and organic, for people who appreciate and care about our Planet. Great hotel, very cosy and cool design. Best hotel breakfast I ever had, everything so natural and healthy. I really loved the design of the room and lobby, free wifi, and iMac in room. Bed was very comfortable and blankets soft and very warm.Walking distance from the city center, reception 24 hours. Hotel is in the quite area so good for relax. Helpful and kind staff. Free organic shampoo, conditioner and body lotion to use in your shower. Bathroom in your room for your use. Wooden floors. I enjoyed, thank you Guldsmeden!
Only one thing I was a little disappointed about : spa in the hotel, it's free to use, but seemed like they didn't really care about it, steam room was always without a steam, finish sauna was damn cold when we walked in, and than had to call a girl from reception to turn it on, but the same thing happened on the next day also. And they advertise they give you flip-flops to use, so I didn't bring mine, and there were no flip flops, so I had to walk from my room to the spa barefoot. So really hope this can be improved!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the courtyard and it was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinklimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

They are obviously trying to make this place something out of the ordinary, and they succeed because it's certainly a strange hotel. You are stuck with the feeling that this hotel is a result of some womans second mid-life crisis, the first being opening a soap shop.

I could probably ignore the strangeness of the hotell if I felt comfortable, but I really did not. Our room was really tiny with poor ventilation. The walls must seriously be paper thin because you could probably whisper through them. The bathroom probably had some issues with ventilation too, and the ecologic towells are probably made of the same material as the walls. Like drying of with a newspaper.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IllTellYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed at the Hotel for two Nights and it offers everything needed for a business traveler with a moderate budget. Great organic breakfast, clean and nice rooms, excellent service and of course the Mac just on the wall, waiting to be used. I can really recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Me and my boyfriend visited Oslo for a long weekend and we were so happy with the hotel choice. The hotel is located around a 20-30 minute walk from Oslo Central Station and is in a residential area. The Royal Palace and its surrounding gardens and the beautiful harbor of Aker Brygge (full of shops, bars and restaurants) is a 5 minute walk away. The hotel itself is one the nicest I have ever stayed in, its welcoming and cosy - the perfect retreat for a relaxing weekend away! The interior is beautifully designed throughout and the spa was an extra bonus (comprises of two saunas, a steam room, relaxation area and turkish bath).

Before I booked the hotel I read quite a lot of reviews saying that the rooms size was very small - I completely disagree. My boyfriend and I shared a standard double room and it was perfect in size. The bed was so comfortable too and was great to have the imac in the room.

The only negative feedback was that it was slightly noisy. The first night we could hear the people talking in the room above and the next night, there was shouting and music coming from the surrounding apartments. This was slightly annoying but it certainly wouldn't put me off visiting again as everything else was so perfect.

To top it off the service was excellent, very friendly staff always going out of their way to ensure you have everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola86London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#10 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing