We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but very charming”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two rooms with a connecting door (room 1 and 2 on the second floor) very handy for a family, and something that no other of the hotels we contacted had been able to offer us. The rooms are small, but what they lack in size they make up for in charm. Lovely 4 poster beds, and organic toiletries (I bought a bunch - they were excellent). Our rooms faced the street, but were surprisingly noise free. This hotel offers a fully organic breakfast, and keep a very "green line" over all. It is located 10 minutes walk from Aker Brygge, with shopping, bars and restaurants available, as well as the Nobel Peace center.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YummyMommyoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    187
    34
    14
    9
See reviews for
72
189
34
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice everything: spa and sauna, small cute rooms, little decor touches you find here and there, fur rug on the bed, convenience of mac and wireless keyboard (skyping in bed is fun!), central location... and many more advantages. Not to mention the most AMAZING breakfast I've ever had! Great romantic weekend stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooglem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is one of the best hotel I have ever been and for Norwegian standard is definitely VALUE FOR MONEY. Rooms are comfortable furnished in Balines style with 4 poster beds, complimentary high speed wi-fi, apple TV and many toilet amenties (slippers, shaving kit, comb etc) which you would expect to find in a 5* hotel. Convenietely located just 10 minutes walk from the National Theater Railway station, a stone's throw drom the marina ad with many restaurants nearby. There's also a very relaxing spa included in the price of the room. The staff is friendly and helpful and make you feel at home despite you might be miles away from it. Braekfast is outstanding with local oragnig products. It is definitely Worth staying for business, romantic escapades or for visting Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lovely reseption, lovely beds, not impressed with the badroom, looks good but water runes all in to the room. Dont like the "kitchen style" towels. They claim the breackfast is organic but as I live in Norway I recognizes it as not being organic. Door lock and safe didn't work, nor did the internett and the reseption didn't manage to fix it so had to move rooms twice. Stil not able to download movies on the mac. Poor insulation between the rooms so you hear snoring, tv +++. Well you get the picture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back and high up... if the elevator works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonOslo, Public Relations Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear OsloTravelor,

regarding your review, we can understand that you have a number of personal likes and dislikes of the facilities and furnishings of our hotel, which is of course perfectly understandable - personal taste being an individual right. But there are 2 things in your review, that we really would like to have clarified: your claims regarding our breakfast not being organic, and the internet.
The organic aspect first: our breakfast is completely, 100% organic, and this is not a matter of opinion or discussion. We can document this, and we are certified by Debio as well. We are very curious to know exactly what prompted you to make this claim, and hope you will contact us about it. Please write to oslo@guldsmedenhotels.com.
Re: the internet, we cannot recall having had any problems, and cannot recognise having had to move a guest twice during the period, that you seem to have stayed with us. A little clarification regarding this would also be very helpful! We hope to hear from you.
Best from Carlton Oslo - Guldsmeden Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a great boutique hotel and a good price for Oslo.
The rooms are not big (think Paris size) but are clean and comfortable with quirky Sami/eastern influences. The bathroom was great and we loved the Eco friendly towels and cosmetics.
Breakfast was a real gem. Lovely organic treats from baked goods to artisan cheeses and organic fruit. The breakfast service was delightful with hand painted pottery making it feel really special (a far cry from institutional city centre hotels). There is freely available tea/coffee and juice through the day in a relaxed cafe environment. The staff are friendly and helpful. Check them out! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What's there not to like about the smartly eco-promoting Guldsmeden hotel in Oslo? Situated in a quiet residential road, it's just a leisurely 5mins stroll away from the hustle and bustle of the waterfront area with its nice bars and restaurants and equally close to the royal palace and its lovely park.
Welcoming, helpful and efficient receptionists, an Apple-cum-TV with free Wifi, naturally, imaginative decoration, very comfy bed and, best of all: black-out curtains. After a week in Norway around midsummer's night I wasn't far off the Al Pacino character in 'Insomnia', slowly but surely going mad as other hotels where I had stayed before had, fair enough if you are used to it, just standard curtains.
The only point that could upset tall as well as, well, large guests are the rather small bathrooms.
Breakfast is tasty (and healthy) and entertainment, well, just a short stroll away. Would i go back? Positively, absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygolightly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I admit, it is a bit of a surprise to find out that the rooms in this hotel do not have a telephone nor room service and the wake-up call is someone knocking at your door in the morning but what a nice discovery this small hotel is! The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were comfortable and clean yet a bit on the small side. I arrived quite late in the evening so missed out on dinner but morning breakfast made up for that in a spectacular way. Great location also close to Aker Brygge. I really have all but praise for this hotel and its friendly staff and will definitely stay there again when in Oslo. One of the best value for money-hotels I stayed in for quite some time... Truly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing