We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming place where you feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A charming place where you feel at home”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

In Norway, service is usually basic and cold. When visiting this hotel, you find people with a passion rahter than the usual state employee style. The Bio/sustainable concept is nice and adds to the passionate atmospher. the "lodged" design is original. Some rooms small but you have choice at a $/Q ratio high for Norway. They have a good offer of original beers and wines. They recently host a restaurant with a chef outperforming most of Norwegian offer, it s a plus within this small oasis.

Room Tip: if you need space, specify it to the hotel, they have some small rooms that might be limit for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    196
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
74
199
37
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were spesific when we booked the room. We wanted a room with bath tub because of my wifes back. They first got us a room without. Then a room with a destroyed one. They offered us 2 glasses of wine, but we did not want wine. We said we could stay if we could get reduced price, but they refused. Then we said we would leave and find another hotel. After that they wouldn`t give us money back of the prepaid room.
Finally after the reseption had been talking to the manager 2 times we wanted to talk to the manager ourselves. First after having said what we meant of the service from the managers lack of service she said we could have our money back and we checked out after about 1 hour. 1 hour with waiting to see what we could expect. We should get the money back the next day. We did not, but got a phone call the day after that and they said we had to wait to monday. Monday they said we had to give them our account number. We did, but now, 5 days later no money on our account.
To bad because this hotel actually has got charm, but the service when something goes wrong is real poor.

Room Tip: Don`t pre-pay until you see if everything is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonOslo, Public Relations Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Stig W,

in response to your review, we wish to clarify a few things: we did indeed miss your note requiring a bathtub when you booked your double superior room stay, which we apologize for, and the fact is that only our Bridal Suite has a bathtub. The suite was fortunately available, and we promptly upgraded you free of charge. The defective plug would have been easy to replace, if you had been prepared to give us a few minutes to do this, which you refused. We offered you private use of the spa outside of opening hours, and this was also not acceptable to you, whereupon you chose to leave the hotel. We accommodated your wish to leave free of charge, as we only wish to have happy guests in the house.
The payment method that you had chosen to use, does not give us the possibility to return the amount directly to your account, and on the Monday (you left us on the Friday), we wrote to ask you for your account number. A bank transfer takes a little time, but we know that the amount did reach your account the same week.
We wish you happy travelling in the future and hope the bad back feels better!
All the best from Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

this is an amazing boutique hotel , with wonderful decoration, nothing related to the giant chain ones. the location is very close to the National Theater metro station, but make sure you are exiting the correct way (USA Embassy one) otherwise is more to walk. close to the Palace and everything else. the breakfast is really lovely, with plenty of choices .
one of the most wonderful beds i`ve ever slept in and bath products.
the only downsize for my was the size of the bathroom,more precisely the bathroom sink.
but in the end these are small details and the overall impression was a very good one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotir_loredana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two rooms with a connecting door (room 1 and 2 on the second floor) very handy for a family, and something that no other of the hotels we contacted had been able to offer us. The rooms are small, but what they lack in size they make up for in charm. Lovely 4 poster beds, and organic toiletries (I bought a bunch - they were excellent). Our rooms faced the street, but were surprisingly noise free. This hotel offers a fully organic breakfast, and keep a very "green line" over all. It is located 10 minutes walk from Aker Brygge, with shopping, bars and restaurants available, as well as the Nobel Peace center.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank YummyMommyoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice everything: spa and sauna, small cute rooms, little decor touches you find here and there, fur rug on the bed, convenience of mac and wireless keyboard (skyping in bed is fun!), central location... and many more advantages. Not to mention the most AMAZING breakfast I've ever had! Great romantic weekend stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooglem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is one of the best hotel I have ever been and for Norwegian standard is definitely VALUE FOR MONEY. Rooms are comfortable furnished in Balines style with 4 poster beds, complimentary high speed wi-fi, apple TV and many toilet amenties (slippers, shaving kit, comb etc) which you would expect to find in a 5* hotel. Convenietely located just 10 minutes walk from the National Theater Railway station, a stone's throw drom the marina ad with many restaurants nearby. There's also a very relaxing spa included in the price of the room. The staff is friendly and helpful and make you feel at home despite you might be miles away from it. Braekfast is outstanding with local oragnig products. It is definitely Worth staying for business, romantic escapades or for visting Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lovely reseption, lovely beds, not impressed with the badroom, looks good but water runes all in to the room. Dont like the "kitchen style" towels. They claim the breackfast is organic but as I live in Norway I recognizes it as not being organic. Door lock and safe didn't work, nor did the internett and the reseption didn't manage to fix it so had to move rooms twice. Stil not able to download movies on the mac. Poor insulation between the rooms so you hear snoring, tv +++. Well you get the picture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back and high up... if the elevator works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonOslo, Public Relations Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear OsloTravelor,

regarding your review, we can understand that you have a number of personal likes and dislikes of the facilities and furnishings of our hotel, which is of course perfectly understandable - personal taste being an individual right. But there are 2 things in your review, that we really would like to have clarified: your claims regarding our breakfast not being organic, and the internet.
The organic aspect first: our breakfast is completely, 100% organic, and this is not a matter of opinion or discussion. We can document this, and we are certified by Debio as well. We are very curious to know exactly what prompted you to make this claim, and hope you will contact us about it. Please write to oslo@guldsmedenhotels.com.
Re: the internet, we cannot recall having had any problems, and cannot recognise having had to move a guest twice during the period, that you seem to have stayed with us. A little clarification regarding this would also be very helpful! We hope to hear from you.
Best from Carlton Oslo - Guldsmeden Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#10 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing