We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, a little different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #16 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable, a little different”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed one night each on two separate occasions in April with two slightly different experiences. The first stay went perfectly. Two rooms reserved, one the specialist family room (like a suite, huge and sleeps five comfortably) and the other a double room (small but quite comfortable). I sent a mail the evening before confirming our arrival, received a response immediately saying that all would be ready (was suitably impressed). Staff were friendly on arrival and our party of seven had a great stay. On the second occasion a week later, when we arrived we were told that the large family room we had booked (there is only one) had been mistakenly given to someone else...I had sent a mail in the morning confirming our rooms and our arrival time, this time no response (I still haven't received one. Unfortunately inconsistent). We ended up having to be accommodated over four rooms and the experience was spoiled for us. Either their booking system has a flaw, staff are not all competent or they purposefully gave the room away (which is understandable when equivalent replacement rooms or better are available, in this instance it was not the case). I never heard from a manager and when asked to speak to one was told he/she was not there. I still have not heard from anyone. Other than this, the hotel is a great place to stay, interestingly and pleasantly decorated and in a good location. Book a larger room if you can as the standard rooms are a little small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    194
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
74
197
36
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business - 5 mins walk from the eateries and shops at the harbour. The rustic four poster bed was an unusual surprise, it's medieval look was matched by the mattress! The staff were friendly though and breakfast was good, a quiet hotel close to the centre.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RLionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good, quiet location, just out of the centre of town but only 10 mins by tram to Central Station. Very near the new Aker Brygge development by the old docklands area - full of brilliant contemporary buildings, a stunning new art gallery and lots of restaurants. We had a superior room with a good sized sitting area (2 Apple Macs) and plenty of space, which was excellent. Breakfast was good with a wide range of organic food. Oslo is wonderful!

On the downside; some of the breakfast crockery is badly chipped and cracked. I think the management need to address this. It can't be too expensive to regularly withdraw damaged items. Not doing so creates a bad impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glassart-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

...lack of a room coffee machine this is the best hotel I've stayed at n Oslo. Friendly personal staff, free coffee in the reception, green food of proper quality, nice interior, in a quiet street ten minutes' walk from everything, and good parking options close by, they even allow our furry friends. I've found my home away from home in Oslo!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank geirsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

In Norway, service is usually basic and cold. When visiting this hotel, you find people with a passion rahter than the usual state employee style. The Bio/sustainable concept is nice and adds to the passionate atmospher. the "lodged" design is original. Some rooms small but you have choice at a $/Q ratio high for Norway. They have a good offer of original beers and wines. They recently host a restaurant with a chef outperforming most of Norwegian offer, it s a plus within this small oasis.

Room Tip: if you need space, specify it to the hotel, they have some small rooms that might be limit for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were spesific when we booked the room. We wanted a room with bath tub because of my wifes back. They first got us a room without. Then a room with a destroyed one. They offered us 2 glasses of wine, but we did not want wine. We said we could stay if we could get reduced price, but they refused. Then we said we would leave and find another hotel. After that they wouldn`t give us money back of the prepaid room.
Finally after the reseption had been talking to the manager 2 times we wanted to talk to the manager ourselves. First after having said what we meant of the service from the managers lack of service she said we could have our money back and we checked out after about 1 hour. 1 hour with waiting to see what we could expect. We should get the money back the next day. We did not, but got a phone call the day after that and they said we had to wait to monday. Monday they said we had to give them our account number. We did, but now, 5 days later no money on our account.
To bad because this hotel actually has got charm, but the service when something goes wrong is real poor.

Room Tip: Don`t pre-pay until you see if everything is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonOslo, Public Relations Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Stig W,

in response to your review, we wish to clarify a few things: we did indeed miss your note requiring a bathtub when you booked your double superior room stay, which we apologize for, and the fact is that only our Bridal Suite has a bathtub. The suite was fortunately available, and we promptly upgraded you free of charge. The defective plug would have been easy to replace, if you had been prepared to give us a few minutes to do this, which you refused. We offered you private use of the spa outside of opening hours, and this was also not acceptable to you, whereupon you chose to leave the hotel. We accommodated your wish to leave free of charge, as we only wish to have happy guests in the house.
The payment method that you had chosen to use, does not give us the possibility to return the amount directly to your account, and on the Monday (you left us on the Friday), we wrote to ask you for your account number. A bank transfer takes a little time, but we know that the amount did reach your account the same week.
We wish you happy travelling in the future and hope the bad back feels better!
All the best from Carlton Oslo Guldsmeden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

this is an amazing boutique hotel , with wonderful decoration, nothing related to the giant chain ones. the location is very close to the National Theater metro station, but make sure you are exiting the correct way (USA Embassy one) otherwise is more to walk. close to the Palace and everything else. the breakfast is really lovely, with plenty of choices .
one of the most wonderful beds i`ve ever slept in and bath products.
the only downsize for my was the size of the bathroom,more precisely the bathroom sink.
but in the end these are small details and the overall impression was a very good one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotir_loredana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 101 in Oslo
1,636 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#22 of 101 in Oslo
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing