We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Nearby Hotels
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$554
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
246
208
41
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
208
41
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic breakfastaker bryggefour poster bedanimal skinsbridal suitehomemade granolasteam roomeco friendly hotelrooms are smallquiet streetlovely boutiquenice neighborhoodfamily roomroyal palaceboiled eggsshort walktwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

were visiting family who live in the same street and booked a room at this hotel for one night.
It was absolutely awful dirty. Almost like hostel. Slept poorly all night because of the itching from dirty sheets and a smell from the pillow and duvet.
Breakfast was disgusting because of broken cups, musty fruit and stale bread.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dilara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonOslo, Public Relations Manager at Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Ms Dilara1,

we must say that we were very distressed and uncomprehending, when reading your review of our hotel. First of all, we must ask - are you completely sure that you have stayed with us, and not another hotel on Parkveien? We could not place you at our property recently, but of course we may be wrong. In any case, we would very much like for you to contact us - if you have indeed stayed with us, we can´t imagine what could possibly have gone so wrong as to warrant such a negative review. We take great pride in both our housekeeping and our organic breakfast, and if your experience did in fact take place with us, we must immediately address these issues to ensure that everything is up to our standards. Therefore, we would be very grateful to receive information regarding which room you stayed in, and which are the dates in question.
Please write to hotel manager Camilla Narud on camilla@guldsmedenhotels.com at your earliest convenience.

Thanking you in advance, all the best from the Guldsmeden Hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is different to say the least. It is dedicated to sustainable resources but forgets some of the basics that a good hotel should have. The breakfast was the worst of our 2 week tour of Scandanavia. It may have been our western tastes but it was hard to find much to eat here.We had the family room and the 4 of us were accomodated easily, but it was so hot that none of us slept well. They did give us 2 tiny fans but they didn't help much. If your visit is in the summer, you will want a room near the ground floor. Higher is hotter here. It is an easy walk to the harbor and to the Royal Palace. Parking is quite expensive in Oslo so beware. Front desk staff were helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tbv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a hotel dedicated to sustainable resources but apart from a few idiosyncracies, it does not come across as a beardy hippy type place. Service is excellent from the happy staff who work here particularly the front desk. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but the beds are very comfortable.
A couple of problems - the room was very hot on a hot July night with little air circulation even with the window wide open. The spa has not been well thought out with nowhere to leave clothes when getting changed and no seating if there are more than two people using the facilities.
Like most hotels, the breakfast is too samey - I would prefer different choices each day.
Prices are OK for Oslo, and the\location is very good with easy walk to the aker Brygge area.

.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having researched TA for Oslo hotels we stayed at the Guldsmeden and found it well deserved its reputation. Comfortable, friendly and quiet with a good breakfast and good value. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lift
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed one night each on two separate occasions in April with two slightly different experiences. The first stay went perfectly. Two rooms reserved, one the specialist family room (like a suite, huge and sleeps five comfortably) and the other a double room (small but quite comfortable). I sent a mail the evening before confirming our arrival, received a response immediately saying that all would be ready (was suitably impressed). Staff were friendly on arrival and our party of seven had a great stay. On the second occasion a week later, when we arrived we were told that the large family room we had booked (there is only one) had been mistakenly given to someone else...I had sent a mail in the morning confirming our rooms and our arrival time, this time no response (I still haven't received one. Unfortunately inconsistent). We ended up having to be accommodated over four rooms and the experience was spoiled for us. Either their booking system has a flaw, staff are not all competent or they purposefully gave the room away (which is understandable when equivalent replacement rooms or better are available, in this instance it was not the case). I never heard from a manager and when asked to speak to one was told he/she was not there. I still have not heard from anyone. Other than this, the hotel is a great place to stay, interestingly and pleasantly decorated and in a good location. Book a larger room if you can as the standard rooms are a little small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews